We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Hallmark hotel and found the rooms and spa scruffy and in need of updating, the room had a noisy ceiling fan and a threadbare carpet.
The restaurant staff were friendly but couldn't put a stop to the Christmas music being played in August. The reception staff however appear incompetent.
All in all not a great experience and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Not 33 you are woken very early with the recycling being put out as the room is above the bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houldsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    419
    445
    270
    252
See reviews for
225
838
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hallmark hotel for one night. My room was fine and the personal very nice.
However the WIFI was not working (I was very disappointed), the fire alarm ringed at 6am without reason and my room was close to the very noisy airconditionning system that is outdoor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at The Hallmark in Bournemouth after getting married for a couple of days rest - had a great time!!

Booked a special Romantic package and the Hotel staff really made us feel very welcome and knew it was a special occasion.

We were greeted with various romantic touches including chocolates on the bed and rose petals.

The +/- of the hotel for us were:

+Location – fantastic, just a short walk into town or the sandy beach

+staff – all very friendly and willing to help

+Food – very good overall. 3 course dinner meal was very tasty and kitchen made a real effort by writing ‘congratulations’ on one of our desserts. Breakfast was a highlight – full buffet selection but being able to order whatever fresh coffee you wanted and fresh hot pastries was a real bonus (would be great if all hotels did this!!)

+/- Gym & Spa – Gym is small and quite basic but enough equipment for a decent workout. Downstairs spa has good facilities (Steam, sauna etc) but a bit small if busy with guests.

-No air conditioning, made rooms a bit warm but fans provided upon request.

-pets – saw a couple of small dogs in the hotel. Depends on your view but I prefer not to have animals where I stay…

All in all, a decent hotel which has been renovated to a good standard by Hallmark – would go back again on a special package.

Room Tip: Best to be upstairs in the summer as rooms don't have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went to Hallmark Bournemouth to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We were there just for one night but we had a really good stay. We had chosen the place because it had spa facilities, and we both had a treatment in the treatment rooms there. Food was good, and we liked the staff there. The waitresses were all friendly and seemed happy to work there. What was really special was when one of the waitresses learnt that it was our anniversary, so when we declined to see the dessert menu because we were both stuffed, she quietly went away and came back with a thing that the chef had just made for us: 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate, with 3 ladybirds made from strawberries :o) Our room was a bit on the warm side (it was the middle of August), but after telling Reception just after midnight, a man turned up shortly afterwards with a huge fan, and then we were fine. We'd be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon and Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would highly recommend the Hallmark. We've stayed there in past years when it was the Durley Hall Hotel. The reservations team (I dealt with Bonnie) were great - they gave me several choices and the price fitted my budget perfectly. All the front of house staff were very helpful, polite and knowledgeable and even offered to book a restaurant for us. The family room was huge with adequate facilities and decent sized bathroom. Even the wedding party on the Saturday evening didn't affect us in any way. We arrived well ahead of our check in time, and were welcomed and offered the hotel's facilities. All in all, great value, excellent customer care - I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth. Thank you Hallmark!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This first time we stayed here we liked the hotel but wrote and complained to the manager about the icecream which I had for dessert after dinner,which we took on the first night. I know it sounds funny,but its the only dessert I ever eat and am very picky about it.As we had got a special pricematch offer,we didnt expect anymore than a form letter apology and it was more of a comment than a serious complaint.We were surprised.....We received a reply from Helen Hall, the manager herself apologising and taking it quite seriously.To cut a long story short,she promised that if we ever stayed again,the problem would be resolved and gave us a special offer for next time.
We actually called her back and took her up on her offer and brought our 10 year old godson with us as he has asthma and the sea air is good for it.
We stayed for 2 nights from July 7th and when we arrived we were given a very nice large ground floor room with a balcony overlooking the outside seating area and the pool.They had put a single bed in for our godson. The room was very fresh and spotlessly clean with plenty of room and we loved the balcony.We booked dinner for our first night and really enjoyed it,surprisingly,the childrens menu portions are quite big and our grandson couldent finish it,and this time,the icecream was gorgeous! The staff there are very attentive and friendly and despite it being very busy for dinner,just a turn of the head had a waitress asking us if all was ok.We thoroughly enjoyed dinner and a bottle of wine and the prices are very reasonable and much better than a lot of "special offer"hotels weve stayed in where they hike up the food and drink prices to make up for the "deal" Breakfast was a full english buffet with plently of everything all hot and delicious and they will also make to order if you require.Again very busy,but still smiling staff and quick service.
The Hallmark is within walking distance of the beach so we took a leisurly stroll to the seafront after breakfast but the weather was bad so we went into town a did a little shopping then back to the hotel later for dinner which again,was very nice.Next day we drove to nearby Christchurch and Mudeford where our godson absolutely loved the crab catching on the harbour...great fun! Then back to the hotel for a swim at their heated pool.All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hallmark and wouldent hesitate to go back again. Its ideal for a lazy break at their healthclub and spa or a busy see everything in the area trip..or maybe both!
They have a "best price guarantee" so any deals you see elsewhere they will match if you book direct with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgravia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helly200, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback, I am only sorry we didn't get it quite right the first time but thank you for giving us a chance to put things right. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 17th July and were given our executive room when we went into the room the shower was broken and the window lock was broke and wouldn't shut properly, also we had two single beds put together and zipped up, hense our visit back down to the reception, we were then given another key and we said that we would look at the room before accepting, this time the bathroom door was broke and wouldn't shut and the bed was old and squeeked, Again not impressed we went back down to the reception this time the recetionist called her manager and asked permission for us to use room 200 when we got to the room WOW it was newly refurbished and was wonderful it was missing the robs and slippers and bottled water but this was given to us after we asked for them. The hotel was nice the spa was great and it was in walking distance of the town. We didn't eat in the resturant bit pricey but breakfast was fantastic. Their was ample parking. The only thing too watch out for is that reception ask you to pre-pay £25 a night on a card for any extras you put onto your room this is not put on the website when we booked not happy but we checked out latest statement and it wasn't charged. Overall after the initial problems we had a great stay in a fabulous room.

Room Tip: ask for room 200+ newly refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helly200, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor, I am sorry that the first room you had was not properly checked. However I am pleased you enjoyed room 200 which is one of our newest rooms.

We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing