We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worsted hotel ever @ we only stayed there for 4hrs .”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worsted hotel ever @ we only stayed there for 4hrs .”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had booked a long weekend away , when we arrived we was give keys to are lodge when we got to the lodge it was a buddling with 6 rooms , when we got in are room there was a strong smile of bleach as you opened the door , the bathroom floor had hair & it was wet & we booked a dubble bed & we got a 2 single beds put to giver , when we spoke to the front desk there sead there get some one to have , we poped out for a walk on the beach for 2 hrs , when we got back the smile of bleach was still when i spoke the front desk she gives me keys to different room above are first room it was better so we moved there arftere 20 mins in the room we found a used plaster behind the bathroom mirror & the wall paper coming of the walls & all so the tv was only working in black & white & athere was only 8 channels working , arftere my fiancée was felling I'll we had to move out of the hotel as we can smile the beach in the hall way , arftere we spoke the front desk there had a look at the room make us fill like lairs , we sead that we had to leve , the lady whent away & called us on the room phone say there chound not nothing & we whoud not get the despot back not even the manger was there , as we was taken are bags out of the room one the staff was trying to start a argent with me , we did ask fot the manger to call me about this & we still not heard a word from them , we have pasted the info to the health & safety regarding the room . We whoud never stay there & recommend not to stay there , what there put on there website is not what there got at the hotel , it's the worst hotel I've even been & we was only there for 4hrs .

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    109
    92
    42
    42
See reviews for
87
151
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex/Suffolk border
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in order to attend a Rotary conference. Our arrival was delayed until shortly after 9.00pm due to accident in New Forest and cook had gone home, although a salad had been left for us after we phoned ahead. The bedrooms are a bit old fashioned but well decorated and clean. Bed was very comfortable.

The swimming pools were both out of action and we would have had to visit a neighbouring hotel for a dip. Dinner was well cooked and well presented with a good choice of dishes. My wife was the person mentioned in another review who was charged £1.25 extra for mushrooms at breakfast despite only ordering scrambled egg and bacon and foregoing several of the other "free" items. Long waits to be served were also regular events, putting the nice friendly staff on the defensive somewhat when progress was questioned.

The biggest surprise was the live entertainment booked on both Friday and Saturday, which we enjoyed whilst drinking our after dinner coffee in the lounge. A singing duo on the Friday and a keyboard player/singer (called Gordon Bennett) on Saturday. Both acts were extremely good and it was a shame that a lot more people weren't there to enjoy them. They even got us up on our feet to try out the dance floor!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just spent five days over the diamond jubilee weekend at the Hinton firs hotel, Bournemouth. Having read recent posts we were understandably concerned about our stay. We needn't have worried! The hotel was clean, linen good and towels changed daily. Our bed was so comfortable we overslept! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food good and plentiful. Meals were served quickly and were hot. As it was the jubilee weekend, the hotel had organised entertainment, at no charge to us. We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the musical "turns" and afternoon tea was very good, even including strawberries and clotted cream, bucks fizz and pimms. The indoor pool was fully functioning when we visited and the outdoor pool would have been inviting, if the weather had been good! We weren't lucky enough to have a groupon deal and paid full price, but no complaints! The hotel's proximity to the beach and sea is excellent, and it is within walking distance from the centre of Bournemouth. We have already booked a return stay. Well done Hinton Firs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vieuxmarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here using a groupon/kgbdeal voucher and had I paid full price, I'd have been livid! The placed smelt musty and damp, the decoration in the rooms was poorly finished (wallpaper not cut straight, toilet that moved when you sat down, threadbare carpets and damaged furniture, beds so hard that I had to take a sleeping tablet on the second night just to get some kip!), the pools were not in use (even though I had moved my stay back two weeks because of this, the problems still weren't fixed), and the reception staff were not very helpful at all.

Pretty much every other guest was over 75 (I love old people but as a 30yr old couple, we really did not want to spend our vacation in an old peoples home!), and the 'entertainment' was obviously focussed for the older generation (an old fella on an organ singing all your favourite war time ditties).

Breakfast was ok and afternoon tea was also pleasant, but other than the food that was included in the price, I was extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Manningtree
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked a three night DB&B stay along with 12 others in order to attend a conference in Bournemouth. Rooms recently re-decorated and clean. swimming pools out of action.Good choices for Dinner. Well cooked and well presented. Wine not bad and reasonably priced. Our main problem was with the breakfast! The waiting staff were friendly and attentive but oh dear, we had to wait and wait, once we had given our order! When you are at a conference you need to eat your breakfast and go! Not so here. We think the kitchen staff were under-resourced and it took an age before it came. And to make it worse, if you wanted any extras, such as mushrooms you had to pay £1.25 extra. This penny-pinching just creates bad feeling. Please please Hinton Firs get you act together for an efficient and brisk breakfast service and stop your penny-pinching over the mushrooms!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broomfondle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had booked a 2 night Groupon deal as my daughter is at Uni in Bournemouth and thought it would be nice to go and visit her. Our deal was 2 nights, afternoon tea with bubbly and a bottle of wine. Afternoon tea was not what I expected,I go to afternoon tea quite often and it is usually sandwiches, scones and pastries................the afternoon tea here was a scone with a pot of tea and the glass of bubbly.
Hotel is very shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment, that being said it is very clean. Room was a bit shabby, but clean. Very very warm though, actually over overpoweringly warm. Shower was I am sorry to say absolutely rubbish. There was a bath however, which was by far the best option.
Fruit option for breakfast was only grapefruit and prunes. Mushrooms had to be paid for?????????????? As did breakfast foods if you wanted more than one egg, bacon rasher or sausage.
Hotel definitely caters more for the older clientele.
Although we were disappointed with the general decor and ambiance of the hotel I have to say the staff were great, customer service was very good.....................as I said earlier we had a Groupon deal but it was not a problem for us to pay extra and bring our youngest daughter.......................................shame the pool facilities were not working.
If the hotel was updated we would definitely go back but unfortunately at the moment it is a little too dated and old fashioned for our liking

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good stay, although swimming pools, stated on all information, are not available and show no sign of being available, outside pool is green with algie, iinside pool roof has fallen into what was the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
979 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing