We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good sea front hotel with great service but outdoor pool too busy with non-guests during heatwave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good sea front hotel with great service but outdoor pool too busy with non-guests during heatwave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Positives:
Every member of staff was professional and friendly. Restaurant service, surroundings and food quality felt like a '4 star plus resort'. Definitely exceeded expectations. Superior sea view room was great size and amazing view with lovely 4 poster bed. Style and theme of the hotel was of a very high standard. Would definitely stay here again in a superior sea view room.

Improvement Areas:
Outdoor pool area was too busy to use during the heatwave and was overrun with people who appeared not to be staying at the hotel - it looked like they were local young people or possibly from the neighbouring sister hotel. Bathroom was clean but did not feel luxurious or contain toiletries / dressing gowns which would be expected from a superior room at that price.

Room Tip: Room 412 is a lovely large superior sea view room with balcony and four poster bed - great view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Paul W,

Thank you for a good review. Great compliments regarding the food and service thank you.
Also pleased you were happy with your room.

The Cumberland is part of the Oceana Resort, and we own the hotels next door. We operate a resort style hotel, so guests are able to use the facilities of each hotel. With the past heatwave that we experienced we did see an influx of people you using the hotel facilities. We had subsequently changed certain policies regarding the use for non-residents. And I am sure you will be happy to hear we are carefully monitoring the area during warm sun filled days.

Overall glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,580
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in June for our 32nd. wedding anniversary (3 nights) and loved every minute of our stay, we even got a Buck's Fizz each on the house on the 26th! How cool is that?
When we got home I booked another 4 nights the third week in July. The weather was very hot and we both had a fantastic time. We both know a lot about hotels and restaurants and we are so impressed with the staff who are so very good at what they do. They never miss a thing, if something needs doing and they see it, they do it (whether it's their job or not) a pleasure to experience this level of service. I'm not very mobile and spend most of my time in a wheelchair and yet again the staff couldn't be more helpful. The food, especially breakfast, is unbelievable I wish I was capable of eating more...so very good!
We have booked again for 4 nights in October for Lynn's birthday and have yet to book for a 4th. time this year to see Jessie J in November. We would move in to the Cumberland and live here if we could...sigh...dream on! Thanks everybody at the Cumberland.
Ray & Lynn Fearnley.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker get a room with a balcony, the Superior room balconies are permitted smoking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RayFearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Ray & Lynn,

Thank you for such a super review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and such great compliments regarding the the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in October for the celebrations then. Not long now!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Only booked in for one night but very impressed and would return. On arrival we were given a room and I asked if overlooked the car park or was above the kitchens. We were shown the room and unfortunately this was so on both counts, you could smell the food from the kitchen as you entered. We were offered an alternative room which was fine. The room was basic but adequate, clean and spacious. The downside was that the walls were not very soundproof so we could hear sound from corridor and next room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free car parking on site (which is not always so). Buffet style, help yourself breakfast, I opted for cereal, fruit and yogurt which you can't go wrong with. My other half had the cooked breakfast which was just ok. We ate outside on the terrace beside the pool as it was a sunny morning which was lovely. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending or staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Eileen L,

Thank you for you review. Great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

I am so glad you mentioned free car parking, which is so true. There are a lot of hotels that charge per day for the facility of car parking, where we do not charge.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

All the public areas are really well done and the rooms are fairly good. I am not sure what makes the "superior" rooms superior but it's all fine for a few nights. We were a big group and ate a few times by the side of the pool and were all shocked at just how good the food was. It got to the point were we ate in the hotel before going out due to the quality of the food!

It was a very busy weekend and they didn't have enough staff to cope with demand at breakfast, and all day at the bar and poolside. This was frustrating when you had to wait a long time to get served but wasn't the end of the world.

I booked 4 rooms for a large group and we needed the extra bed option for every room. Even after confirming with the hotel before the booking, it turned out that we should have gone back and confirmed with them after the booking, which they didn't tell us. This was a nightmare but after a bumpy start, I was speaking to Lucy the bookings manager and she was really good at helping us get something sorted.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back with the family next time, but just be aware that as all facilities can be shared between guests of the three hotels in the chain, it gets very busy when the weather is nice.

Room Tip: The Superior Family rooms aren't always that big but are a nicer room. If you use booking.com e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuManStu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear FuManStu62.

Thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding the food quality, so thank you.

Overall it appears you had an enjoyable stay with us. The month of July has seen some amazing weather, and for the tourist industry of Bournemouth this has been great. We too have seen an increase, and the poolside on these days have been really busy.

With extra requirements it is always best to re-confirm when making the booking just to ensure that the query is facilitated into an requirement. I am glad Lucy was helpful to you in this regard, and at the end of the day that is what we are here for.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff were excellent. They were polite, accommodating and helpful, a pleasant return of old fashioned values. We stayed dinner, bed and breakfast. I couldn't fault anything relating to the restaurant. Dinner was of an excellent standard. Staff were schooled in a professional and courteous service. My 11 month old daughter (who eats everything) was well catered for.

We were fortunate to stay last week when the weather was in the 30's, so we sunbathed by the pool. Nice pool and area. Perhaps there could be a policy that residents have preferential service as it did get a touch noisy on one day. Though maybe that's me creeping up on middle-age!

Overall, I'd certainly stay here again. My wife and her family have been regular yearly (sometimes twice yearly) visitors to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ian T,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Great to hear that you got the service that we are here to give. I know the staff will be thrilled to see and read your review.

Look forward to welcoming you to the Cumberland again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as I was meeting up with an old friend and also to enjoy the weather, I can't fault the hotel on comfort , ease of booking and the attitude of the staff.
The staff were very helpful and eager to please. The quality of the food was excellent and my room was as expected but next time I will book a sea view. There is only one lift that holds three people so was a wait to get down at peak times.
The pool area was clean and there were enough sun loungers , even with the odd towel being down for more than 90mins.

I thought the following were worth commenting on

Room Tip: Choose a lower level room unless want a wait for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7Mike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear 7Mike7,

Thank you for a great review. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here in July. The rooms are fairly plain and could do with decorating and bathroom upgrade, to match the downstairs which is art deco and very comfortable and decorated beautifully. We had standard room, so don't know if the front rooms with balconies etc would be nicer.
The Ventana restaurant is very good; staff professional and friendly, and the decor and food well worth staying for. We ate there for 2 of our 3 nights.
Came by train, so not sure about car parking availability.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook sea and some have balconies. Our room was at the side and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freyaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear freyaYorkshire,

Thank you for your review. Some good comments, and yes the Superior Sea View Rooms are really good. Especially the View!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing