We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Seaside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at the Cumberland for two nights while attending a conference. My room was a single and felt cramped - any smaller and I would have sought to change. The public rooms were reasonably presented on the ground floor but the first floor, where my room was situated, had an air of mustiness and really needs some updating.

On the positive side the hotel is not pretending to be a slick city centre business hotel which it is not. I thought basic room security was poor - there was no door chain and no locking bolt on my room i.e. anyone with a key could have entered my room at any time (DND sign excepted).

The self-service breakfast buffet was fine although I would have preferred if at least the coffee and OJ was served. I wasn't even shown to a table - I may be old fashioned but I do expect tobe shown to a table and asked if it is acceptable. I did not gain the impression that there was a significant service culture in the hotel.

The hotel was not my cup of tea but is, on balance, probably fine for its class.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beds4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Dear Beds4U,

Thank you for writing with regard to your recent stay at Cumberland. Unlike purpose built lodge accomdation, older hotels such as Cumberland do have a small number of genuine single bedded rooms, which are charged at half the price of a standard double bedded room. We do have many business clients at Cumberland who join our corporate scheme where double rooms are automatically alocated for a small supplement on a single, as well as free newspapers and other benefits designed for regular business guests.
The Hotel has undergone major investement in most areas over the past 4 years, the next large investment is set to be new hotel room doors with card swipe state of the art locking systems, this is scheduled for year end.
We do offer a beverage service at breakfast and I can only apologise if you were not shown to your table by the restaurant management, this I can assure you will be taken up with them at the weekly HOD meeting.
I thank you for your comments and if you are a frequent visitor to the town please check out our corporate proggramme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,111 - 3,117 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make your stay most enjoyable, nothing is to much trouble. The ambience of the place is a joy to experience and we will certainly return to this hotel again

Room Tip: Room 407 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionel_voke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

By the standards of Bournemouth hotels, this is a very good one. But if you are used to staying in international-standard resort hotels overseas, especially in Asia, you may still be disappointed by the facilities, room sizes, etc. The art deco features of the place are nicely shown off, while the public rooms are nicely modernised and almost trendy / fashionable. An interesting contrast with most of the guests, who are coach-tours of pensioners, it seems!

The bedrooms seem to be largely stuck in the 1980s, as is the case with almost all English seaside resort hotels. There is of course no air-conditioning, just windows to open or close. The phone in my room was definitely at least 25 years old - it was clean, and it worked, but it was a symbol of how little money has been spent to upgrade and modernise the rooms themselves. The wardrobes (closets) and desks were fitted in the two rooms I had, but were probably from the 80s as well - inside one of the them was badly damaged. The first room I was given, at the back of the hotel overlooking the ventilation shafts and car park, was just big enough to get a queen-size bed into, with a desk chair wedged between it and the window. There was a smell of paint in it, and it did look like it had been newly decorated, and was clean. But the carpets had been cleaner in the past, and I hate to think how old the bed itself was. The bathroom was ok, totally English resort style in terms of plumbing, hard-to-temperature-control taps, and so on - but good enough. The second room I was given, on the side of the hotel and therefore with sea view if you stick your neck out of the window and look down the drive-way, was bigger and brighter, with the same newly painted and papered walls and ceiling, but the same 1980s furniture and fittings. The walls were paper thin - I could clearly hear the man in the next room snoring.

Breakfast in the large dining room was entirely standard for an English resort hotel - all the food basics, but no table service (other than to clear plates) so everyone has to queue to make their own toast, get their coffee from the machine, and so on. If you want kippers or omellete, it's available for £5 extra - disappointing. Given the size of the room, and the fact that the majority of the guests are elderly, it's surprising that table service has been dropped - though the menu does state that if you need help (and have the nerve to ask!) they will serve you. The waiting staff - most of who were just clearing plates, or checking-off new arrivals against the lists - were smartly dressed, and most sounded to be foreign students (nothing wrong with that).

Bar Vendana looks nice and trendy and, in the summer and when it's sunny, the pool-side area outside must be a cool place to hang out. That said, for the 3 mid-week evenings that I was there, in June (almost summer!), the bar was deadly quiet - maybe not helped by the fact that it, and the main lounge adjacent to, are almost blacked out completely in the evenings. On my first night the bar shut at 11:15pm, on the second just before mid-night. On the third, the night-porter was walking around switching off the few remaining lights that were on around mid-night - a sure sign that it was time for everyone to be in bed! There is free wifi in the lounge, bars and restaurant, which is nice.

Overall, if you can get a good rate (I paid about £68 per night all-in, with breakfast) it's a very good place to stay by Bournemouth standards - and it has the layout and ambience of a "real" resort hotel. The staff were all friendly enough, and the lady on Reception very helpful and understanding to arrange a room move for me after the first night. Would I return? Probably / maybe! I've stayed in many many Bournemouth hotels and so far The Cumberland rates alongside the totally different styled Ramada Encore on Bath Hill as the best value-for-money choice, even if the dated and small rooms are not attractive in themselves.

The location on the East Cliff is of course impressive and sea view rooms are available at a (significant) extra cost. The (free of charge) car park was no doubt big enough when the hotel was built, but now it is almost always full. And it is very tight to maneouvre around it. However, the adjacent partner hotels' car parks (Suncliff and Cliff Side) are available to Cumberland guests and I always found space at Cliff Side.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Cumberland Hotel is a gem. I booked the hotel as an opportunity to take my mother away for a short break. We arrived with plenty of parking right outside reception. Very helpful and friendle reception staff as were all the staff during our two night stay. We were immediatly upgraded to a superior room on the first floor with a large terrace over looking the sea. Very clean, large ....lovely room.
We ate in the main restaurant first night and had a good value OK meal, second night ate in Brasserie absolutely excellent top class food and service. Longe was beatiful for relaking after the meal.
For the price it would be churlish to criticise and I can only think of two improvements ....1. a bigger lift and 2. a few hooks in the bathroom.
Otherwise great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank You Colin, really appreciate taking the time to post a review of your stay, and especially the comments regarding the Brasserie. We are currently in the proccess of applying for rosettes, so fingers crossed. Regarding the lift, unfortunatley the size of the shaft limits enlargement, although we do have a service lift for luggage and staff which ensure the small lift is onlu used by passengers. Your points RE hooks in the bathroom are note. Hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My friend and I have stayed at the Cumberland for our last 3 visits in 2 years to Bournemouth and have not felt the need to look elsewhere for accommodation. It is excellent value for money, we have always had clean comfortable rooms, the food is plentiful and beautifully cooked and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They are well trained and professional in their restaurant duties and are so willing to oblige.
Well done to all the team for the smooth running of the hotel, you have worked hard to achieve your two recent awards.

Room Tip: You may need to take a book to read in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stobie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

First, thank you for choosing to return time after time to Cumberland. Customer service has been the hotels primary focus in the past year and I am proud of the whole team for the can do culture we have all created. We have just been awarded a top rated for a 3 star hotel of 85% recently, the highest in Bournemouth and will continue improving on this with guest feedback. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was the second time at the cumberland.we was offered a upgrade on arrival, with abalconey. what a view? this was at a very reasonabld price.the room was fantastic,supurbley decorated,the food was lovely and plentyful,many thanks for the staff for being so kind and helpful, we will be back, try and stop us?

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DShep58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We are a group of golfers on an annual trip to Bournemouth and have stayed at Oceana hotels before but we all agreed this one is the best. Although only here for a short visit the stay was made better by attentive bar staff and the restaurant waitresses were great, with the odd cheeky comment you would expect with a group of male golfers being joined in on rather than growled at. The bar area has been refurbished to a good standard with plenty of comfy sofas for the weary and the hotel location is within a stroll to the town and local nightlife. We are regular visitors to Bournemouth and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others, and if you like your food you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: 2011 good view a bit noisy from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimb057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Golfers, so pleased you continually choose our hotels for your pre-summer weekend. Bournemouth is great for golfing, especially when the weather is nice. Your compliments will go to all the staff and the Chef and we will all be here to welcome you in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $58 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing