We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2006

Got a really good last minute internet deal (£40 B&B) and had a refurbished double room at the side of the building to myself. The new carpets are really deep pile and the furniture very stylish. The radiator didn`t work but they had supplied a convector heater which was absolutely fine. The bathroom was huge and everything in it was brand spanking new.

The bar was very pleasant and quiet. Breakfast in the restaurant was about the standard for this size of hotel - nothing special but nothing to complain about either.

The pool was great - a proper size (unusual in most hotels) and there was a small sauna and spa bath. In summer you would be able to slide the pool doors open and sit at tables on the lawn.

I found the staff to be very friendly - most were foreign and young.

The hotel is 3 minutes from the clifftop, 6 minutes walk from the Russell Cotes Museum, 8 minutes from the pier (downhill) and 10 minutes from the main shops. It has a large car park and is in a nice part of town.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    546
    166
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
553
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

went with a family group for the weekend and had a throughly enjoyable stay. Everyone had a good time because quite honestly the food was excellent, the service commendable and the weather was perfect!! We are all going back in the summer....Bournemouth by the way is really a super town to go to - lots for everyone to do.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2006

Had a good business trip down there for a week - doing loads of work on the rooms on one floor but my room had been done and it was really good value. The staff and the food very good and the dinner cheaper than the pub and really good food. Highly recommend but ask for a newly done room.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel having booked through lastminute for a very good price.Its location was great, about 5 minutes walk from the centre and parking is free.

We had booked 2 twin rooms and one of those was actually a family room which was very spacious. The decor was basic and slightly shabby but I've seen worse.TV, hairdryer, tea&coffee, biscuits etc. all included.If you are put off by the refurbishments going on within the hotel then it may be a problem, but we only noticed painting going on in some corridors and a few signs taken off the walls.There was certainly no noise.

The shower in our room wasn't the best but after a bit of fiddling it worked OK -you may have to sacrifice and have medium temperature for a decent flow!!

The leisure facilities were good. Nice pool, sauna, jacuzzi and "gym".It isn't ideal having gym equipment (bikes, cross trainer, rowing machine and weights)on the pool side though - As if you don't sweat enough during a workout, imagine how it is in steamy swimming pool and sauna area!!To get to the facilities you have to go outside across the car park to a seperate building (just don't forget the code they give you for the door to the pool or you can't get in!)

The breakfast was amazing. It was included in the price and included fresh fruit af all varieties, cereals, healthy nuts and muesli and then a buffet cooked breakast (with veggie option).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who are looking for comfortable, cheap and cheerful but not expecting the ritz. We would go back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank numpty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

my boyfriend and i stayed here for a weekend on the 24th - 26th feb. It was my birthday so we wanted it to be something special.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff were lovely the pool and also the rooms were very clean.
Would return there again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

We booked the hotel for the purpose of a few days break to relax.
While i could'nt fault the staff our room was like a run down hostel. You could'nt swing a cat in it. Our bed was like a trampoline.
One of the windows would'nt open and the other when shut hade a huge gape, enough the wake us during the night as the wind banged against it. On the first morning we were awoken at 0830hrs approx by a drilling that sounded like it was in our room. This was'nt the relaxation we had in mind.
I am sure the hotel is lovely as the main reception and bar were and i do understand that upgrades and renovations are necessary however i do think that establishments should shut down during the main building works. We checked out a day early as we could'nt stick the disruption.
We did receive a discount for the night we did stay but it did'nt make up for spoiling our plans for a relaxing break away as we had to find alternative accomodation ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing