We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Nearby Hotels
$108
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$155
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$118
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$159
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$100
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveler rating
490
531
497
304
282
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
531
497
304
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakwest cliffa lovely stayself serviceleisure facilitiesshort breaktown centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night to attend a party. The room was a double at a special rate of £70.00. There was no heating in our room , and the water was cold so couldn't have a shower, my husband had a cold one! Most of the other party guests were in the same position, the only explanation for the problems was " the boiler is a bit temperamental at times but its going to be fixed soon". The dining room/ conservatory was freezing and although breakfast was good, the plates were cold and with the cold atmosphere the food went cold very quickly. All in all a very disappointing stay. The only saving grace was that our host negotiated a new price of £35.00 per room for all the party guests because of th heating & hot water problems. Would recommend guests who experience the same problems ask for a reduced rate. Won't be staying again! There is a very good Premier Inn quite close which we use in future.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank TheSomersetGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed on a dbb rate on Friday and Saturday night. We ate in the restaurant on Friday night. The hotel was quiet and we had a delicious meal. The staff were efficient and friendly and the service was very good. The waiting team could actually serve and clear tables properly, which is quite rare these days. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. We stayed in a suite. The room was huge! With ample heating and modern decor. It was really comfortable. On Saturday we used the spa. The beauticians were very friendly and helpful. Yes the treatment area is small, but im not sure why this would be a problem. The only downside was that you had to walk through the very wet poolside to get there. It was a shame that there wasn't 2 entrances. We had a lovely day, but sadly the evening meal broke into chaos! The hotel was packed for dinner and it appeared that neither front of house or the kitchen could cope. Everything fell apart. It took over two hours to get to our main course after chasing twice, and when it arrived we couldnt eat it, so we gave up. To be fair the hotel offered us alternative food and drinks but it was simply too late to eat by then. It is such a shame as clearly something went very wrong. The staff on reception were very friendly and they recognised the problems we had. I would imagine that either the hotel was very short staffed in the kitchens or front of house was missing management. This is a lovely hotel, just such a shame that it wasnt consistent. It was by far the most modern hotel i have been in in Bournemouth, but you need great food and service every night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifestooshortnottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My Girlfriend and I decided that we would treat ourselves to a nice weekend in a Spa Hotel. Apart from the Lovely Dinner that we had, (which we payed for) everything else was frankly terrible. We stayed from the 8th until the 9th of Feb in Room 27.

When we arrived we were vaguely told where everything was in the hotel, but I also had the feeling that we were being treated like children. Me and my Girlfriend are 19 and 20 but we were still paying for full accommodation and I had the feeling that the Hotel was being Ageist, which is offensive and against the law.

The Rooms looked good and I liked the Decor, but one thing that I did notice was that it was freezing in the room, which resulted in a worsening in the cold I have. The walls were very thin and our Neighbors were very loud at night and we could hear every word they said. I noticed that the bathroom lacked certain things like a toilet brush. There was also a bit of Mold on the ceiling. Other then these complaints the room was nice and up to standards, though it was still a bad experience.

The Spa was not worth talking about, spoiled straight off the bat by other residents making rude comments at my girlfriend outside the spa area in clear ear shot of the front desk. When in the Spa area we found that we were not told where anything was and how it worked and we were kind of half heatedly given a towel and sent on our way. The spa was not great from what we could see, as we did not do anything besides walk in the luke-warm warm-pool.

Breakfast was good, the staff was nice and the food was tasty.

Overall a bad experience not to be recommended, especially if you are a young couple as you will be treated like Children

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a spa weekend with 9 other ladies and I must say what a shambles, the hotel itself is ok, the rooms are nice, with the exception of the small deposit someone had left in our toilet !!, the beds are comfortable but there always seems to be a funny humming noise coming from somewhere or you can hear the people in the next room rolling over in bed :(.

Prior to our treatments we ordered a snack from the bar, firstly we were given a number of different menus, the waitress seemed to get light bar meals mixed up with a full 3 course meal, we did explain that we were going to the spa afterwards !! In the end with 9 duck salads, yes salads/wraps ordered we thought it was going to be a quick turn around there were no other guests eating, trust me we had lots of trips backwards and forwards to try to find out what was going on, 45-50mins later our food arrived, it was good and hot, but we still had to wait 45-50 mins for a salad/wrap which is not good !!.

I went to the spa for my treatment which was amazing I think the lady was called louise ???, she was fab and the overall experience was nice, I was one of the lucky ones in our group that had been given a robe. This was one of the other problems, we visited a spa and they had no robes !!! it was strange seeing people sat there in their own mixture of fluffy tatty teddy robes and bright pink leapord print ones, we are in a four star hotel and we have to bring our own robes from home. The changing room was awful the floor was covered in wet towels and is so small if you had slipped on the towels you would have had to grab onto the nearest person or you could have seriously hurt yourself. I did speak to a guy in the spa called Tommy who was very rude, he had catergorically told me, yes "catergorically" that he had put robes in 3 or our rooms (this means at least 6 or us would have had robes) and had given someone else another 4, (making 10), well I am sorry Tommy you were wrong in total we had 5 robes in a four star spa for 10 people !!!! There were alot of upset people there that day who did'nt have robes, and one of our party got into an argument with another guest because she had a robe and he did'nt, I mean come on, some bloke having a go at you in the corridoor, what type of people are coming to this place ???? To top it off the only toilet in the spa got blocked very quickly so if you had no robe you had to come out of the spa in your wet costume, walk through the reception to get to the other toilet or go up to your room, for those of us who are slightly body consious this is'nt ideal.


In the end a number of people complained to the duty manager, who was awful, he was so overwhelmed by the whole thing both he and the girl behind the counter were just looking at one another and at one point laughing, nervously mind . In the end the operatins manager came out and tried to resolve the issues and fair play to him, Kevin you did ok, he found some more robes, not enough for the whole group but he found some, he provided us with some complimentary drinks which were lovely and made by Luke the new bar guy, who to say had only been there 3 days he was brilliant. We still ahd to wait 40 mins for our food again the food was good but not worth the wait sadly. The following day checking out was a nightmare you were either charged twice for your room, you had extra treatments added to your bill, if you book a weekend package make sure they don't try to charge you for your food seperatley, every trick in the book they tried so be on the look out, check your bill !!!! Oh and Kevin the free drinks you said we could have, reception tried to charge us for them tut tut tut.

Overall this was a sad weekend, the hotel is nice, a bit tired in some parts but not too bad, the food is good but not worth shouting about, the spa, ok again a bit tired looking and the staff need to learn some customer service. I would'nt stay here again, maybe for one night if you are only going there to sleep, but as for everything else the hotel has no atmospher the staff, (most of them are rude and make you feel like its a chore to serve you) the breakfast is cold, mainly because you have to wait for them to top up the food only for them to tell you 10 mins later they have run out :(. I would'nt bother going here for a weekend break because it will just ruin it, you will end up getting into so many arguments with different managers and staff over trivial things you will just want to pack your bags and go home. You can either believe the reviews or go anyway and see for yourself but you may well be here on monday morning writing your own review.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nic1977_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have just had a two night stay in the Hallmark midweek, 6th and 7th February. We stay several times a year here in order to visit an elderly relative. We've always found the reception staff very helpful and cheerful as are all the team. The indoor pool, lounge area and restaurant are all adjacent thus making a pleasant open area with a buzz of people always around. Location is good both for the beautiful beach and the amenities in the town, being very well placed in a leafy area of Bournemouth. The hotel could do with a bit of updating, especially the stair carpeting. Our room has always been very clean. We always eat at the hotel and enjoy a drink at the bar. Isabella on the bar is a very cheerful presence. The chef makes delicious biscuits though it would be nice to see an update in the menu.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and shape. The top floor rooms get very hot in summer. But you can ask at reception for a fan.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews