We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a 4*hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is not a 4*hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Where do I start...
We were staying in the attic, room 96, which the lift does not go to. You had to take the lift ( which has a funky smell of BO / paint) to the 3rd floor then up a flight of steep stairs. Not ideal for anyone with luggage as the staircase is narrow.
The decor throughout the hotel is tired, the room was ok apart from the mattress had a dip so you rolled into the middle, not ideal if you are sharing the bed esp as it was a small double bed anyway!
The room was very hot but the hotel do supply a small fan which was useless. They need air conditioning. I would expect every 4* hotel to have this.
The breakfast was not worth £9.95...anemic sausages and premade tea was tasteless, you are better off making your own tea in your room. Also don't bother going down for breakfast on a weekend after 9am as they didn't replenish. I had to wait 30 minutes for butter for my toast.
You can actually get a good breakfast outside the hotel for £7.95 at Cliff Top Restaurant, 5 minutes walk from this hotel. Also dinner there is really good...don't even bother eating at this hotel!
The spa is terrible, really disappointing. In the main pool it was filled with sand! Surely they should tell the guests to wash prior entering but clearly they have not been doing this. If I had wanted sand I would have visted the beach.
The steam room was poor, hardly any steam and the sauna was out of action. The relaxation room smelt damp so I didn't stay in there long and the aromatherapy room baffled me as it was justa dark room with fairy lights and a soaking wet floor with spa music playing in the background...not sure what that is supposed to do??? I had afternoon tea booked in the spa and cancelled it on the basis that everything appears to be terrible at this hotel so why would I waste a further £25. Plus there was a huge hole in the ceiling in the spa so it is in need of restoration!!
When checking out, reception tried to charge us £155 per night rate and luckily I had the email confirmation with the correct rate on ( we paid £115 pn).
This hotel is not 4* accommodation, it is more like 3*. I actually feel a bit ripped off paying £115 per night as everything was shabby. I have stayed in better B&B's than this hotel.
I commented on this to the reception at check out and was told they were sorry and they would try to do better next time...sorry but there will be no next time!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Pay an extra £30 and stay at Best Western, The Connaught. Really lovely hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    420
    445
    270
    251
See reviews for
225
838
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my 10 hens stayed here for my hen do and there is ot one bad thing I can say about my stay!
Rooms were lovely,spa facilities were lovely staff didn't bother you and left you to enjoy your stay very helpful,the breakfast in the morning was delicious! With a huge range!
Could not fault it at all! I will be going back there in again soon

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skye2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Choose this hotel for a relaxing spa weekend with my lovely friend to celebrate my hen party. Hotel was amazing.. treatment were amazing I recommend the facial and full body massage.. spa area was just perfect.. food was great.. I recommend the steak.. and chocolate roulade. . The room was clean comfortable bed room 107 executive suite for me the bride.. all others rooms were nice to.. we had a superb relaxing weekend.. weather was amazing to.. only bad things were the shower in the girls changing was disgusting covered in mould need to be closed off and the drink prices kept changing... ie breakfast diet coke was £2 .. lunch it was £3.59 and dinner was £4. Same with the wine prices were different everytime.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel took £270 for a two night stay in a deluxe room they down graded us to a very poor standard room and only informed us of this when we complained (this has been reported to trading standards). Numerous issues during our stay and had to complain at least 4 times. The worst thing is the attitude of the staff (up to director level) they are arrogant and deceitful. We shall be pursuing legal action against hallmark hotel holdings and the only good thing is this hotel company lost £1.6 million last year so hopefully won't be around much longer.

Room Tip: Never stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed one night although it should have been two. We'd booked "deluxe" room... it was shabby, the bed base was uncovered and stained, the sink was cracked and no loo roll holder. The ceiling fan was broken and the room was like a furnace. The "spa" shuts at 7.30pm and the changing rooms smelled like a public lavatory. We complained repeatedly but to no avail. We refused to pay but were charged anyway... only when I spoke to head office did I discover we had been down graded without our knowledge to a standard room and the bill was being adjusted so we were only charged the standard rate... like that makes a difference! I've reported the hotel to trading standards and I urge anyone who has had a poor experience at this hotel to do the same!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. ANY hotel, just not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Went for an overnight Spa break which included a couple of massages for me and my wife.

The location was okay, it was about a 20 minute brisk walk down to the town and seafront. Parking was reasonable at the hotel.

We had room number 2 on the first floor and as you walk along the landing to the room it was very hot and stuffy and also a very musty old smell in the corridor. Also there often seemed to be cleaning equipment and linen on the floor in the corridor by our room which we had to walk around. The room itself seemed clean enough. The view was poor, just an extension roof, pipes and cables and the car park. One problem we had in our room was that the ceiling fan didn't work. In the middle of the night I was so hot but when I rang down to reception I was told if the remote for it wasn't in the room not a lot could be done. I tried to put up with it but at 2am I just couldn't sleep as it was so hot so I rang down again and a small fan was brought up to us.

The breakfast was okay generally, buffet style though the baked beans weren't really kept hot enough.

The wifi in the hotel worked very well, the gym I used was well equipped and the massages we had were good.

Overall it was okay, some parts of the hotel seemed nice and a few other bits could be improved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevehale41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRAWLEY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very very disappointing hotel, first impression not good, the hotel grounds were neglected, no grass cut, weeds, broken loungers. Inside the hotel downstairs toilet dirty, shabby, and toilet seat broken, and lounge furniture dirty and stained. Room allocated very small, had no telephone, no shaving socket, no details of facilities available at the hotel, and no-where to store luggage. Wardrobe very small contained ironing board, which had to be removed into the room to hang clothing. Only one seat/chair provided – no room for any more !!! On speaking to reception told that there was no other room available and they were unable to provide plug to enable shaving. Asked to book for dinner but told that as we hadn’t paid beforehand this was unavailable !! Dining room half empty. Next day had to request toilet tissue and mentioned dissatisfaction with the room and another room allocated, which was larger and had a telephone to enable room service if required. However, this room only had a sheet and blanket on the bed, and as paperwork in the room mentioned what charges could be made for missing items on departure, we called reception to highlight the fact that there was no bedcover/bedspread as in the previous room. The receptionist who answered the telephone said that someone would attend to the matter…no-one did. Awful night with insufficient bedding so next day requested an additional blanket. On return to our room late in the afternoon the room had not been serviced so went to reception, who apologised but didn’t service the room, but did provide the additional blanket. On last day decided to have lunch in the hotel, as breakfast food had been good, but an enormous delay in food arriving….due to insufficient staff available to attend to the demands being made on them. When food eventually arrived one of the dishes was very very poor and hadn’t been completed, which meant by the time the correct dish arrived, still incomplete, one of us had eaten out food !!! A very very disappointing holiday, and we would certainly not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlight1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing