We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back agaian and even better”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“back agaian and even better”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

this is the third time I have visited hotel and it has improved evn more since last time. The staff were all so helpful accomodation was brilliant, car parking good walk into town hilly but taxi ride back cheap. Room at back of hotel was good we had patio doors with Juliet balcony outside.All in all excellent. Dining room staff so helpful and obliging we found Martina such a delight and so helpful for such finiky people like me and my fellow dining companions

Room Tip: room at back best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_worldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    187
    47
    15
    13
See reviews for
139
291
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

After reading such good reviews about this hotel and with a price to match other 4* hotels in the area we were so disappointed when we found our room (122)!! It was drab and so dated! Premium bedding??..I haven't been in a hotel with such old fashioned bedding..blankets.. for years and the bed was so small and uncomfortable, it was certainly the worse for wear! The T.V..when we could get a signal, was on a low coffee table which made it hard to watch whilst in bed. There was no clock/radio, as stated, in the room. The bathroom was o.k but would say is ready for an uplift as well. It didn't help with the view from our window...roof top and car park! Although we have all these gripes with our room, the rest of the hotel was quite nice, the pool looked very inviting, sorry we didn't have time to try it out. The restaurant was very nice and our breakfast was very good and the staff were all friendly. Needless to say, we won't be rushing to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryclarke, Owner at Hotel Collingwood, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We were extremely sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay.

The bed is a normal 4'6" double bed and was replaced as soon as we read your review and had you mentioned it at the time of your stay would have been replaced immediately. In a survey of our regular guests most preferred blankets to duvets and hence we have remained with these for the time being. Your comments regarding the TV have been noted and will be rectified.

We are constantly striving to improve the Collingwood as I think can be seen from the very positive comments we receive and we do have an ongoing programme to continually upgrade all rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A group of 7 of us stayed to celebrate a family birthday, and whilst there was some initial confusion over our booking (although a family group of mixed-ages, we were a single-sex booking which is obviously not encouraged) our stay nevertheless got better and better. The three rooms we had were clean, well appointed and comfortable but the real jewel in the crown was the gym, pool and leisure activities which are all excellent and of a standard befitting some of the big hotel chains!

As a group, we did have a number of small gripes concerning some small issues (such as the temperature of the restaurant, tilt on a pool table etc) but once we told the hotel these they were fixed within the afternoon (including some brand new pieces of equipment for the leisure facilities) - and we were offered a drink at the bar for raising our concerns! How many hotels do you know who would do this?

We simply couldn’t have asked for more from the Collingwood, its staff or management. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have just been attending a conference at the BIC and we are so pleased we read the reviews on this hotel. Amenities excellent - just a shame we didn't have enought time to make more use of the pool and games room! Free car parking was a real bonus. The hotel was very clean, decor tasteful and staff very friendly. Only ate breakfast there but all freshly cooked to order. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The reception staff were really helpful and offered to help with luggage. The room was ready even at a lunch time arrival. The car could be parked in a very large car park at the back - which could be accessed from an external staircase. The room clean and comfortable with a view over the car park and Bournemouth park. Bed was very comfortable and water always hot and room temperature was warm. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate on the in room tea making facilities. The food was amazing and very good value for money. Nothing was too much for the staff meeting dietary needs and large portion sizes - meal included starter, soup course, main and choice of several puddings! Could tell food was good quality - thick pieces of meat and tasty veg. I will definatley stay here again and would recommend friends and family stay if travelling to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed here for a short break. The rooms were very clean and well decorated ( the family room 123 was fantastic ).
Breakfast was very good. Individual orders were taken and cooked to order. Throughout our stay we found the staff to be helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganWedgeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day Easter break. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were great. Main meal was basic food and at times we felt rushed. The leisure facilities were good. We have one complaint and that was the number of dogs in the hotel. The owmers of the said dogs would take the dogs up/down the lift. When they left the lift the smell was disgusting and as for the water left by their paws - not good. The housekeepers did a a great job in cleaning up after them. The owners should either ban dogs from going to the hotel or be stricter with the owners.

Room Tip: If you do not like dogs check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryclarke, Owner at Hotel Collingwood, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent break.

We do have a limited number of rooms available to owners of dogs. They are not permitted in the public areas of the hotel. We take on board your comments regarding the lifts and will take the necessary actions to avoid this happening in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Property: Hotel Collingwood
Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing