We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hallmark Hotel. Firstly, I am grateful that they were able to change our booking at short notice and also want to say thank you for the cake which was in the room which I'd requested as it was my partner's birthday!

The room was lovely and warm and a decent size. It was very clean although the bathroom needs a bit of work doing to it.

We ate at the restaurant on the first night and we really enjoyed the food. The waitress was full of enthusiasm but kept getting things wrong. We didn't mind this though because she was lovely and very apologetic. We found it quite entertaining!! She did work hard though!!

We made full use of the spa. Yes the changing rooms do need updating and perhaps extending but we really enjoyed it. I've never been in an aromatherapy cave before - it was delightful!

Just a minor complaint: We had booked an Executive Suite which should have included bath robes and water. Neither of this were provided even when we asked!

Overall, we would definitely return to the Hallmark Hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lou033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the constructive and well balanced review, it is always useful to learn where we have erred as well as where we need to improve. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    420
    445
    270
    251
See reviews for
225
838
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night when seeing a show at the BIC recently. Only a ten minute walk to the venue or the centre, so it's not a bad spot. Decent amount of parking, free wifi, good breakfast and really friendly staff are all bonuses. We were in room 60 which was very warm. Room was modern and a very good size and bathroom was large. Couldn't find a bin in our room and went to use the little pedal bin in the bathroom, and the lid fell off with an enormous clang to reveal the previous guests' waste - lovely! Good shower over the bath, but shower curtain is too short, so water escapes. It's also one of those horrible, clingy white curtains that sticks to you in the shower - yuk. Bed was a bit springy and it was odd in the UK to just have a sheet and blanket. The walls were incredibly thin and guests walking down the corridor and shutting doors seemed very loud. Overall, good value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay, we apologise for the poor cleanliness that you encountered in your room, this certainly is not our usual feedback, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had stayed at the Hallmark Hotel in Gloucester before and used that as our benchmark to book the Hallmark Hotel in Bournemouth.

We arrived or a one night stay on Thursday 24th October. We were allocated room 30 (I note a previous guest recently left a review for this room too). The room itself was very hot and stuffy, even without the radiators on and with the windows open.

The bedroom itself was fine, good amenities tea and coffee making facilities but not water. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very tired, marks and stains in the bath around the overflow spout and the taps down to the plug hole. The top half of the frosted bathroom window also seemed to be covered in what I can imagine was bird poop.

We went and used the gym which was fine and the staff were very helpful. We then used the spa which again was very tired. The floor of the spa pool itself seemed not to have been cleaned for a while, a little gritty. The female changing rooms were really quite bad with only 1 shower facility, very poor pressure, hair in the plug hole and mildewy/mouldy seals. The changing cubical was no better with a lock that didn't work.

I was also surprised that that the gym and main pool was open until about 9:30pm but the separate spa area (Jacuzzi/steam room etc) closed at 7:30. It was odd that the two areas are separate, having to walk through the hotel lobby sweaty from the gym to go to the spa area.

The restaurant was the saving grace for the hotel along with the staff. The restaurant looked great, the food was great and the waitress was very cheery and helpful.

However, on visiting the toilets after dinner it was apparent that they weren't regularly cleaned, toilet tissue sprawling over the floor of one cubical and what seemed to be a blocked toilet.

When we checked out we weren't asked if we'd had a nice stay or if everything was OK with our stay, which you normally guest asked. I wonder if the staff have stopped asking.

Luckily we had the room on a 'half price' deal. I would have been very unhappy with our stay if I was paying full price.

In summary, definitely not a patch on the Hallmark Gloucester (albeit it's been refurbished recently so will have an advantage) and I don't think I would stay at the Hallmark Bournemouth again.

Also on a really minor note, when we checked in we were given two scrappy bits of paper offering deals for Breakfast and one for Dinner. These were little scrappy bits of paper (sort of credit card size) not even neatly cut up or on nice paper - it really didn't give a very professional image of the hotel.

Sorry for the negative review Hallmark but this hotel is in definite need of some TLC.

Room Tip: Avoid room 30, not sure if the other rooms are as tired or as hot. Room 30 has no view, well unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we will certainly bear your feedback in mind for the future. All areas of the hotel are cleaned daily and the toilets are cleaned / checked throughout the day, we apologise if they were not acceptable upon your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Bournemouth Hallmark hotel from the 15th to 17th October this year. First impressions were favourable with a large reception area and pleasant looking dining area. We were in room 53 which was just about adequate in size, but with only a very small wardrobe for hanging clothes. The room had a large flat screen tv although there was a problem with getting some of the Freeview channels as the screen kept informing us the digital signal was weak. The room was well decorated and the bed was comfortable. Like all hotels the room was very warm even though the only heating was from the towel rail in the bathroom. We had to have the ceiling fan on all night and the windows open. The desk lamp didn’t work and although we informed reception it still wasn’t working when we left. The bathroom had been nicely refurbished and was tiled throughout but we did wonder why they hadn’t completed the job and replaced the old bath.

The breakfast the first morning was disappointing. It was self-service which we like and the cereals and fruit were very good. However the cooked food was only luke warm, as was the coffee. Cooked items which had run out were not replenished very efficiently - my wife gave up waiting for the promised eggs and had eaten the rest of her food before they eventually appeared. Apart from cut bread for toasting there was only brown crusty bread.

But what a transformation on the second morning! The cooked breakfast was hot and plentiful and the coffee (with a choice of latte, cappuccino, etc.) was served by a waiter. It was a vast improvement on the previous day at around the same time – but why the difference?

The pool and spa areas were good and we took full advantage of them, but they appear to have a club membership policy so it wasn’t just guests using the facilities. One minor problem we noted on our middle day when it was raining heavily – there was water dripping from a light fitting in one of the corridors.

The lounge area adjoining the dining room and bar is comfortable but relatively small with views into the swimming pool. Not designed for relaxing during the evening.

Our general impression was that this hotel is set up for business travellers staying one or two nights, along with conferences and seminars, and as I have stayed in many hotels on a similar basis, I found it perfectly adequate. But neither of us would want to stay for longer, particularly because of the room size and lack of hanging space.

When reviewing this hotel it has been difficult to choose a rating. In most instances we would have chosen 'good' had it been possible - 'average' doesn't seem enough but 'very good' was probably a bit too high!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the balanced review, it is great to get well thought out and realistic feedback that we can act upon. We hope you will still consider using us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were staying with the Central Southern Classic Flying Club for their Annual Prize Presentation and Dinner. The room, facilities, Breakfast were excellent and I would have given a better rating but the food that we received for this dinner was to say the least very basic. The soup was very nice. The Prawn Cocktail sprawled all over a plate contained approximately 3 prawns and a load of mush! The main course was Chicken Wellington on Roasted Vegetables. This consisted of a Chicken Breast coated in some pureed Mushrooms and wrapped in soggy Puff Pastry, with Carrots and a couple of Parsnip sticks, no other vegetables! Sticky Toffee Pudding cut in squares from a large tin and floating in Caramel Sauce. Not a very imaginative Chef. Presentation nil!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChefJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like the presentation of the evening meal for you party, thank you for highlighting this so we can focus on this for the future. It is good to learn that all other aspects were to your expectation, thank you for your balanced review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

lovely, friendly staff. our room,(30) was clean enough but was very hot and stuffy, even having the windows opened made no difference.we were at the hotel for dinner and it was lovely. breakfast was fab!!!

Room Tip: don't have room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onceuponatime48274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is great to learn that you enjoyed most aspects of you visit and I look forward to seeing you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel through lastminute.com for last weekend. After a long journey we arrived at the hotel to be told that we only had 1 night booked not 2. We had specifically booked 2 nights as when we looked at the prices we found we could book 2 nights for the price of 1 night in London where we had been looking to go originally. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for the second night so we couldn't even pay more and complete our stay as planned. We phoned lastminute.com who were very unhelpful and didn't even offer to help us find alternative accommodation for our second night. We decided not to let it ruin our, now one night stay, and headed down to the lovely spa area in the Hallmark. We were greeted by Matt in the Spa and after telling him of our experience, he went out of his way to find us alternative accommodation for our second night. He was superb and after contacting 7 other hotels he found us somewhere else to stay. He really is a credit to this hotel, his customer service skills and his polite, friendly, helpful attitude are outstanding. Upon checking out on the Saturday to go to the hotel Matt had found us, the Hallmark kindly said that we could go back at any time that day and continue to us their Spa as the hotel we were going to didn't have one. This was a nice touch and we happily enjoyed a relaxing afternoon there. Matt again went out of his way to come over to us and make sure that we had checked in and settled well in the new hotel. We will definitely return to the Hallmark again for a 2 night stay but will never use lastminute.com again. Thanks Matt for all you did, it is appreciated and we will get you that beer next time!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_OCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It is great to learn that we helped you with your problem, it is a shame we could not have kept you with us for the whole of your visit and I hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing