We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable 3 night stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly, we are not in the habit of 'reviewing' hotels but feel some are unfair to this hotel. We had an enjoyable long weekend stay and were not disappointed. It is rated 3 Star (not 4, or 5) and as such we think The Cumberland is a good 3 Star hotel!

We did pay extra for a front facing room with balcony and lovely sea views - which we enjoyed, even in the rain! Our room was on the second floor and was quiet! The room was clean with modern style decor and refurbished bathroom with a hot shower!

The main impact at The Cumberland has to be the impressive Art Deco styling in the ground floor areas which, especially in the evening, has a definite air of glamour which we enjoyed! Each evening during our stay the hotel held a wedding reception and we were concerned that after our evening meal there might not have been anywhere to sit! But were pleased that the hotel has sofa's reserved for residents and so this wasn't a problem.

We ate in the Mirabelle restaurant where there were a variety of good, tasty meal choices each evening and the staff provided a friendly and quick service, no complaints. Outside, we also relaxed and enjoyed some October sunshine with a quiet afternoon drink in front of the pool. We would stay at The Cumberland again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear MarkR R , thank you so much for an extremely well balanced and thoughtful review. The Cumberland by virtue of its high standards is often measured to a 4-5 star hotel, in reality as our mission statement says, we are a 3 star that offers much more. It really is nice to read a post that recognises this, once again thank you and look foward to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    1,111
    338
    130
    76
See reviews for
627
1,626
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a last minute deal to fit in with some plans.
Met Tyne at Reception who could not do enough to help and advise and sort out a meal plan to accommodate my meeting and appointment.

I always love a 'Can do' mentality in customer service [a bit of what I do] and complimented her.

Thanks again for making a simple night away into a lovely one in a lovely hotel for my Wife and I.
[Loved the Cumberland Caesar Salad]

Room Tip: Search out the great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Andre P, I am so pleased Tyne was able to enhance your stay, we often use the word "can do culture" in our training sessions, and in todays hospitality market it is a basic for the team at Cumberland. Really pleased your night away turned into a pleasant experience and do hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I went to the Cumerland last year for my works due, It was a gorgeous place, lovely atmosphere and i had a room with a balcony view, Couldnt have been happier.....Until went into the shower, stood in the bath and turned the Hot tap on, which then come straight off! water hit the ceiling the scolding hot water went all over me! then i couldnt even put the tap back on... Called to reception, waited for 3 members of staff to arrive? Then the Manager did NOT even apologise or offer us another room, and someone else casually walked into our room whilst i was sat on the bed in a short towel, bare in mind i was only 16! then the old man from the other hotel was a caretaker who came in and fixed it and then started talking to me and my younger sister when all i wanted to do was get ready!! So i did complain, nothing happened, sent an email, nothing happened! Wrote a letter! Notrhing happened. I was emmbarrased for the hotel if im honest. Our christmas due is again here this year, but i will most definitely not be staying.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Katie W, I can confirm to the travelling public that the Cumberland does not alllow minors to stay in hotel rooms without adults over the age of 18 years. I am unaware of any works do that would permit a 16 year old and her younger sister to attend, this is an adult venue and a works christmas party is not the place for minors, this is actually school age, not working age!!! I can also confirm that we do not have any old caretakers or maintenance engineers so I must question your post!
On a general note if such an urgent problem as hot water spurting from a tap is reported to front desk, it is a certainty that maintenance would be arriving to this room to assist with the report in a timeley fashion, and it is advisable that any occupant would be clothed appropriatley. The consequences of such an issue has huge knock on effects for other rooms and floors below should water permiate the floors, the matter would be of high priority.
We have received no E mail or letter regarding the incident which was over 9 months ago and have never received any complaint such as this within the hotel last December?
Any guest who reports any maintenance issue that is not repairable at Cumberland would be offered another room if one is available.
In summary posts such as this are very upsetting for the hundreds of dedicated hard working staff that work at Cumberland and anyone using the public domain to vent should be extremeley careful what is posted and about whom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you love all things "Art Deco" then you will love this hotel. Its furnished in the Art Deco style furnishings, the ladies loo is lovely too!! Spacious throughout and in a good location, walking distance to the beach, and a must visit is Russell Cotes Museum.
Lovely breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra then go for a room at the front with balcony, overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jilly B, thank you for a marvelous review, we try very hard to maintain an Art Deco yet contemporary theme in public areas, I have passed this on to all the staff and chefs, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited for a friends wedding at the end of August and stayed for two nights. The hotel was better than I was expecting, room was fine and staff were friendly and efficient. The first night was great, we had a lovely meal in the main restaurant with the brides parents. So far so good. later in the evening a customer was having a go at a female member of staff to which my hubby intervened and asked him to have some respect. He reported it to a manager and was thanked for his help. The following day was the wedding day, we came back for a fantastic reception, again good food and great staff. Then it all changed for my husband....we were asked to leave the room holding the reception so they could set up for the evening do. I went back to my room to change and came back to my husband with steam coming out of his ears.....he sat at a table in the bar that had sign saying "residents only after 7pm" so my husband sat down, he confirmed he was ok to sit there with the maitre d on the door of the restaurant who then asked him "are you a resident?" Hubby replied yes and sat down....the guy then asked what was the room number, what floor etc....to the point my husband said you obviously don't believe me lets go to reception and sort it out which the guy was reluctant to do. Whilst I appreciate they may have an issue with non residents at times nobody likes being called a liar !! When it was mentioned it to a manager the issue was shrugged off.....different when it was us who stood up for the staff the day before...
It was such a shame because up to that point we would have most definitely returned

Room Tip: Sea view I guess would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamborneJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Camborne Jules, after reading your review I thank you for your very kind comments regarding the hotel room, the great staff and good food, I can only apologise for the indescretion by a member of the team, I genuinley do not believe he meant to upset your husband. We do try very hard to balance the guest experience in the hotel and make sure our resident guests have enough seating, and non resident guests are encouraged to use the function room. We are not normally striict with this policy and the Maitre De should not have pursued this. Customer service is our forte and it is such a shame that one person put a damper on your stay, I can assure you it will not happen again and in incidents such as this, re-training is given, please do come back again and once again accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I took my partner back to The Cumberland Hotel for her Birthday. It was a midweek break and our second trip to this fantastic Hotel. We were delighted to find that the same high standards of friendliness, professionalism and quality were still there. The staff - from Reception, both Restaurants, Bars etc were all so friendly and helpful and made us so welcome once again. It was great to see that Marco was still in the Restaurant. We were welcomed like long lost friends and it was the icing on the cake for the evening.
We had Room 113, Terrace View, lovely to see the sea and overlook the pool.
We cannot recommend this Hotel enough. It simply WORKS!!! We will be back again in November and are looking forward to it..
The Management have got it right in all ways, the main one being happy staff......

Room Tip: Try to go for the top floor as some floorboards above are creaky and obviously sea views are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer1945_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

on arrival at the cumberland i found the lighting and decor of reception most pleasant and took in the ambience of my surroundings whilst my partner booked us in. we had a room on the first floor and as we stepped from the lift and made our way to our room i noticed that the decor had changed to that of "bog standard", the carpet felt like it had been laid on top of another and a musty stale smell emitted itself along the corridor.. the room was quite small and basic with average furnishings, the shower took ages to warm up and wasn't very good. the view from the window was of a roof with industrial pipes overlooking a car park.As the hotel was part of a group we were able to use the facilities of the hotels next door, this sounded great as there was an indoor swimming pool in one and also a jacuzzi that my partner was looking forward to using...that had froth on the top and looked like someone had conditioned there hair in it that my partner refused to enter on health grounds i had a swim from five to five thirty leaving me enough time to change and be ready for dinner, unfortunately i was unable to read the menu as my eyes had been severely affected by the chemicals in the pool, i contacted reception and told them of my situation and enquired as to if they had some kind of eye wash, i was told to go to ASDA, i replied i couldnt even read the menu, how was i expected to drive to ASDA, my eyes were streaming and it looked as if i was crying !, anyway i went back to my table and ate dinner, we then ordered sweet but staff failed to deliver this until 22 minutes later after we were asked if everything was ok, clearly not...on retiring to bed we were kept awake by another residents television and awoken at 7am by someone else's alarm clock. breakfast went ok that morning but the day after staff forgot to bring eggs done both sides so i ate whilst my partner watched and waited for eggs that never came, later that night we were kept awake again by what sounded like a bottle bank being emptied for well over half an hour....our lock on our door wouldnt open and we were asked if we had the right room...they've got numbers on the door to give you a clue, we were then told it had been locked from the inside, it opened after several attempts...........on the plus side, the weather was nice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 319George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear 319 George, I cannot help notice that your review is almost totally of a negative nature, even your dinner you mention waiting for a dessert, but make absolutly no compliment of any kind toward anything else with regard to your meal or staff, almost as if you have searched for any slight negative without fairly balancing your review.
I am fully aware and can totally accept that The Cumberland is not everyones cup of tea, this is quite normal and human nature. Our mission statement states very clearly what we offer as a hotel, and what we aim to give as an experience. I am satisfied that we do this very well, although also understand that some guest expectations are different.
I will point out that most Hotels have pipes, roofs and car parks that rooms overlook, I often book in London and almost always get a well room that faces a brick wall or generator. I dont complain, because I have not chosen to pay the extra to get a view! You got what you paid for, but at least it was not a well room!!
Swimming Pools are by nature chlorine dosed, and it is often up to the individual how long they spend in the pool, too long and eyes can be irritated. We have automatic dosing and levels are checked 4 times a day,! As a hotel we do not stock eye drops, and yes it is true that Asda do have a pharmacy. It would be extremely negligant in todays law suit society of any hotel to randomly issue eye drops however harmless you may think they are, and certainly it is not required of a hotel reception! They are sold in Chemist's for a reason!
We do offer a shopping service and could have purchased them from Asda for you on request, although we could not have issued them to you. This is the job of a pharmacist!
I apologies that your special order of eggs did not arrive on the second day, The Breakfast room always has two managers on duty in grey suits and it would have only required a quiet word and they would have been expedited, I can only assume there was a communication error in the first instance, as service at Cumberland is normally spot on!
Your lock is an RFDI lock, and it would be quite normal to double check if guests have the right room before assigning a maintenance engineer, believe it or not, this was not personal, and many times guests have mistakenly attempted to enter the wrong room, say 223 instead of 232, so just a polite question and nothing more.
I am very sorry that the Cumberland was not to your liking, we try and please everyone, but realise at times this is an impossibilty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing