We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed August 31, 2009

GOOD POINTS: fairly good location, good breakfast (see below), friendly check-in staff.
BAD POINTS: We had an executive room which was located on the top floor. This was OK except that the lift only goes to the floor below. Had to carry luggage up 2 flights of stairs - no help offered by staff. There is a lift that goes all the way - out of order and has been for some time - see previous reviewers! Our room was large & could have been good except for the stained carpet, a window blind which would`nt go up & was hanging to (falling from) the wall by bent brackets, cheap 14 inch TV, scratched paintwork and a bathtub surround that was not properly connected (probably where someone had tried to repair the leak!) Some of the above reported to reception staff - nothing done during stay. Only 2 towels on arrival - both dirty. After asking 3 times, got clean ones. Plumbing leads a lot to be desired. Room servicing of poor standard. Not vacumed during stay. No clean sheets during stay. Duty manager knocked on our door to enquire about our requiring a TV remote - he had wrong room! This happened twice! Bed not made up properly one day - sheet & blankets just thrown over bed - bedspread left in corner of room. Stairway carpet leading up to top floor was filthy. Some carpets stuck down with tape - to prevent trips. Swimming pool closed - yet hotel still advertise its availability - you have to go to the sister hotel if you want a swim. Breakfast good if you go down early . Don`t leave it too late - food often not replenished. Ran out of toast one day, bacon another. Tea & coffee making is a joke. Hotel is used by coach trips catering for elderly people, which is good because it feels like a residential care home. Needs a lot of money spent to upgrade & good managers who know how to manage. Don`t go!!!!!!!
PS Don`t park under tree at front of hotel unless want car to be covered in guano.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2009

Filthy room. Unhelpful staff.
Breakfast was very good, however - very nice selection of help-yourself food.

If you book over the phone or on the internet, remember to print details and take as proof of booking - the 'sister' hotel - the Britannia - denied all knowledge of my pre-paid break and would have left me hotel-less except that I had taken the trouble to carry my internet printout with me! They said they had no room (rather stressful!) but eventually transfered me to the Heathlands - shame! No one was bothered about THEIR mistake. (Subsequently received proof from lastminute.com that the Britannia HAD been sent full details when I booked).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stressedmum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

the heathlands hotel was fab!!!!!! yes, it could do with a lick of paint but the food was fantastic, our room was clean and spacious and we couldnt fault it! we stayed at the hotel during the week of the air show and had fantastic weather, and yes the room was very warm, however a fan was in the room on arrival, and id rather complain about being cold, not that its too warm!!!!!!
The restaurant staff were great. nothing was too much trouble. The only complaints were by those who turned up 10 minutes before breakfast finished and then moaned because they had to wait for fresh food to be cooked. in my opinion these people revcevied more than they deserve! freshly cooked food, 10 minutes before breakfast was finishing- what was there to complain about!! They were very short staffed, yet they all did a fantastic job in my opinion!!
i travelled with my 8 year old daughter, just the 2 of us, and it has got to be said that this was one of the best holidays weve had! yes the weather and the airshow and all the free entertainment helped, but i would go back to this hotel tomorrow if i could! PLEASE do not be put off by the shallow minds of those complaining on here! Maybe they were unlucky and had a bad room, but dont be put off. Do you seriously go away to sit in your room morning till night, to pick fault at any little thing- I would hope not! If you are that picky and can not make the most of time away with loved ones, a break from the normal routine and have a smile on your face- stay at home!
If you go to the heathlands and have a good time and are reading the reviews on here, please write a good review. People are quick to be on here complaining, but credit where credit is due- tell people the facts! I have stayed in a worse hotels in other countrys and paid alot more! but yet we except that because were abroad, and thats ok! Heathlands hotel deserves a chance, and im sure you WONT be disappointed. :-)

ps the outdoor pool was being cleaned and getting ready to be re-opened, however while it is out of action you can use the pool as a guest at a sister hotel. we were lucky enough to make the most of the beach, and didnt need to use the pool. the staff did say that it was re-opening, but i couldnt confirm when!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzally!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked and then read the reviews.I was so alarmed I Itook our own sheets and towels! Quite unecessary. Our room had new carpet, new bedlinen and pristine white towels. The front desk staff, barman and restaurant staff were all helpful and smiley. Enjoyed a quiet drink in the garden which catches the late afternoon sun. Free parking even though it was the airshow. Breakfast good. Yes the hotel does need a fortune spending on it, but we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Hotel is in need of updating, has recently been bought out and new management are underway with planning the development of this hotel(which will increase the cost) great location only 5 mins walk frokm the east cliff beach and lift,food was excellent value for money at £10.50 for all you can eat 5 course buffet and the staff were great in the restaurant/kitchen they went out of their way to meet our daughters dietary needs.I was a travel agent for many years, so have stayed in mnay hotels in my time, you should take it as it is, a bed for the nights, as long as it is clean and cheap (when you have a family, cost if everything). and it was probably one of the cheapest in that area.free use of the hotels sister hotel about 2 mins walk away is also a great facility and free!!!. I am a strong believer that you get what you pay for in this world but do expect certain standards, we do not have any complaints about this hoteland will be going back again!, unlike others, we do go away to have a good time and not to find things to moan about!, those that did find so many things to complain about obviously got out of bed the wrong side.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocking9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

After a 5 and a half hour trip we were hoping to chill out in our room and have a nice drink and relax but we were so disgusted and depressed by the hotel environment, decoration and ambience that we quickly got the hell out and spent most the night and early morning drinking in Bournemouth.

When we eventually came back we noticed that the taps in our room had signs above them warning not to drink the water! The wallpaper was peeling, the carpets were filthy and thick with dust and hairs, there was a very thick and dusty Yellow Pages on the side of the bed (looked like from the 70s), and to top it all we had to pay for all this upfront before we even arrived otherwise we would have definitely gone elsewhere.

The website advertising this hotel is very misleading - this place really needs to be thoroughly inspected, but more specifically against Health and Safety standards and regulations.

I can't complain about the receptionists, they were helpful although they didn't come across as professional in that they also looked tired and unhappy to be there with little motivation, and who can blame them.

I sincerely hope that after all these many reviews stating the same things time and time again that necessary actions will be taken to improve basic health and safety standards.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rigsby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The reception staff were polite.
Our room was upgraded without extra cost to a suite
Tea & coffee was always provided, and there appeared to be an effort to clean the hotel., following a recent change to Britannia.
The breakfast was good with a wide choice
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrowEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $35 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing