We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel for two nights visiting our granddaughter who is at Bournmouth university what a great stay.From the moment we arrived the staff could not be more helpful.We had booked on line and our allocated room was rather small so we managed to upgrade for an extra payment which was worth every penny room 208 was great..the food was excellent also the cleanliness we had dinner at the hotel which was also extreamly good fresh hot and good choice.We would certainly stay again.Thankyou to ALL the staff we could not fault anyone or anything.

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade to room 208 sea views spacious and quiet would recommend .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are just great. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,212 - 2,218 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here on a one night DBB deal.

Quick, easy check in though receptionist did not mention that we needed to book a table for dinner(not a prob though as fortunately we checked in time!)

We were able to park in the hotel car park free of charge which is a huge bonus for Bournemouth.

All staff were pleasant.

Unfortunately this is where my positives end.

Whilst the public rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, the bedroom leaves much to be desired.
We upgraded to a superior sea view room. Yes, we has a balcony which I was determined to make the most of between the showers, but.......

The bathroom needs to be gutted and refurbished with a shower in place of the bath. The shower attachment was only able to be reached by anyone over 6 feet! No toiletries which is unusual nowadays.

Bedroom furniture was old and desparately in need of updating. Whilst there is one wall of 'modern' wallpaper, this was somewhat spoilt by the television cable trunking fitted
as an afterthought.

The rug looked grubby as did the two 'comfy' chairs and stool.

Soundproofing was poor and we could hear the occupants of the room above seemingly parading all night!! Though not the hotels fault we were accommodated below insomniacs!

It's a shame that so much time and money has been put into the 'downstairs' refurbishment and our supposedly 'superior' room was very disappointing.

Dining was satisfactory though I must admit was rather akin to a cruise experience--mass catering delivered at speed from the kitchen on trays ready for despatch to the diners.

In fact I think this stay was similar to my experience of a minicruise. If you like cruises then give this hotel a try---if not then maybe this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Tripper1984,

Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding the staff and hotel downstairs are great.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the 'upstairs'. We do have bathroom toiletries, we offer body wash and shampoo combined. This is attached to the wall. If I knew the room number, we could investigate the other issues you had regarding the bedroom.

Also my apologies for the insomniacs. If I could just quote our mission statement that is publicized on our website, as yes the ground floor of the hotel is very chic:
'We offer good quality, comfortable, 3 star hotel rooms. The standard of the public areas, dining options, facilities and services are often likened to a 5 star hotel.'

I hope that your experience does not deter you in trying us again, and if you wish, you can contact me or one of the management team and we will gladly manage your booking.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed 18/10/2013 booked for the Take That tribute show with 3 course dinner and 1 night's b&b. The room and the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean, and the bed very comfortable. The dinner was lovely, we had chicken and leek soup for starters, Lamb rump and mash and nice variety of veg for mains, cheese and biscuits to finish, followed by coffee mints, fantastic meal we thought it was going to be a set menu, but there were plenty of choices some of which we will try next time we visit. All the staff were very friendly and helpful couldn't be faulted. The Take That show (rule the world) I should think is the nearest you could get to the real thing. The stage could maybe have been a bit larger and higher as with people dancing it reduced our view of the boy's dance routines, never the less a very good show. The support act Diane James and Lea Martin were also very good, and again had people dancing and enjoying themselves. Breakfast the next morning faultless nice selection of food all in all a nice experience. Will definitely be returning in the future. Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 first floor and had a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHILNGILL068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear PHILNGILL068,

Thank you for your review. What a first class review, thank you. The Take That tribute night was most superb. It was a sell out event, as you may have seen, the room was packed with patrons and with great atmosphere. We are very pleased you enjoyed both the hotel and the show.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Charming hotel, truly excellent food, every member of staff was friendly and helpful........ you just have to like this place! ........... and as a bonus Bournemouth remains a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Sussex F,

Thank you for your review. Very nice comments regarding your stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us, and Bournemouth.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed last week on the travel zoo deal. We were delighted with the whole experience. Easy parking, very friendly reception and a lovely spacious room. The interior design was so well done with the colour, photographs on the walls and even the Ladies was beautifully designed. The staff were so courteous and well trained and the food of a very high quality. If you want comfort and style do spoil yourself and visit because this is a treat not to be missed.

Room Tip: IF you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjw1862992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Mjw1862992013,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding the hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for five nights at the beginning of October 2013. We were especially impressed with the friendly and efficient staff. The cuisine too was excellent and the public areas very attractive. We stayed in a first floor room at the rear above the car park and kitchen access so we had to put up with the background noises one should expect with a popular hotel. Whilst our room was not large we felt it provided good value for money. We attended a wedding at the hotel on our final night which was really well organised with great catering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear CJ L,

Thank you for your review. Excellent feedback regarding the staff and food. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I'm sure we will be welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed at this hotel last week after I had read the reviews on TA and I don't think I could have found a nicer place to stay in Bournemouth! Without exception, every member of staff greeted us with a smile and a greeting each day, nothing was too much bother and everything was done to make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. The food was very good both at dinner and breakfast and the bar/lounge area was a very pleasant place to be with very tasteful decoration.

Our twin room was very quiet and spacious and the only complaint we had was that the lighting could have been better as there was no bedside lighting only ceiling lights over the beds which wasn't ideal but overall it was excellent.

The beach and the town centre were both walking distance away and the hotel is in a very quiet area, no heavy traffic or loud nightspots,

I would recommend this hotel to anyone (really feels more like a good 4 star than a 3 star) and we found it to be excellent value for money and we definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ju62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Ju62,

Thank you for your review. Great review, just fine compliments. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable time with us.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $69 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing