We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Brilliant, wonderful hotel. The staff are exceptional nothing is to much trouble for them they are obviously happy in their jobs and it shows they are a credit to the management team. The hotel has everything you could want, the food is excellent, the rooms are clean, bright and big. Swimming pool, gym all there. I fully recommend going to the Hotel Collingwood you will not be disappointed. Well done to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a variety of rooms doubles, twins they all have plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    170
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
125
272
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best Foot Forward, a group of Ballroon/Latin Dancers have just spent an excellent weekend at the Collingwood Hotel. My 'Thanks' to the whole team at The Collingwood, who could not have been more helpful.
Everyone on the 'dancing weekend' expressed how great the weekend was, the Hotel, the rooms, the team, the food, the whole package. Thanks have been expressed to the Hotel for being so helpful, nothing was left to chance, everyone, from management to room service making sure we were happy.
I know the pool is small (responce to another comment) but just how many hotels have a pool, a pool that is clean and usable, I am a swimmer (entering Masters events) but still enjoyed a relaxing session in the pool.
My group of Dancers could not believe the Hotel was only a 3 Star
I can only say one word for my experience on my second visit 'Excellent'
I will be looking at booking another event next year for my group of Dancers.

Room Tip: The 'Superior Rooms' are worth the additional small payment, our one couple who had one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmorAJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a two night break at Hotel Collingwood. On arrival, was given a free upgrade from a Single to a Double Room - on the third floor at the front of the hotel. Room wasn't overly large but clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. Windows could have done with double glazing to keep the road noise out and the three steps down to the room from the lift, along with some floorboards, need replacing as they squeaked everytime someone stepped on them! Room was plenty warm enough with sufficient amounts of tea/coffee/milk. Bed was firm.

Food at breakfast and dinner was both plentiful and hot. Staff were attentive and professional.

Used the pool and jacuzzi - pool was a good temperature as was the jacuzzi but the jacuzzi didn't seem to want to be coaxed into working for longer than a minute.

Overall, very happy with my visit - if I need/want to visit Bournemouth again, I shall re-book.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived on Good Friday at 2pm, were quickly booked in for 3 days over Easter and given our key to room 304 on the 3rd floor. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were most helpful. We would use this hotel again but would ask for a larger room as ours billed as a double was approximately 10' square and the 4' 6" bed was too small for us. It did have a nice sized bathroom with shower and lashings of hot water, however there were a few negatives we felt and we'll list these accordingly. Don't forget this is a 3* AA listed hotel which cost £115 per night including breakfast. Room 304 is at the front of the hotel overlooking a very busy road which was noisy all night long. We would have preferred a room at the rear of the building. In the summer this room must be stifling hot as it is at the very top of the building. We had all the radiators turned off and still had to have the Velux windows open which only opened a few inches as there were security chains in place, so it was very warm. There was no airconditioning or fan. The tea and coffee basket had no decaffeinated coffee sachets and only one hot chocolate drink between two people. The coffee was replaced each day but not the chocolate, nor were the shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. One small individual bottle of each was provided for three days for two of us. Fortunately we brought our own this time. As instructed on the notice in the bathroom you should place used towels in the bath and they would be replaced as and when required, we placed a hand towel in there on the second day but there was no replacement provided. Our bedroom was not vacuumed during the three days we were there as we spilt some crumbs on the first day and they remained there throughout out our stay. The shower screen and bath weren't cleaned either. The curtain pole retaining the curtains back against the window was broken and didn't look very nice. There was no safe and if you wanted security, items could be deposited at the front desk, but there were no safe deposit boxes to rent. Our TV remote control wasn't very responsive and when I turned it over the back cover was missing and the batteries were held in with black insulation tape. We realise you may consider this to be picky but there are certain standards one expects from the star rating and the price. We have stayed in one and two star hotels and could find no faults so we were surprised at this penny pinching it seemed to us. Breakfast was nicely presented and the dining room staff were well organised and courteous. However, the selection of food on the buffet was very limited. There were just tinnned prunes and grapefruit segments to choose from, although there were cereals and a choice of four fruit juices. On reflection it was a pleasant weekend stay but we felt it was over priced for what you got. There were no special offers when we booked but there were a lot of other hotels in the area offering much cheaper accommodation. So if you took pot luck I am sure you could get a better deal than we did.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy from busy road outside all night long. Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disappointed46ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

You can really tell this is a privately-owned hotel, because you get that personal treatment. Family and friends have stayed here for many years now and it remains an excellent choice for many reasons.
The staff are friendly, efficient and always helpful; the location is excellent for both the town and the beach; the food is excellent and the hotel is very comfortable; entertainment most evenings; also good parking facilities. The only downside is that there is little outdoor space, but then plenty of beautiful spots just a short walk away.
We have met so many people who seem to return here year after and that says so much in itself.

Room Tip: In summer the rooms at the back are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chakra_central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having just returned from my third stay at this hotel I decided to post here my comments. Arrived for a three day weekend break last weekend, friendly and helpful staff, the rooms very clean and welcoming, the food wonderful with prompt service by the friendly waiters, breakfast from a varied menu and very plentiful. The bar well stocked and drinks prices very reasonable ! I really recommend this hotel for its good value and service !

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the noise of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathrowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay and must say the hotel exceeded our expectations. We chose the Hotel Collingwood after reading some wonderful reviews and it really was a superb experience. We arrived late morning and were given our room early as it was ready, so already we couldn't help be impressed by the courteous service shown by reception. We had been allocated a large family room which was absolutely superb for a weeks stay as we had plenty of room to relax in. The weather was very cold but the hotel was really well heated and cozy and at no time did we feel cold. The food and service in the dining room again was excellent. Plenty of choice for even the most 'picky' eaters. Staff everywhere a credit to the management. So well done Hotel Collingwood. I worked for 30 years in the hospitality industry and know how dependant you are on good staff, congratulations and keep up the good work. We certainly hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Property: Hotel Collingwood
Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing