We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for location”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. We weren't bowled away by the hotel, it was very dated and our room looked over the carpark, but the location and weather was great so we didn't stay in that much. I think the price you pay is definitely because of the fantastic location and not for the hotel itself. Clean rooms, nice breakfast but nothing out of this world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 659 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

On the whole this a good clean well positioned hotel. The pool was spotless and well maintained. Our 1st night was in room 314 which we only had for one night and then had to move to room 112 ( both on the front of the hotel ). Room 314 is probably one of the best located overlooking the sea. Room 112 had a better walk in shower, the only problem was the noise from the road and was very hot as the windows only open 6 inches and no fan provided. Saying that I am sure if I got up in the early hours and went to reception there would have been one provided. The breakfast is very generous and quick service. Also the car park is very safe. On the whole a good stay and would return.

Room Tip: Room 314 for a family is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianmeadows186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel for many years,
On arrival the staff are always welcoming and helpful.
We were able to book two nights stay at very short notice iand found the hotel at its usual high standard ie very clean rooms and bathroom , a varied menu and staff very attentive to all your needs.

Room Tip: Room 101 very noisy as at front of hotel on the road,but fine just to put your head down fot thr nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are very regular visitors and see no reason to look elsewhere.
We have just spent a very pleasant 5 nights at the hotel and have commented a few times before.
It remains very clean and smart with really pleasant staff. The meals have been consistently excellent and Edit, our waitress during our stay was delightful and very efficient.
If you don't fancy the walk up the hill, catch the 50 bus from the city centre which stops right outside the hotel. The large car park is a bonus and I can always find a space.
We booked to return in September while we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were accommodated here in a family room, at very short notice, after an unpleasant night in a local hotel. The manager and staff at the Collingwood could not have been more helpful and welcoming and the room they offered was beautiful. The facilities, swimming pool, sauna etc were a bonus, particularly for my son who was in a dance comp that weekend, and the food and standard of care/cleanliness was faultless. The large free carpark was the icing on the cake. Thank you so much Hotel Collingwood for rescuing us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Looked at half a dozen other hotels before this one, all a bit grotty. We got a good walk in rate for bed, breakfast and dinner, which was a four course meal, plus coffee and chocolate. Good choices on the menu which changes daily. Clean, comfortable room, and a bathroom with a bath which I appreciated. A good breakfast and at last a hotel that gives you something different for breakfast. I became heartily sick of the ingredients of a full english breakfast after staying in a few different hotels. The young people who serve you are polite and helpful. Family type entertainment in the evening, with some dancing. More suitable for mature guests, many of which return again and again. Would recommend staying here if in Bournmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

lovely hotel only a three star but so much better than last year food staff and hotel are first class nice indoor swimming pool rooms newly decorated and new bathrooms very ease to walk into bournemouth more quiter at the back of hotel very warm in bedrooms but we did have a heat wave hotel did give you a elec fan

Room Tip: rooms on back of hotel are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank del52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $79 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing