We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Three night stay from July 13th 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three night stay from July 13th 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Warm and friendly welcome from reception staff. We were concerned when told our room was in one of the chalets. There was no need as the room was spacious and comfortable. Our only small complaint was that the window that opened was small. As the weather was warm we would have liked more ventilation or air conditioning. Our room was spotlessly clean and all the staff friendly and helpful. At the buffet style breakfast there was a good choice of freshly prepared food. Evening meals were five star with excellent service. The indoor swimming pool is very pleasant clean and well looked after. The hotel is well situated about a fifteen minute walk from Bournemouth centre and five or six minutes from the sea front. We will definitely stay again in future and recommend our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Philip A
Thank you so much for the most complimentary review about your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the 'five star' food and service, the room and pool and the weather has been so kind to everyone visiting Bournemouth. Please do come visit us again
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    515
    156
    54
    28
See reviews for
340
511
74
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great hotel, lovely building, tastefully furnished in lounge and restaurant, very elelgant, professional staff, this hotel is in a good location away from the busy areas but only a short walk to beach and town. The food and service was excellent, their cream teas were much appreciated after a day out, we sat outside to enjoy them. We used the pool which was fine no complaints. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Elisabeth S
Thank you for the wonderful review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The chef was so pleased with your comments about his food and the staff all appreciated your taking the time to compliment them
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here for four nights with my husband and 15 month old son, returning on the the 25th July. We had a lovely stay in the chalets at the back of the hotel. The room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. We were able to park directly outside our room, which my husband found very useful with regard to unloading all of our luggage! The hotel is in a handy location and is just a short walk from the sea front. The food was lovely and was served all day in the lounge bar, which was really useful with a young child who needed to be in bed early after an active day at the beach. However, the biggest plus of this hotel is the staff. They really seem to care about making their guests feel welcome and ensuring they have a happy stay. They were always friendly and helpful & were particularly fantastic with our little boy, paying him lot's of attention which he really loved! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Helen C
What a lovely review - thank you so much! I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service from our team was excellent, especially for your 15 month old son. We are very lucky at the hotel to have such a committed and service minded happy team. Please do come and stay with us again
Many thanks and best wishes

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Wonderful staff, excellent position, very good restaurant, lovely pool but tired bedroom. Needs some investment but overall a lovely stay. Common areas are fine and gardens are a bonus. We will go again but ask for one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Valerie B
Thank you so much for the complimentary review - we all appreciate your taking the trouble to write the review. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took my 86-year old mother for a short break here from the 22nd of June. She uses a cane and I was on crutches due to a bad ankle injury. Nothing was too much trouble. Help with the bags, putting my ice packs in the freezer in the kitchen (no minibars in the rooms), offering to carry things. The staff are genuinely there to help, obviously communicate with each other and actually try to anticipate what guests might need, such as an exchange I witnessed in the bar one evening when having a light supper with mum.

The bartender/waitress approached other guests and asked if they wanted a fan as they were staying on an upper floor and it could get quite stuffy up there. The guests replied it was fine, they didn't require one but were obviously pleased at the thoughtfulness.

The breakfast buffet is standard, good selection, with eggs, etc. kept warm and the coffee and tea are good quality. It is worth eating in the restaurant or having a meal in the bar as the chef makes even simple things like fish and chips taste really delicious as the ingredients are very fresh and it's all beautifully prepared.

Yes some of the hotel is a bit dated and some floors squeak (like the room over ours) but everything is spotless, the staff know the area and the hotel inside out and are willing to help you in any way and actually seem happy in their work. It's nice to get proper service with a smile instead of someone going through the motions.

Given the quiet, incredibly convenient location for the beach and town centre and parking on site (£2 a day) it is a lovely place to stay in Bournemouth if you are looking to relax.

Room Tip: If it's going to be hot, request a fan in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Heater R
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with your mother and that the staff were genuinely helpful and happy! We are very lucky to have a great team at the hotel who really do enjoy serving our lovely customers! Thank you choosing to stay with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your mother back soon
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing