We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for several years and I find it to be clean and nicely decorated. We always have a pleasant stay. There have been problems recently with electricity powercuts and I agree that the staff should inform residents upon booking that they may encounter a problem. The comments that I do disagree with is to avoid this hotel. For what we paid (which was one of the deals) we found it to be very good value. We have stayed at other 4 star hotels in the area which were superior, but that was reflected in the price, - far more than double in fact. Hotels are struggling to survive and so I feel if I am paying as little as £52 for a double room with breakfast for two - then I do not expect the Ritz. As long as it is clean, staff friendly, food very good and a jacuzzi, swim and steam room, - then I think I have been given good value for money. I did have a problem with my bill (due to the computers going down with the powercut) and I was upset, - however this has now been resolved. The staff have been dealing with people being rude and angry with them (complaints justified, but why the need to be aggresive?) Hallmark, - I will be visiting again for sure, but please get the electricity sorted and then everyone will be happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    419
    445
    270
    252
See reviews for
225
838
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay here using a Groupon deal .
Heating was not working and although there was a plug in electric heater in the bedroom the bathroom was absolutely freezing. Tried phoning reception several times but there was no answer. Went down and was told there was a problem with the heating. Also digital signal on TV very poor so couldn't even watch TV. Was told they were fixing this.
The spa was very disappointing , very small and dark and gloomy. The ladies changing room is tiny and resembles a corridor.
The bedroom was ok and the bar and restaurant area pleasant enough. Did not eat in restaurant as was too cold. Breakfast choices good but food not very hot.
On a plus side the hotel is well situated for an easy walk to the beach and in to town.
Definitely not a 4 star hotel and will not be returning.
Have never written a review before but having had such a poor experience in this hotel I felt compelled to write one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenG884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Receptionists was unable to address simple questions and fixated on checking in despite our confusion over bookings. Internet and phone all had suggested different prices in seeking clarification the receptionist just repeated basic information and old us she didn't understand. It was only when we got to our rooms we realised there was no heating. On calling reception we were told there were fan heaters for rooms as there was a temporary problem. Why this was not mentioned before checking in is the most annoying part. No long after this the electricity cut out. W had travelled far for this and accepted a room change and again the electricity cut out. At this point we left. Although some of the staff that had been drafted in in the mean time were very helpful the receptionist continued to check in customers without explain the hotel's problems. She was robotic and moronic.

Room Tip: Go large, avoid upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A 50th birthday treat and it was a complete nightmare. The room smelt of paint we went to the bar for a drink and it was freezing so we asked for a little heater to be switched on it diidnt happen. Back to room to warm up and no heating, with no answer from reception we went down and complained we where told there was a problem they had been trying to sort for two months and we where given two heaters one with an extension into the bathroom OMG health and safety and no PAT stickers. Down to dinner they didnt have the wine we wanted we chose another it took half an hour to arrive at the freezing cold table it was plonked down unopened 4 star I dont think so then we ordered the first course arrived then the lights went out no manager to explain what was happening until we went and got him we were given some free drinks and some dry sandwiches. The lights came back on we went to bed had breakfast and had to battle with the receptionist to get some discount which had been promised the night before. Although the staff tried to help it was terrible and there is no way I will be using that hotel group again

Room Tip: Book one with no recent decorating smells and working heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staff helpful and friendly. Executive room was clean and well furnished, quiet as situated at the back of the hotel away from Reception. Spa experience was good.
Dinner in the braserie was excellent. Breakfast could have been hotter.
Overall we had an enjoyable two night weekend break. Hotel in walking distance to sea and shops and attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bearing in mind this hotel has been having power cuts for up two months no one informed us of this when we made our booking last week. The power and heating cut out for most of our evening and this left us without hot meals in a cold restaurant. The staff did their best and offered complimentary drinks but senior management need to get on top of this problem NOW- we were freezing and ended up just going to bed early. So much for a relaxing break away!! We d.id make some new friends however think it was war time spirit

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Arrived at this hotel at 1pm after traveling from 5am. Was informed by the unfriendly and curt hotel receptionist that the check in time was 2pm. I politely asked her to look to see if a room was available but she refused and again informed me that the check-in time was 2pm (which I had not forgotten since she told me that 10 seconds before). Zero effort, curt and very unfriendly. Costumer focus= zero points.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing