We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart old chic..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cumberland is as much an experience as a hotel visit.

The decor both in and out are a constant interest to any visitor from almost any part of the hotel. Outside it looks a classy building, even has a pool for the keen and the splashy.
Bar is good, good range of drinks, and plenty of lounges adjacent.

Dining, I don't usually stay in at night, though menu looked good. One night we stayed in the bistro next to the bar, food was very good indeed. Particularly the local made soup, yum.!!
Breakfast was a hearty experience, though the toaster calls for patience, there is a marvellous range of hot, and chilled continental breakfast fayre.

Rooms, stayed in a few, vary from small single cum-doubles, to reasonably spacious twin - doubles with ample storage and hanging space for a long stay. All clean, and bathrooms all pristine. Though i did hear a friend say that their plumbing was a bit noisy.. My pipes were all fine.

Always look forward to a stay at Cumberland, seriously well located. The beach close, good location for town, a short walk, and Boscombe pier not too far. Recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are tasteful, you can't see the sea when youre asleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrollJagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear TrollHunterJager,

Thank you for your review. Great all rounded review of the hotel, thank you.

Please visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,353 - 2,359 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here one night during the "heatwave" of July 2013 (remember that?). One of the main reasons for choosing the Cumberland was the outdoor pool and we weren't disappointed. We arrived early to make full use of it and it was already busy, with many sunbeds "reserved" by towels draped over them (but no sign of occupants). However on closer inspection there were still plenty of spare sunbeds so we stripped off, ordered drinks from the bar, and made ourselves comfortable. Bliss! It was a school day so there weren't too many kids running riot, just the occasional yummy mummy with toddlers slurping on ice creams and wilting in the heat.

In between taking dips in the pool and more drinks we ordered lunch from the bar menu. My wife's Greek salad was excellent with plenty of tangy Feta cheese, just perfect on a hot day. I was starving by this point so went for the burger with all the trimmings - yum. So we settled down for the remainder of the afternoon, keeping topped up with cool drinks, people watching. My wife had read somewhere that the Cumberland was favoured by female same-sex couples and on closer inspection I suppose there were quite a few young ladies who appeared to be, erm, very friendly with each other.

By mid afternoon all the yummy mummies and toddlers had left, presumably to have their nap (the toddlers, not the yummy mummies) and their places were taken up by young adults. The atmosphere around the pool changed to party mood (it was a Friday afternoon), and none the worse for it with a good buzz.

As the afternoon threatened to tip into the evening, we reluctantly left our poolside perch and went to check in. The staff at reception were very professional and we were pleased to have a room on the first floor to spare my wife's knees. It was called the Monroe Room and guess what? Yep, wallcoverings featuring Marylin adorned our room. The room was clean, appeared to have been recently refurbished, and everything was in good working order but it was tiny. Only just enough room to squeeze a bedside table either side of the standard double bed. Going to the bathroom required some forward planning: chair and stool to move out of the way, wife to sit on bed or stand outside during manoeuvre. Had we been staying for longer we'd have asked to be moved but for one night we found it acceptable, given how good everything else was.

After an abortive walk into the town centre to find a restaurant with outside eating we returned to the hotel and had dinner on the patio overlooking the pool. Good move. As with lunch, the food was excellent, especially my lightly curried chicken skewers. We lingered over a bottle of wine, enjoying the balmy evening.

Finally, breakfast the next morning. Apart from a long queue for the toasting machine, everything faultless. Good selection of hot and cooked items, and efficient service.

Overall, an excellent experience. I'd have given it the full five blobs if it weren't for the tiny room. Perhaps had we booked earlier me might have got one, and paid a bit less, but it was still good value given the setting, the outdoor pool, the quality of the food, and the overall excellent service.

Room Tip: Avoid the Marylin Monroe room (unless you're travelling solo or are both very skinny)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for review. Very good comments regarding the hotel and the food. Thank you.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at hotel just for one night in August 2013. I had read some reviews on trip advisor but I thought I would add my own views. Hotel is in a lovely part of Bournemouth with beautiful views of the sea. The hotel is decorated throughout in Art Deco which is quirky yet interesting. The staff are very attentive and very polite. The cleaners are obviously hard working as the hotel is spotless. Nice swimming pool with plenty of seating and comfortable loungers. We didn't have dinner at the hotel as it was rather pricey choosing to go into town where there are numerous restaurants. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Now for the downside, the lift is tiny if you don't like small spaces use the stairs. Parking is limited but you can use the car park in the adjoining hotel. Standard rooms are really small I stubbed my toe a number of times just getting to the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel but pay a bit extra and get a larger room to save your toes!!x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Jill L,

Thank you for review. Great compliments regarding the hotel and service.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and my daughters had planned a surprise 50th tea party for my husband. We had ordered a whole range of different, typical tea party foods. Such as, scones, cakes, sandwiches etc. The standard was beyond excellent! The hotel had sectioned off part of the terrace as it was a private function which allowed us to all socialise. Everyone had thoroughly enjoyed the day! Thanks so much for all your help!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank juliaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear juliaarden,

Thank you for your super review regarding your surprise afternoon tea party. Delighted about your experience.

Hopefully we see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We decided to have champagne afternoon tea at the Cumberland. Lovely setting, we were sat in the dining area overlooking the pool. The service was good, food was delivered fast and beautifully presented. Tea and coffee was provided fast and fresh. No complaints-overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Janice N,

Thank you for you kind compliments regarding your afternoon tea. Very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. It will be rewarding for the staff to read, thank you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend last month and we enjoyed our stay; the hotel was amazingly empty for a month of July and we enjoyed the outside swimming pool.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is great, 5 minute walk to the main beaches and a 5 minute drive to the town center.
The free English breakfast is very enjoyable.

The free wifi is difficult to get on the 3rd floor and the lifts were out of use for a couple of hours.
Our standard double room was quite small and the bathroom could do with a quick renovation/modernization.
It can be difficult to find a parking space in the evening.
Overall nice experience!

Room Tip: I would pay the extra amount for a premium double rather than a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie78100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Stephanie78100,

Thank you for your review. Good comments generally. Your points are noted and will be inspected. Unfortunately we did have a day when the lift doors were damaged and we were awaiting emergency response from our lift engineers. We do have service lift we can operate for guests, if need be.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I took my girlfriend to this hotel for a romantic weekend. The hotel room was clean. Although it was very small and lacked a few features I have come to expect from paying in this price bracket. However the bed was super comfy and the bathroom had a heated towel rail which was a bonus. But no fridge or Iron in the room. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was decent and plentiful. The outdoor pool was clean and pleasant. Overall a decent hotel. But for the price a little disappointing. Mind you I did book it a few days in advance so maybe if you book a few months in advance you would get a bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0nnyb0y01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear j0nnyb0y01,

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted. Iron & ironing boards are requested and delivered your bedroom. Unfortunately we do not provide fridges in bedrooms.

Hopefully this won't deter you from trying us again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $59 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing