We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A for Effort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A for Effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel occupies a classic deco building, which the owners have not so much conserved as celebrated, by investing in a style which brings it up to date but with a nod to its era. Kitsch more than deco, its public spaces in particular are huge fun. The buzz around the bar and restaurants reflected this, together with the very good levels and professionalism of staff. The kitchen seemed geared more to quantity and value than quality or cuisine, however. Ingredients at breakfast were not of a standard to match the surroundings. Great location with sea views and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - why not?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,580
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came with a coach party from Yorkshire - some people had stayed at the Cumberland many times - for a four-night stay. Room 224 looked OK with twin beds but the bathroom was freezing. Having complained at reception a couple of times we were told that we had to use the hot water supply which would then heat up the rail. No it did not. A portable convector heater was provided on the first evening and next day we requested a move to a warmer room. The staff could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floors are quieter with better views over Bournemouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

lovely newly decorated hotel. parking is a nightmare be warned! all staff very pleasant - mainly eastern europeans - no suprise there.

very clean spacious rooms. was a bit surpised no mini shampoos etc. nice tea making. lots of storage, huge comfy bed. rubbish view from our room - but only there to sleep in so not a problem.

breakfast was lovely, all the usual stuff anyone would want, very enjoyable.

nicely situated across from the beach and walking distance to town.

stayed for the evening meal in the hotel - not bad for the price of £17. drinks quite expensive though.

all in all a lovely 2 night stay, would recommend and would stay again

Room Tip: low floor - the lift is ridiculous - only fits 2 people at a squeeze - i kid you not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you manage to get a good deal then this hotel represents excellent value for money and well worth going to. We stayed for a couple of wet and windy days in March but the hotel made it great.
The staff are all very welcoming and professional ( shame they are all foreign) and the decor and ambiance make it very relaxing. The food and service in the dining room is excellent, both for dinner and breakfast . The chef is the star as he puts on a good menu and serves it up well cooked and presented and hot which makes a pleasant change.
The only thing we didn't enjoy was their filter coffee but espresso is available.
The bar and lounge is great to relax and prices are sensible.
We were upgraded to an executive room on the front and found it very comfortable, warm and quiet.
Its not a 4 star but at these prices a fabulous 3 star.

Room Tip: well worth having a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBarbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked a two day break with a sea view room. Everywhere was spotless and beautifully decorated. The food was very good and the breakfast was varied and plentiful.
The staff were always helpful and friendly.
We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra to have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_gillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked at the Cumberland through one of the 'deals' that arrive by e-mail. And were very pleasantly surprised. Parking was a bit sparse but you can park in the carparks of the two sister hotels if the Cumberland is full. The hotel is quite basic from outside but they have obviously spent an enormous amount of money on the interior. The reception, lounge and bar area and restaurant were beautifully decorated in black, red, white and chrome and absolutely spotless. The staff at the bar, in the restaurant, reception and everywhere else we encountered them were all well dressed in uniforms and friendly and welcoming. Even the brass handrail on the stairs was polished (you could tell by the little traces of brass polish left on the ends!) and gleaming. Our room on the second floor was fine, reasonably small but again very clean and well appointed. We were pleased to find that our evening meal (which was part of the deal) was from the normal restaurant menu as we have stayed elsewhere on similar deals in the past and had a separate and inferior menu. But the food was good, plates were hot, vegetables varied and plentiful and in all, very good indeed. We will look out for another deal at the Cumberland or even stay there without a deal, it would be worth going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuipoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

WE confess to have booked on price, £35 pppn B&B, but we have had less quality elsewhere at twice the price. The art deco hotel is well presented & decorated. Our room was spotlessly clean & we could have played 5 a side football on our seaview balcony (room 113). Buffet breakfast had choices for all tastes & was excellent. We dined in both restaurants which were excellent. Particularly good value & quality was the Steak Night, I've not had a better Sirloin. All staff we met were competent, efficient & friendly. We shall definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing