We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, very friendly & helpful staff, lovely dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than expected, very friendly & helpful staff, lovely dinner”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked an all inclusive stay with dinner, bed & breakfast & spa treatment through a 3rd party agency. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (the Night Porter was brilliant at breakfast, a real star as we had to get an early breakfast on the Sunday and he was so helpful). I read the reviews before I arrived and was of mixed opinion prior to arrival, there were elements of hilarity as the shower had very low power and the bath took 1hr to fill up but not enough to warrant a bad review at all, the room we had wasn't big but it was adequate for our needs and had everything we needed - iron & board, coffee/tea facilities, TV & wifi was excellent. One thing I would say is the en-suite didn't have a door on it, had this been the early days of my relationship I would have freaked at that lack of privacy! The weather was amazing over the weekend and yes the room got warm but we opened the window and just slept with a sheet. We had dinner which was of excellent quality and a good standard, the service was brilliant and good atmosphere in the bar/restaurant area. Our spa treatment was lovely (both had a Swedish Massage) and all in all we felt we had a great stay and you really do get what you pay for and we felt our stay was more than value for money. The lift wasn't working which was a pain especially as my partner had just ran the marathon and we were on the 3rd floor, so pretty uncomfortable for him especially the day after! Car parking - we did get a space but had to park out on the road for an hour or so until one became free (the surrounding area felt safe and not an issue leaving car outwith hotel car park). The spa was good, as were the facilities, however people are inconsiderate as there were lots of towels just dumped around which made it look untidy - but this is down to people being lazy & not putting towels in the bin provided or disposing of water cups. Great location for shops/promenade/beach (all easy walking distance) and all in all I would recommend to anyone wanting a good stay and if you get the deal we did is excellent value for money. We felt the staff tried hard to make your stay enjoyable, they all seemed to work extremely hard & were always very friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, the lift wasn't working so it was a haul getting up and down with bagg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your well balanced and constructive review. It is very helpful to receive feedback that is realistic and highlights where we have exceeded expectations as well as where we might need to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    429
    450
    273
    253
See reviews for
230
851
45
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I regularly visit the Hallmark for business meetings and training. The staff are welcoming and the rooms we use for trainings are always clean and in good order.
The only thing I am not keen on is the prices for food and drink - they are far to expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for the generous review, it is always a pleasure looking after your groups and we are pleased that you enjoy your visits. If there is anything different that we can do for you in regards food and drink, let us know and we will try to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraland, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I can not say enough about the staff from the front desk, to the waiters, to the cleaning staff. It was more like staying as a guest in someone's home instead of the guest at a hotel. The pools were a nice treat. If you stay using the inclusive package, know that there is a standard Hallmark menu but there is also a chef's special every night. They provide a variety of food, beef, seafood, chicken and pork. Desserts were delicious every night. We did learn that when traveling away from the southern states of America, always ask if there is air conditioning. We did have great weather and the fan provided was sufficient for comfort. We meet several lovely people and hope to see them again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you during your recent visit and we sincerely hope that you will be back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

must admit was a little worried after reading some of the reviews but we needn't of worried. The room was lovely no complaints what so ever. The only niggle was that the lift wasn't working all weekend and we were on 3rd floor. Normal problem with big hotels people letting their door slam late at night and early in the morning What is the matter with these people. We didn't eat at hotel for breakfast as wetherspoons near buy and good cheap breakfast there. Drinks in hotel a bit steep but you expect that with a hotel so we ate and drank outside hotel as very good choice. As for the spa treatments and pool we cant comment as we didn't use them but the hotel and staff were excellent and i wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenjacket65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the helpful and constructive feedback, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just got home after a two night break here which we enjoyed very much. We found all staff friendly, polite and very helpful. We stayed on a b&b basis, the breakfast was buffet style, if you can't find anything you like there is definitely something wrong, we found there was plenty of choice and the hot food was nice and hot. Although we didn't have any treatments the spa was ideal for us after a long walk, very relaxing and variety, sauna, steam room, pool, Jacuzzi, aromatherapy room and relaxation room. The only down side was the lift was not working the whole time we were here, the stairs are pretty steep and the drinks both soft and alcoholic we thought were expensive, £6.90 for 2 coffees (it was very nice coffee). Ending on a positive note, the hotel is conveniently placed, we had a good stay and have come home pretty chilled. Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had booked a weekend ( Fri night and Sat night ) and were given the rates of £116 and £151 respectively for Bed and Breakfast. This was considered on the high side, but not unreasonable as they were very busy. The Staff are extremely hard working and very helpful indeed, however the quality of rooms certainly on the third floor are not what we expect to see for this kind of money. Bathroom sealant showing signs of mildew, particularly around the bath, an old shower head fitting that was worn and unable to be maintained in position providing pin-sharp broad showering whether you liked it or not! Overall room size just about okay. The one thing that did not contribute to the stay was the single lift, which had broken down and apparently was not maintainable over the weekend? This was particularly troublesome for guests taking their luggage up, as well as for older guests, some of whom had limited mobility. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and last year certainly feels like it was better value. Had this Hotel been advertised as a 3 star, with prices perhaps 30% lower I doubt we would feel the need to mention it. We are aware that room rates will fluctuate considerably, however this experience did not seem to merit the cost.

Room Tip: Please try and avoid the older un-renovated rooms. Room 204 for example, has been updated and looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our rates do vary according to business levels. Unfortunately our lift broke down during your visit, this is of course not how we would like our to present itself and we are working to address this unplanned issue, we apologise that this in any way marred your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed for one night in September and the hotel was fine! Was easy to find and had plenty of parking on site. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself was average, in terms of decor. The lift was a bit old fashioned but worked. My room was at the end of a corridor next to a fire exit. Decor was fine, bathroom was fine, tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

I would stay here again, and can honestly say, there are much worse in this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us this balanced and realistic feedback. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing