We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No swimming pools !”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No swimming pools !”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good stay, although swimming pools, stated on all information, are not available and show no sign of being available, outside pool is green with algie, iinside pool roof has fallen into what was the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    105
    91
    39
    41
See reviews for
84
147
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed one night with a Groupon voucher, excellent value for money - champagne cream tea, bottle of wine and cooked breakfast for two included in the price of £50. The reception wall holds a plaque stating the hotel is a member of the retirement association, and they must have supplied all the other guests! Not sure that the hotel staff were used to having spring chickens like us stay (at 31 and 48) but ALL the lights were off when we returned to the hotel at 1am after a night out, with the night staff apologising, saying she thought everyone was in bed! Unfortunately, bad weather bad damaged the roof of the indoor pool and sauna and these facilities are out of action for the foreseeable future. All in all, I'd say it was good value, but perhaps we might stay somewhere a little more age-appropriate next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Bell for service at the bar; rang twice and no answer, had to chase at reception. supposed to have bubbly and afternoon tea on arrival but was never offered it, asked the next day and was told you should have asked at the bar- no-one told us this. pool facilities had been shut since xmas but was not informed of this at time of booking. works were going on directly outside our bedroom window. Reception staff friendly but other staff made you feel like you were making their life difficult. pool table nice suprise but had to pay each game.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LN-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel which we booked through an offer on Groupon. Although there was a group in the hotel it didn't deter from our experience or the service we received. We were welcomed into the restaurant by the hotel manager who couldn't do enough for us. He was so friendly and treated us like VIP's. In fact the standard of service by all the staff blew us away. We thought that as we were staying at a reduced rate we would get a second rate service but we couldn't have been more wrong! The food was plentiful and our breakfast was excellent setting us up for the day and our drive back home. Yes, there were obvious refurbishments taking place - the pool etc was closed, but improvements have got to be made at some time and we half expected it anyway at this time of the year. It didn't bother us in the least as we were only there for one night and besides the service and food by far exceeded all our expectations. Bournemouth is a short drive away and a pleasant town to wander round. We will definitely be visiting this hotel again and would recommend it and its exceptional staff to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissJaberwocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked this through groupon for 1 nights stay (4/2) however we ended up not staying.
Really old hotel. Our room on arrival was cold and furniture old and worn. I thought we should go down for the afternoon tea and try and make the most of it as it only cost £59.00. However whilst I was ordering my other half indicated that there was no spa and the pool and facilities were closed. Which is what we came for! I think that was the final straw and spoke to reception and said we would like to leave. We had two coffees whilst we were there but tea turned up. I think that summed up the whole experience of setting foot in that hotel - we won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

With the outside temperature ranging from around minus 4 degress C to plus 3 degrees C, I would have expected the hotel heating to be going at full blast - NOT THE CASE - when we checked in at about 3.00pm our room was but cold and were advised the heating would come on about 4.30pm.

What should have been an enjoyable weekend was spoilt by a freezing cold bedroom, only marginally rectified (after several complaints) by provision of an electric convector heater.

Overall view: an hotel not to any adequate standard as regards heating, in need of refurbishment externally, food and service of mediocre standard. As regards *** rating, 2** at best and that's being generous.

There are many hotels in Bournemouth of 4**** rating and a few of 5***** rating - suggest you try one of those.

PT

Room Tip: Try going in the Summer - rooms will probably be hot and humid as no air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hinton Firs for one night (a Saturday) during January 2012. We were looking for a budget stay accessible to Bournemouth centre.

The Hinton Firs staff were all very helpful throughout our stay. The communal lounges are comfortable, the rooms are adequate and clean, in line with the price we paid. It is an easy walk into Boscombe, a short taxi in the evening to Bournemouth centre. The typical clientele is a little older, but this is to expected and reflective of the other hotels in the vicinity. The hotel is subject to some refurbishment, it looks like this is ongoing. The rooms probably need a little updating, but we expected that. Above all, they were very clean and functional, with all the amenities we needed for a comfortable value stay.

We didn't dine at the restaurant, but did enjoy breakfast, which was perfect. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel, the service is exceptional for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your your positive feedback, following your recent stay at the Hinton Firs Hotel

I am pleased to read you thought the hotel was excellent value for money and the rooms and communal areas were adequate and clean.

The hotel does have an ongoing refurbishment scheme

I am pleased to read all my team were friendly and went out of their way to make your stay an exceptional one.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hinton Firs Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing