We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get any better than this.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here (again) earlier this week. Returning to The Cumberland is always a pleasure. Not only does the hotel offer great value for money, but the hotel has a fantastic atmosphere, great staff in every department, great rooms, and great food. We return here regularly and always have an enjoyable stay. We visited the new spa, at sister hotel, Cliffside, which is a fantastic new facility for Cumberland guests.

Anyone looking for a hotel in Bournemouth need look no further. You will not be disappointed with your choice if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Laurie K,

Thank you for a great review. The Cumberland offers guests a lovely experience in the chic lounge, with great ambience. Always lovely to read reviews, from returning guests, and I know that is rewarding to the staff too.

The Oceana Day Spa, is just wow. It is a new facility to add to the extensive list of facilities that we offer. It is a luxury day spa, for pampering!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    1,071
    330
    124
    75
See reviews for
594
1,553
127
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break and could not fault anything, as previously stated this should be a minimum 4* great location and fantastic decor. We ate in both restaurants and the food and service was excellent. Unlike some hotels we have stayed in I have to compliment the staff, in reception they were always smiling and helpful, and I don't think I passed without them saying hello, also lots of staff in both the restaurant and bar that made sure the lounge area was always looking immaculate, my wife is disabled and nothing was to much trouble with the staff always offering assistance if needed. Our little dog loved it so much it did not want to come home, we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Neville B,

Thank you for a great review. Such good positive feedback. We endeavour to ensure guests have an enjoyable experience, and make the hotel a welcoming place.

Hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a week in Bournemouth, The Cumberland is a really good three star hotel, excellent value for what you get. A great location overlooking the beach & a short stroll into town centre. Room was large and well presented and was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was really good too but this hotel's biggest asset is its staff who were extremely helpful & friendly. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day family break at the Cumberland. We have been to this hotel previously but just as a couple, this time we took our family for a short break. We booked two rooms, a double for ourselves and a family room. The family room was very spacious and bright with plenty of room for an active 2 year old to play in, he had a lovely full sized bed while his parents had an enormous double bed.
Our room was a reasonable size with a normal sized double bed, complimentary tea and coffee (replaced daily) and fresh clean towels every day. The decor in both rooms was boutique style and everything was clean and well presented. As another reviewer pointed out the car park is rather small, so if you get a space hang on to it.
The meals in the hotel are very good, especially the breakfast - such a large selection and plenty of it.
The staff are all so pleasant, friendly and helpful and they all made such a fuss of our grandson - nothing was too much trouble.
The only thing that I was not happy with, was the lighting in the lounge area in the evening. it was too dim to be able to read by and the piped music could be improved. Overall though a lovely hotel, in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the air conditioning ventilator at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Val947,

Thank you for a great review. We appreciate the comment regarding that we should be 4*, thank you.
We have just recently changed the music. I will monitor the music. The lounge lighting is for ambience, and to make a relaxing mood enhancing atmosphere.
Great feedback, and very pleased you had an enjoyable time.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

A quick summary of what we found,
Car park small be quick to grab a space but the is on street parking outside but up to 8 hrs only I think so means going back to renew a ticket .
Staff are mostly foreign but were friendly and helpful.
Bar and restaurant were decorated to a modern boutique style presented well and poolside was clean and tidy.
Rooms ,now our room was tired they think by putting a small LCD tv on the wall and making a feature wall behind the beds would hide the stains on the carpet and burn holes in the curtains.the bathroom was the same toilet rocked when you sat on it and the water dribbled out of the shower at best. It's a real shame because this hotel could have more potential .i think we was fooled into thinking this hotel would have good rooms from the priced we paid.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Leed593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Leed953,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback. The hotel life is very cosmopolitan.
Reference to our car park. Our car park is not the biggest, but we do operate as a resort owning the Suncliff as well as the Cliffeside hotels, which are located just next door to us. So guests do have the option of parking in any one of the three car parks. In the event that the hotel is full, car parking can be tricky on the grounds, but we do have the sea front. This is free early evening through the night till the morning. You don't have to get up at 9am to go put a ticket in the window, but purchase a ticket on the night before, and this will run for the morning.
Your comments regarding your room are noted, and we will be investigating. Our rooms are always undergoing maintenance or room decoration/touch up work, which is on a on-going plan. Urgent rooms that are highlighted, jump the queue.

Once again thank you for your review, and am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely Hotel,Nice Bar area. Drinks not too expensive, Great decor, Good friendly service, Sunday lunch choice was very good, Nice starters and lovely Roast beef with giant fluffy Yorkshire puddings, Potatoes good , little disappointed with the choice of vegetables there was only two Cabbage and Carrots. thought there should and could have been more, gravy nice and thoroughly enjoyed it, the waitress forgot about our puddings so there was a delay of 40 mins on this. but it was a family meal and it didnt put me off. Booked in for the Faulty Towers night at the cumberland in November while we were there. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuartstartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Stuartstartin,

Thank you for your resent review regarding your Sunday Lunch. Great feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. As part of our Sunday lunch we always serve selection of three seasonal vegetables and of course our Sunday roast potatoes. So not sure why you only received two. Regarding your other comment to the wait on desserts, my apologies and will address this with the restaurant manager.
Thank you, and hope to see you at the Cumberland soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Returned today from 4 night stay at The Cumberland, our first visit to this lovely hotel. I think it has all been said already in previous reviews: the art deco style decor is really stunning, the staff are the most friendly, pleasant and efficient we have ever had the pleasure of meeting and nothing was too much trouble. When the lovely room we were allocated on arrival proved to be too warm for me and I asked if we could have a fan, we were immediately offered another room which had big windows to open which was just ideal. We were also offered help to repack and move to the new room should we wish. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was lovely and there is no feeling of you being rushed as in some hotels. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone, the service was second to none.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Scottie006,

Great review, thank you. Break is, as they say the most important meal of the day. Our breakfasts are really good, and pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you for you kind mention regarding the staff as well as the hotel itself.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing