We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Stoke on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have recently returned from a twelve day holiday at the Hinton Firs Hotel in Bournemouth and unfortunately our stay was disappointing.

The hotel was practically full with a coach party (Phase 2) which in my opinion were given priority over the minority of the remaining guests.
On the second day of our holiday a notice appeared on the reception informing of a change to the evening meal commencement time from 6.30 pm to 7.00 pm which only applied to guests which were not part of the Phase 2 coach party.

I was not happy with this change as we prefer to dine early and made my views known to the receptionist who was not helpful and rude. The end comment was you could go in at 6.30 pm but you would have to wait to be served.

The following day an apology was given by the new manager who overheard the discussions, no apology was forthcoming from the receptionist.

At breakfast you help yourself to cereals if you could find a bowl to put them in, on a number of occasions there was no milk, orange juice or yogurts. The table where the cereal dispensers were situated was covered, most mornings, with cornflakes.

As we had already decided not to return to Hinton Firs for our next holiday we investigated other options.We viewed several hotels and were greeted very warmly by the reception staff who were eager to give us a tour of their hotel public areas and bedrooms.

We concluded after viewing these hotels that the Hinton Firs in some areas, inside and out, is dated and tired and requires urgent refurbishment.

Over the past 15 years we have had many excellent holidays and made many friends therefore it is regrettable that our association with Hiton Firs has come to an end.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BiddleStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Hinton Firs Hotel.

As you have noted the hotel was fully booked during this week with both a coach party and individual guests.

As the coach group staying this particular week requested evening dinner to be served at 6.30pm the hotel see it as best practice to inform other guests of this and for them to eat slightly later, making the evening dining experience more pleasurable for all guests involved. We are more than happy for any individual guests to eat at 6.30pm should they wish to wait to be served.

As soon as the cereal station was brought to my attention I made sure the staff replenished and cleaned this area regularly during breakfast service

I'm sorry to hear you feel that you will not be returning to the hotel after many enjoyable years here. When you visit Bournemouth in future years and stay at the other hotel you would be more than welcome to come in for lunch or afternoon tea to relive your many memories of your time spent at the Hotel in the past.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    109
    92
    42
    42
See reviews for
87
151
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel room was airy and comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The food was delicious and with generous portions. Tim, the Manager welcomed us in, made himself personally known to us and waved us off on departure. The nightly entertainment was outstanding and a bonus. The outdoor poolside service was a plus and all in all this hotel offers a delightful respite at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nita_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hinton Firs Hotel.

I am pleased to read you found your stay most enjoyable, and would highly recommend us.

All the staff here look forward to you staying at the Hinton Firs hotel again in the near future.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Recently went there with 20 golfers aged 35-40 and without exception all other guests were over 75. Good service but hotel really tired and suited to the elderly only

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Hinton Firs, a family run hotel reasonably priced. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Luggage promptly taken to our room which, although not overlarge was adequate with a very comfortable bed. It had a light, airey en suite with both bath and shower, and overlooked the outdoor swimming pool.
We had previously requested a reserved parking space as we have a blue badge, and this was there as we arrived. The food was excellent, good breakfasts, always an interesting and varied dinner menu each evening (nothing too way out!), and served on very hot plates. Two evening entertainments and a film show. Small indoor pool and jacuzzi very popular. Bar food available all day to consume on the poolside patio or inside. Pleasent vell kepy gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and outlook on two floors. Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff friendly and helpful as this is something the hotel is renowed for.

I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food at breakfast and dinner and you found the snack menu had plenty of variety.

As the new General Manager I will be looking at the entertainment we provide in the hotel and how we can include more variety throughout the year. (Included in the price of your stay) and bringing a gardener in to make the gardens look even more pleasant than they currently are.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Tim Seward
General Manager

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay with my partner.

Our first impression on entering the hotel is that it seemed to be a day care centre for the elderly. Elderly people just sitting in big armchairs staring into space. We were the youngest people there.

Didn't find the staff particularly helpful, can't even recall having a conversation with any of the staff whatsoever. When walking past the reception on a daily basis the receptionist didn't even look up or acknowledge us. Not a good morning, hello or anything,

Room was clean although we did book a double room and it turned out to be 2 single beds pushed together which I was not impressed about.

Bathroom very dated and shower was rubbish, no pressure from it or even from the taps in the basin.

We did not eat in the restaraunt in the evening however we did wait 30 minutes to have our breakfast order taken on Saturday morning. That not being bad enough the breakfast wasn't particulary nice when it did arrive. Sunday morning breakfast was slightly better.

When checking out of the hotel Sunday morning, the receptionist asked me what room number I was. when I told her she replied, ok you paid for your room up front so that is all. She didn't even ask us if everything was ok and did we enjoy our stay! I think all of the staff here could do with hotel training on how to deal with and treat their residents!

Bearing in mind this hotel is usually £250.00 for two nights (of which we did get a slight discount on line) I was shocked to see that there were a supplements charge for everything else. Milk for your tea in your room, towels for the swimming pool etc. I certainly would of been even more dissappointed if I had of paid that amount of money to get the service that I received.

Not great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodge187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves in our ability to cater for people of all ages.

The staff at the hotel are trained to deal with every customer request and we are renowed for our customer care & service. I am sorry you felt this was not the case during your recent stay with us.

As new General Manager at the hotel I realise there are some small improvements to be made of which I will endeavour to tackle in the coming months.

If you should be in the area again please do not hesitate to visit the hotel and I will happily meet with you.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was OK.

The hotel has good facilities including an inviting indoor pool/jacuzzi. The outdor pool didn't look quite so inviting but the garden is very nice.

Our room was clean and comfortable,although the decor was a bit tired and the cold water pressure very low - made the over-bath shower interesting!

Best asset is the staff, who were without exception very helpful, courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerPuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I have recently returned from a three day break at the Hinton Firs Hotel in Bournemouth (Early Dec 2010) and just felt I had to share my joy at finding a hotel that actually "cares" if the guests enjoy themselves or not. From the moment we were greeted at the reception desk to the time we checked out we felt that nothing we or any other guests asked for, was too much trouble.

The hotel was buzzing which was amazing for the time of year and all the staff seem only to pleased to offer advice or help when needed. The Manager was always on hand to give advice when necessary and was always most helpful. We found our room to be very clean and bright (in fact the whole hotel is kept very clean and is tastefully decorated). We only booked in for Bed and Breakfast at the hotel but that was really good quality. It was prepared for you individually and arrived piping hot and wow...what a full plate when you have a full house! All in all we loved Bournemouth (first visit) but more importantly we know we have found a hotel that we can return to with confidence again and again for a short break.

Thank you Hinton Firs!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
981 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing