We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise birthday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband took me to the Hallmark as a surprise for my birthday, there was balloons and a card on the bed from the hotel, most staff knew it was my birthday and where wishing me a happy birthday. The resturant manager was lovely she really looked after us, the chief wrote happy birthday on my dessert plate in chocolate and we where give a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. Resturant food was good hot and tasty, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola_goble100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,587 - 1,593 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

5 days at the hotel with very helpful reception staff,especialy Rafael. Need fan as rooms do get hot but are provided.Breakfast very good .Swimming pool unfortunatly at times full of children,made worse by an instuctor giving swimming lessons at the top of his voice.Needs more organisation in the dining room.great location for shops,bars would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors but ask for a fan.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked a couple of nights here with wife n 2mnth old. Room and cot etc was adequate. Wife loved the indoor pool and said the spa looked good too but no time with an infant to go.
Service in restaurant needs retraining as very disorganised staff not knowing what to do when. First night we were there they had a meltdown at dinner with people waiting over an hour for dinner. Adults can wait but kids can't. We weren't worried as just went out with the pushchair n found something else. Second night we chanced our luck and it was ok.

Stay again? Maybe based on good location but wouldn't rush for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimandElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a three night stay just to relax and unwind. Very friendly and helpful staff especially reception who helped us move rooms after the first night which was noisy. Rooms and all facilities very clean, lift a little scary due to its age but useful to get to the 3rd floor. Meals and Tapas very good in the restaurant. Great location being 10 minutes walk to town centre past shops and restaurants on the way and 10 minutes walk in opposite direction to the beach. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: rooms at the back overlook the airconditioning units and can be noisy
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirelass0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very clean hotel, staff friendly and very pleasant weekend. Myself and my partner had two treatments each and they were done in the most professional way possible and very attentive to our needs. Great location, many bars around and the beach is a 10 minute walk. The pool inside the hotel was very clean and the outside areas were all well kept. Will be visiting again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for a Hen weekend recently, yes I agree as mentioned in the other reviews some of the rooms do need to be updated e.g. in the outside pool changing rooms - there are grouting issues in the showers!! The staff were extremely friendly in the restaurant and anyone staying at the hotel must try the restaurant food. A few favourite dishes within the party were the mussels, duck salad and chicken & mushroom skillet. Regarding the Spa - there were no bathrobes & slippers available when we first checked in & had to wait 24 hours to be given them - a bit of a disappointment bearing in mind we were on a 'SPA Weekend'. There was meant to be an 'Ice room' but couldn't find this.
Bedroom - I shared a twin with a friend, it was room 26. It was comfortable but the view was yet to be desired, we looked out onto a roof top of another building. The major problem was there was no air con just a ceiling fan in the room & the weather was boiling hot outside. Despite the windows in the room being left open for the whole stay, it felt like being in a bread oven - great warmth for in the winter !! Might stay here again in the future, only might, as I have experienced other better Spa Hotels.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant hotel and if visiting for a Spa day contact them beforehand to reserve bath ro...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJ1_11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Hallmark hotel and found the rooms and spa scruffy and in need of updating, the room had a noisy ceiling fan and a threadbare carpet.
The restaurant staff were friendly but couldn't put a stop to the Christmas music being played in August. The reception staff however appear incompetent.
All in all not a great experience and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Not 33 you are woken very early with the recycling being put out as the room is above the bins.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houldsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $64 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing