We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuuning ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stuuning ocean views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, ideally positioned with superb views overlooking the sea and only a short walk to Bournemouth town and pier. The hotel’s art déco theme has been tastefully finished and complimented by the hotel’s friendly, courteous staff.

Our Executive room was well furnished with comfy leather sofas, glass table and flat screen tv. It was decorated with designer wallpaper, although there was a patch missing beside the door to the balcony and the seams of wallpaper had lifted slightly in places throughout the room. There were no huge issues with the decoration, but unfortunately your eye can be drawn to these slight imperfections.

The bed was a good size, although it looked a little tired and we did ask for an alternative room, but unfortunately none were available. The problem was resolved with 2 duvet covers fitted to the bed as no mattress toppers were available. For me the quality and comfort of the mattress is always important when I stay at a hotel and our initial impressions were disappointing, but thankfully the hotel staff did everything they could to rectify the problem and in truth, my partner and I slept very well. The bathroom did what it was supposed to do, again, it was nicely finished and although the shower wasn’t a modern power shower, it certainly did the job.

The dinner (Mirabelle restaurant) and the breakfast were tasty and all the food seemed fresh. The Ventana Bar played nice mellow, chilled music that suited the mood perfectly. Drinks weren’t significantly over priced and it was a very nice place to enjoy the evening. Parking is limited at the hotel, but you can also park at the neighbouring hotels of the Cliffside and Suncliff or alternatively outside on the road for a small fee.

All in all the Cumberland is a great hotel, the lobby, bar and rooms have been tastefully decorated and both my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay. We certainly intend to return at some point, but next time we’ll dine in the Ventana Bar and Brasserie as the choice of food seemed more extensive. But without doubt we’ll be back for another enjoyable stay at the Cumberland.

Room Tip: It's got to be a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,580
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

i highly recommend this art deco hotel room very clean, staff very friendly and food excellent,over looked the sea and only 10 mins walking distance to the town center look forward to returning
the Mr & Mrs Darton
Bedfordshire

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Its taken me ages to get round to writing this review!!!! My husband and i got married here in may, i cannot fault anything, the whole planning from start to finish was fantastic (brian was the best!!!) the food was to die for!!!!! I wouldn't change anything about our day! Since our wedding one of my guests has also booked to have her wedding here after seeing ours!!!! Thank you to everyone at the cumberland for making our day so special!!!

jane and james x

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and has beautiful views. Just a short stroll along to the beach and into town. There was free parking at the hotel. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an excellent "feel" to it and we felt the staff were very proud of it. We enjoyed a lovely cup of Costa coffee and cake on arrival. Although slightly basic, the room was clean and comfortable. There was a good selection of food for the evening meal and it was cooked and presented beautifully. The buffet breakfast also had a good choice. We are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulgeandrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our daughter is at university in Bournemouth, so it has been our pleasure to try out a few different hotels when visiting her. We stayed one night at the Cumberland, choosing it as it is very close to her house, the photos of the bar and restaurant looked great, and the price was a real bargain! Reception check in was friendly and efficient, and we were offered porterage, but as we only had overnight bags we were ok. The room was small but extremely clean and had everything we needed - even a side view of the sea! We went with my daughter for cocktails in the lovely art deco bar - she thought it was great and hopes to go back soon with her friends. Breakfast the next morning was fine - all fresh and hot, with tea and coffee served to our table. Thank you everyone at the Cumberland - we will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

we had the pleasure of eating here again in the vantana restaurant, the choice of dishes were interesting and mouthwatering,in fact i would eat every dish on the menu.
we all had different staters mains and desserts and each dish was well presented and delicious.
the service from the moment we walked in to the hotel was friendly and professional, we were looked after with drink/ wine in a non intrusive manor that is always appreciated when your busy talking to friends.
we felt the food and service was excellent and good value,the hotel is art deco and a real pleasure to sit in such beautiful surroundings. we will return again and again. thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinkstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lets start with the positives...... the Staff were very friendly........ THATS IT!

When we arrived at our room there was no shampoo, you may think that its a small thing to complain about but considering the room is so basic and we had been travelling for 12 hours straight you look forward to having a shower.

On our second day we left a sign saying please do not disturb on the door, when we came back we found that they had cleaned the room (even tho we didnt want them to) and left the patio door WIDE open for anyone to come in and steal all our stuff. We were on the 1st floor so someone could still get in or someone from another room.

There are signs everywhere saying can guest be considerate and be quiet as much as possible...... HA! ALL the guests are inconsiderate, banging around shouting in the hall not caring who they are disturbing.

We also had the luxury of a false fire alarm at 5am waking us up!

All the walls, floors, beds, cupboards creek and make a noise, this is the loudest hotel i have ever been to.

PLEASE do not come here we never got any sleep and for the money i would rather of stayed in a car in the car park, but even then you would of heard all the inconsiderate guests BANGING around!!

Im not trying to be spiteful in anyway i just dont want anyone else to have the same experience we had, there are better hotels in bournemouth.

Room Tip: Go to Another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenphillips379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Darrenphillips379, your suspect review is as you mention, nothing more than spite. Not sure what could have prompted such a disproportionate mean review. You rate the hotel 4 for Cleanliness, 3 for location and agree staff are very friendly, yet you rate the hotel overall 1 out of 5, can this be anything other than spiteful ? All rooms do have shampoo, body wash and hand soap dispensers, so your statement is totally untrue, any room with a do not disturb is not serviced, although fresh towells are left outside. had it occured that someone may have removed it at no fault to the hotel? There is nothing more to really say, your concern for the general travelling public can be seen with virtually all reviews of Cumberland that are fair minded so please dont worry yourself. You have chosen to open an account and post a single vindictive review, which is more like a rant, this serves neither the hotel nor the traveeling public and does all review sites a dis service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing