We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel. My husband and I were very pleased. Staff were great, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in a family room at the back next to the car park. Not actualy in the hotel, but still nice. Very clean indeed, and I am very fussy..... breakfast was also great, overall great place.

Room Tip: Flats on side of hotel nice and quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Stickers about reusing towels very helpful, not real sure what other environment al factors hotel did have.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Sharon J
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the staff's, and customers efforts in environmental issues and we have a Gold rating for this from Green Tourism. Please come and stay with us again
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    568
    178
    59
    29
See reviews for
358
580
84
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent Hotel providing easy access and parking (Charged). The facilities in the lounge dining, and bedrooms are in line with Best Western standards. The location of the hotel is suitable for the town and beaches. Major local bus routes are a 5min walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
PatriciaS
Thank you for the complimentary review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that all was to your satisfaction during your stay and I do hope that will chose us again when next in the area.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

we got a room in the newer out building section that was clean and modern with a hint of luxury, great price fantastic food dinner and breakfast. Also to our surprise was a indoor swimming pool. staff are very friendly and could not do enough to help. Made my wifes birthday a great one.

Room Tip: Go for the chalets outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt-Teresa-Chilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Matt-Teresa-Chilton
Thank you so much for the lovely review which was really appreciated by all the staff at the hotel. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and that your wife had a good birthday in Bournemouth.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the BW Royale Bournemouth as a last minute solution to a book out with another hotel. I was recommended by a friend and took the booking as I was desperate after being let down.
I was pleasently surprised when we arrived to be greeted by an efficient and welcoming reception with easy car parking and a clean and tidy bedroom. Room was slightly on the small side but it was perfect for what we needed. A gift for my boyfriend was left which was a lovely gesture. The pool and leisure facilities were great and the hotel is perfectly situated to the beach front and offer a beautiful scenic work down to Bournemouth pier and shopping centre.

Breakfast was delicious and the staff are fantastic especially the breakfast duty manager on Saturday 5th and 6th, he was so welcoming and funny, was a wonderful atomsphere for the morning.

We throughully enjoyed our stay in this hidden gem of Bournemouth- highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask maybe for a larger room if you are staying for more than 1 night. We struggled with space in a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Kim P
Thank you for the lovely review and I was pleased that you chose us after your let down by another hotel! Thank you for the most positive feedback which is always a great tonic for the team who work so hard at this time of the year.
Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I spent two nights at the Best Western and was very pleased with the hotel.

All the décor appeared to be new and clean. Quite modern but comfortable.

A great bar area with a television that didn't intrude on conversations.

The breakfast was generous with a selection of continental breakfast items, fruit or a full English breakfast - buffet style.

The manager, Alan, ran a slick operation with tables being cleared quickly and tea/coffee being delivered to tables quickly.

There was a lovely pool and garden area with sun loungers to use.

I slept at the rear of the hotel but found I was awakened by people talking outside in the early hours of the night/morning. I don't know if they were night staff or residents. Also due to the tall trees there appeared to be a lot of disgruntled birds squawking which also happened each night waking me up.

Overall though I could not complain about the value for money at about £45 per night B&B.

I would definitely visit again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Possibly sleep at the front of the hotel. I slept at the rear and was awakened by both noisy birds r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
GBristol
Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted to read that you not only did you find the hotel exceeded your expectations but that you would recommend it!! I am sorry about the noisy seagulls - I wish there was something we could do about them!!
Please come and see us again and keep recommending us

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Check-in at hotel was great, very easy, and room was spacious and very clean. Hotel overall could have done with a little update decor wise and people upstairs sounded like they were trying to run a marathon which kept us awake at night a few times, but all the staff were welcoming and bar was fairly priced.

Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but the restaurant looked very nice when we walked past. Pool was a strange combination of being indoors/outdoors and despite being heated did contain some bugs - area around pool was full of changing rooms, showers and seating which was pretty awesome.

Walk to beach is around 10 mins and into town centre about 15 mins. Was a very pleasant route along the seafront :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEverett90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
AmyEvererett90
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again.
Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing