We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called 'Faulty Towers'”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should be called 'Faulty Towers'”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After both our parents being in hospital myself and my sister decided to take them on holiday to converless. We found Hinton Firs while browsing the web and from their site it ticked all the boxes. The main reason I booked with them was the fact they had a wet room, catered for wheelchairs and had entertainment in the hotel. From the time we arrived it was a disaster.
*no disabled space was reserved even though I was told it would be
*access to the disabled room was via the dining room where we constantly had to ask guests to move whilst they were eating to get the wheelchairs through the door
*in the evening the dining room lights were turned off and we had to push 2 wheelchairs in the dark back to our room. Once we complained they did then leave a light on.
*the table in the dining room was not big enough to get 2 wheelchairs under and therefore mum and dad found eating/reaching difficult. The manager did rectify this once we pointed it out.
*the corridor and doorways to the disabled room and wet room were very tight (mum & dad had to hold their arms in so as not to bang them)
*we had to prop open the bedroom door with the hotel brochure to get in with the wheelchair as there was no room for 1 person to hold it open while other pushes wheelchair in
*the Corridoor area and room was very grubby and needed decorating. The disabled room was also very dark and cold
*the kettle didnot work, every time you used the kettle we had to unplug the tv or boil it on the floor(only other plug accessible)
*tv was very old and took up a lot of space
*only 2 tea bags per person given per day(tea is all mum and dad drink) when I asked for more I was told I would be charged for them!
*in our room, next door, at 7.10am, we were woken up by the kitchen fans blasting as the kitchens backed onto our room. Then one morning at 7am we were woken up by a member of staff vacuuming in the Corridoor!
* on Saturday evening we took mum and dad into the lounge area ready to watch the entertainment. When nothing happened we asked at reception when it would start, to be tod it had all been cancelled due to low guest bookings. We were not told at time of booking, or website had no such information. No allowance was made for this regarding payment other than a free bottle of wine and a few tea bags and a free coffee and tea.
*only 2 sunbeds for whole hotel (52 Rooms) when we asked why we were told they were being replaced and had not arrived
*disabled access to pool area is out of hotel, through front car park, through back carpark, through locked side gate (where's Health & Safety!) we ended up pushing them over a concrete ledge at side of hotel, then we had to ask guests to move so we could get the wheelchairs along the patio.
*not able to take wheelchairs either down by pool or on grassed area due to steps.
*indoor pool was closed for most of the week we were there - don't really know why.
*outdoor pool was uninviting, full of leaves, looked like a fish pond!
* one morning our bedroom lock broke, we reported it to reception who told us it would be fixed. We arrived back at the hotel early evening to find the lock still broken, our bedroom door had been open all day with our valuables inside. When we asked why it had not been fixed we were told "what do you do when your maintenance staff turn up for 2 hours then leave"? I asked the manager if the hotel would take responsibility for any missing items, he said no! He then made up an excuse about not getting an email and proceeded to fix the lock himself!
Good points, excellent food, excellent friendly restaurant & bar staff. Angela listened. Hotel owners & manager need to read these reviews and act on them! Same complaints all year!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Coleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    94
    44
    42
See reviews for
89
155
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked the hotel via a KGB deal and were a little worried we would not get the best from the hotel.
Far from it, the receptionist made the booking very easy and even put our name against a parking space when I informed them that we would need to use the carpark. Nice location a couple of minutes from the beach and a 10 min walk from Bournemouth. We even took the ride down to the beach and back up so not taxing on the legs!!
We could not be more pleased with the attidude of the staff, all we came across were very friendley and helpful and our dinner and breakfasts were fresh and tasty.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, didn't realise we would have tea and coffee making facilities or a hairdryer. The kettle didn't work and was replaced within minutes, so not a problem. Shower not like our power shower at home, but adequate.
Excellant hotel and value for money,even at the normal rates

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCA_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and our room was quite bigger than the double on one of the pics with 2 windows. The room was a little smelly at first maybe the carpet but the windows were there, towels are bit too old and yellowish! Outdoor pool didn't look good to swim but indoor pool and jacuzzi was ok.

The hotel GM seems fake, the host at breakfast was not very welcoming but all other staff who are foreigners were very good as some of them are multi-task.

The hotel is in a good location, close to beach and 15mins walk to town centre. They also got 2 car parks with an additional small one at entrance for disabled badges. Family friendly, table tennis, pool table and board games available on reception.

Nice and quiet stay on the coast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atemoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, July 12. The overal look of the hotel is very nice, open spaced and has different areas such as a lounge, Pool room, Ping pong room.

However it is a bit scatty round the edges eg. need decorating. Lounge looked clean and the outside patio area was nice too.

Shame about the outside pool, it looked like a swamp

The bar looked very nice however there was no bar staff at the bar. I think i got served once in the two days.,..

Swimming Pool, Steam room and Jacuzzi - Was good to have a swim, not big enough to do lengths, but hey. Clean pool. Jacuzzi was nice to however you have to ask forit to be put on, and they only had it on for like ten minutes....then went off again.

Steam room was nice, we wasn't informed were it was, and theres no signs so we went through a door which sed "changing rooms" and saw a wooden door, having a peek we found it but we would of never known it was there.

Staff were fine, waiteress and waiters at breakfast were helpful and good service, smiled and worked hard. Receptionists wasn't massivly friendly. (Gave them some strawberries and they looked at us like we were weirdo's lol) i would be happy if someone gave me some strawberrys when i was working?? .....

Room was good, average standard room, we got a nice room for the price we got for our two nights. Smelt like feet when we first arrived but we just opened the window. Had all the supplies and hairdryer, places to put clothes etc.Bathroom small but had everything we needed, was clean.

Shower wasn't great.

It seemed like the hotel was popular with families as children were around alot. So if your playing a chill time in the pool might be difficult.

Its ten minutes walk to the beach, not minutes. Still close so was a good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second visit to the Hinton Firs and we were in the minority as most of the people staying here had visited on numerous occasions. The hotel is situated in a perfect position, very close to the beach and just a short walk to the local bus stop. We arrived in our own car and had no difficulties with the parking. Our room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space for our clothes. Our only complaint was that the water pressure from the shower could have been better. The lounges and bar are very comfortable and the indoor swimming pool had received a recent refurbishment. Due to the bad weather we could not even sit beside the outdoor pool.
The food provided for breakfast and in the evening was excellent and well served by very friendly staff. Good honest British food with constant changes to the menu. We Would certainly stay here again/.

Room Tip: Although a lift is available there are still a number of stairs to negotiate when staying on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Many of us looking for a quiet week away from it all in a hotel offering half board along the English South coast will know how frustrating it can be.
This family run hotel offers half board at a reasonable price. The staff are mostly foreign but very good at looking after the guests needs. We had no problem talking to the staff and our needs were attended to quickly and efficiently.
The food was very good and more than enough for our appetites. Do not expect gourmet style meals, just wholesome food. A nice change from some of the fancy stuff served in some places.
The hotel is located in a quiet area of Bournemouth but within walking distance of the town centre and shops. They also have free parking with a limited number for disabled persons.
A visit to their web site will fill in all the other details one needs for a pleasant stay.
Just remember the hotel has a 3 star rating not a 5 star but we consider we got more than a 3 star one.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms at the top, facing the sea can suffer from noisy seagulls. What seaside town does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had booked a long weekend away , when we arrived we was give keys to are lodge when we got to the lodge it was a buddling with 6 rooms , when we got in are room there was a strong smile of bleach as you opened the door , the bathroom floor had hair & it was wet & we booked a dubble bed & we got a 2 single beds put to giver , when we spoke to the front desk there sead there get some one to have , we poped out for a walk on the beach for 2 hrs , when we got back the smile of bleach was still when i spoke the front desk she gives me keys to different room above are first room it was better so we moved there arftere 20 mins in the room we found a used plaster behind the bathroom mirror & the wall paper coming of the walls & all so the tv was only working in black & white & athere was only 8 channels working , arftere my fiancée was felling I'll we had to move out of the hotel as we can smile the beach in the hall way , arftere we spoke the front desk there had a look at the room make us fill like lairs , we sead that we had to leve , the lady whent away & called us on the room phone say there chound not nothing & we whoud not get the despot back not even the manger was there , as we was taken are bags out of the room one the staff was trying to start a argent with me , we did ask fot the manger to call me about this & we still not heard a word from them , we have pasted the info to the health & safety regarding the room . We whoud never stay there & recommend not to stay there , what there put on there website is not what there got at the hotel , it's the worst hotel I've even been & we was only there for 4hrs .

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chine Hotel
Chine Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing