We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly dissapointed”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bitterly dissapointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having just spent two days at this hotel we definately would not go back. We went with our 2 children & my wifes parents, we were given room 20 in the "cottage" which was awfull ....
TV didnt work no airiel lead the curtains in the bedroom didnt fit the main window, no blind on the bathroom window just a net curtain not even frosted glass so no way you could have a shower as you could see everythinng from the main carpark.. Even if you were brave enough the shower was just a trickle no water pressure, bedroom also full of cobwebs.
we asked for the room to be made up while we were out and when we got back the person who cleaned it had left rubbish on our bed..
Also when we booked it was a turkey & tinsel thing they had on, the hotel felt like an old peoples home I feel we should of been made aware of this at the time of booking
Swimming pool.. well this we thought was ok untill we came to get changed, absolutely filthy toilet hair all over the floor {CURLY ONES} paint peeling off, no lights in the shower so cant comment on that
Restaurant.. food was actually not to bad the thing that let it down was dirty table linen & staff didnt seem that organised also didnt think restaurant manager should be walking around with his neck tie halfway down his chest with his top button undone
Price paid £568 for two nights so come on hinton firs you will have to up your game if you want us back as we have been before many times but feel your standards have slipped drasticly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEVECEDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    110
    94
    42
    42
See reviews for
88
153
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Enjoyed a classic afternoon tea that was brought to us by the general manager himself. The tea selection we enjoyed was outstanding. We felt like royalty! I would recommend the afternoon tea to anyone. Delicious sandwiches, scones, chocolate eclairs and shortbread biscuits, with tea and bubbly champagne. Wowsers!!! What a treat on a dismally rainy day! It certainly brightened our day and made it so much more cheery! Warm and friendly ambience with the staff and throughout the whole hotel. I would go again and so would hubby! Thanks guys!! Good work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari_culver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Hinton Firs Hotel for Afternoon Tea

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea & found the Hotel warm & welcoming & you found all the staff very friendly.

It was a pleasure to meet you both & hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hinton Firs in the near future.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night with a voucher deal. The service was welcoming and friendly and the staff very attentive, helpful and flexbile, even though it was a very busy weekend for them with a large function. Great location with only a short walk to East Cliff for the seafront and also close to the shops, cafes, bars and places to eat. The room was spacious and comfortable, although the decor was a little dated. The only critisim would be the shower is in need of an update. Cannot comment on the pool or spa as we were only there one night and didn't have time to use them. Altogether a nice place to stay for a weekend or short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel in the quiet picturesc East Cliff area of Bournemouth. Very much aimed at the older end of the spectrum, example: Sunday entertainment, Downton Abbey show on the big screen in the lounge! The food was superb, unfortunately let down by inconsistent service. I was asked on more than one occasion if I was ready to order, even if I had already ordered. Other diners had to wait too long for their orders. All in all, not the best hotel I've stayed in, by far nowhere near the worst either!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJROConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walthamstow
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked this hotel via a woucher as my daughter was starting university. Friendly welcome. Great room. Only downside,hard bed. We were met with. Cream tea which was to die for.booked a 3 course meal which included a bottle of Pinot Gregio for£15.99 each. Excellent food. Got chatting to an elderly gentleman beside us and recommended the fish. The service was first class. The lovely man turned out to be the owner. Could not fault the staff or facilities. Will defiantly be oing back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyannefinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a day on a deal, good job it was a half price deal as would have wanted most of my money back. The only decent thing about this hotel was the buffet lunch, well presented and fresh food and friendly staff.. That's the good points over with. The Poole was dark and dingy, the place needed a serious clean and the changing room, filthy and swamped with water, only enough room for 2 to change at a squash, toilet was smelly and dirty , outside chairs were broken and pool looked very unkempt... Waiting to be served at the bar took forever even when ringing the bell for staff to appear... All I can say is I would not go back again deal or no deal....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking due to it being impossible to find a decent B&B in the area which is my normal preference.

The hotel itself is rather odd as parts of it are quite nice and pleasant but other parts need updating. The location was ok, a nice walk down to bournemouth town centre, the street the hotel is on is quiet which i wanted so that met my criteria.

The room - a pleasant surprise it was clean and tidy, the bed was decent, however, the shower - terrible, absolute nightmare - worse shower i have had on a visit!

The breakfast - was ok, interesting that this hotel actually offered a decent veggie breakfast option with a veggie sausage so that was positive. The breakfast area was nice, everything was in order, clean and tidy. Unfortunately on the first morning I felt like I was on a saga vacation with a large percentage of guests being of the older age range, some of which who were rather moany first thing in the morning so I struggled with this. The hotel can't account for it's clients really so I will counter balance this by saying the second morning had more of a range of clients.

Outdoor swimming pool - has seen better days, I don't see that many of the guests would go in it. The indoor swimming pool - good for families, kids were in it all of the time. Games room - pool table, good for the kids. Gardens - ok, i would suggest upgrading the outdoor pool or get rid of it as it lets down the garden, tidy and clean garden. View - none of the sea but I was aware of this.

Issues - if you get the top room it has a lift part of the way up but you still have to go up the stairs. So if you struggle with stairs be careful where you book. I will note though that there were several guests with disabilities who had specific rooms which catered for wheel chairs so the hotel has varying rooms just make sure you check out what you need and make sure you book accordingly.

Would I visit again... sorry, no I wouldn't out of choice, however, I would say that for the hotel being a last minute booking it did the job I got away and had a good weekend with the weather and I slept well so that was good.

Value for money - mmmmmm.... not so great in my opinion given the shower issue and decoration in certain areas but taken into context of prices of other hotels in the bournemouth area it was about right, it wasn't at the highest price range (bournemouth can be very expensive!).

In fairness to my review on this hotel, there are many guests that love this place and return every year as it suits their needs and I can see why they visit, it just isn't my type of place but it did do the job therefore I wouldn't complain too much as i had a good bed apart from being bitten by mosquitos!!

Room Tip: make sure you know your requirements and discuss before booking - I would suggest this is carried ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tait01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,502 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing