We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but won't be returning.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap but won't be returning.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We expected basic and outdated but what we got was unacceptable. Tiny box room next to generator that ran all night. Moved to better room for second night. No heating but they provided us with a heater when we asked. No water to shower and water in bath ran brown. The bar had run out of beer on the first two nights and once the delivery arrived there was no staff to man the bar! No heating in the bar/ sitting area despite weather being freezing. Everyone in the bar sat with their coats on. We won't be returning even if they gave us free accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    229
    221
    196
    262
See reviews for
154
408
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Heathlands last weekend and had a great time. Our room was very good, spacious and clean. The food was plentiful and several choices. Entertainment was good too. Would we go again? YES, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 320 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infodesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

stayed one night as a get away with the other half and for £20 including breakfast you can't complain. staff were friendly, room was small and basic , clean and tidy, could of done with a thicker duvet as it was cold and double glazing.... our room was right over the kitchen fans that kept going off all night! breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and hot...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomshellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

i recently stayed for a weekend the room was good clean etc but no heat the radiators were cold also there was no hot water, when we complained they gave us a portable heater.there was a good choice of food and the entertainment was o k .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIG195452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We had to stay in Bournemouth for a night due to my husband's work. We chose the Heathlands as that's where some of his colleagues were staying. We were somewhat apprehensive with the cost being only £29 for both of us incl breakfast.

We were checked in and went to our room which was a suite and very spacious. In the 60's it must have been s**t hot but in 2013.......not so much!! Very dated! The room was clean and was quite cold, however the polar bears and penguins were quite happy!!
The windows were taped up with duck tape and the middle window wouldn't close.

Breakfast was ok nothing special or of particularly good quality but for £29 what do you expect?

You get what you pay for lol

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsEJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A group of us had a 5 day break last week at the Heathlands. Its the first time I have refused a room, it was no bigger than a cupboard. But they changed it without any fuss. The place was freezing, and we were all shivering, and they were running around with heaters for us. So our rooms got warmer, but public areas didn't. Others in my party also changed rooms. We were told entertainment every night, we had it at our hotel 2 of the 5 nights, and was expected to go to their other hotel down the road, to see the other three shows. Food was good, but most of the time cold plates to put it on, as we had to get our own with 3 others coach loads, so it was 4 times queuing up, starter,main,desert, then tea/coffee....staff were trying to keep up with the clearing of tables, and keeping the food topped up. We were told the Manager and 8 staff had been sacked the week before, and the chef walked out the Wednesday we were there. The place was clean, but I can't say I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigailCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went to this hotel on a coach holiday January 2013 and found the staff
to be helpful and friendly. The food was very good, buffet style, and the
family room for two us more than adequate.
Excellent value for money and very close to the beach and town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing