We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

I have just spent a couple of nights at the Anglo Swiss Hotel and was happy overall with the standard of accommodation. I was happy, as a single traveller, that accommodation is charged on a room rate and there were no hidden supplements. I therefore booked a double room (as it was not much more expensive than a single one).

Maybe they thought I was a hotel inspector as I was pleasantly surprised to have a very large, bright, recently refurbished room with a decent sized, well fitted bathroom with a window. My only comments are that the bed was not particularly comfortable and the foam pillows were very hard. The laminate flooring in the bathroom looked a little cheap which was a shame and a blind would have been better than a net curtain at the window. The room was clean (apart from a cobweb on the bathroom ceiling) but these are only minor niggles.

The staff at reception and in the restaurant were efficient and pleasant and the food was a good standard. The hotel is well placed for the beach but is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Bournemouth.

I would stay at this hotel again if I were to visit Bournemouth as I thought it good value for money.

  • Liked — Nice large, bright room
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    545
    166
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
553
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at the hotel from 27 to 30 August 2008. I had special requirements due to a very bad back and the staff were really helpful in arranging for a bed board to be placed under the mattress. It's often difficult it is to find hotels with a bed board. I had a large chalet with a brilliant shower (good for my bad back). The chalets are separate from the hotel and there was no noise apart from cars parking and leaving. The dinner, bed and breakfast rate of £87.50 was good value. The food was good, and the service and helpfulness of the staff throughout the hotel was excellent. A computer with free internet access was available in reception which was useful, but the wi-fi and broadband connections need attention as they kept dropping out to the frustration of other guests. My only real criticism is that the tv remote control was not working when I arrived and it took over a day and a half to get a new one. Also the sink water took ages to drain away and the cold water tap only ran cold for a few seconds before becoming tepid. I do wish hotel staff would check room facilities before guests arrive.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catlover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershott
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

The weather was aweful but the staff made the stay most enjoyable. The food was good with breakfast a highlight and the staff all over the hotel - most foreign - but so cheerful and helpful. Thanks to all and highly recommend.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank npkatz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

Bournemouth, Best Western Anglo Swiss Hotel- Very Average
My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. Our first impression at check in was not very positive when a guest was asking for another family room as she had been given bunk beds for her three year olds and on booking she stated that they required beds as bunks were unsafe for that age. The receptionist just said " I think thats all we have" and just walked off into the office. I felt this was a dreadful reaction to a perfectly polite request. We checked in ourselves ok but were not really made to feel welcome. Our room was very small but clean. The springs on the bed were not good and you could feel them under the mattress. Bathroom ok but shower very slow. Breakfast was very average especially the cooked food - the sausages looked and tasted bland and fried potatoes awful - it all looked cheap and tasted like it. On a positive note the staff in the breakfast room were very polite and friendly. The Bar and lounge area was quite pleasant but had absolutely no atmosphere at all and staff didnt make you feel welcome by making any conversation. The stay was ok but would not make a repeat visit - in a nutshell no atmosphere or personal service. Location good for beach and had a lovely meal at a restaurant called Prezzo - pizza pasta and other dishes- in westcover road.

  • Liked — lounge area
  • Disliked — atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed for four nights in July with two children. The family room was big enough and comfortable although not quite as nicely done out as the ones in the photos on the website!! Unfortunately for the duration of our stay the pool heater was broken and although open was too cold for us - this was beyond anyones control and I was given a discount on my final bill as compensation. It was, however, a great pool with great facilities making this a good choice of hotel if you have children. The staff were all friendly and helpful - the breakfast was lovely every morning. Everywhere was clean and our room brilliantly serviced. The location is fantastic - quiet and really convenient for the beach or town. Will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Pool, Restuarant and location
  • Disliked — Room was just a bit tired looking.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

After reading other reviews I thought what a great price we paid for such a nice hotel, how wrong could I have been. We were greeted with by a receptionist who asked us our name and that was it, no - there is the lift to your floor, here is where you have breakfast etc. We were new to the hotel and area, as most people are. The lift could hardly accommodate us with our luggage and went at a snails pace. On entering our room I knew that this was a complete disaster, the room comprised of a double and single bed for our little boy with brown (very dated) furniture, with no room to swing a cat. (This apparently was supposted to be one of the rooms which had undergone a total refurbishment). The toilet was an utter disgrace with stains (you don't need to use you imagination to know what this was) on the lid of the toilet. The floor to the bathroom hadn't been sweaped never mind moped, windows sills hadn't been wiped as there were cup stains, net curtains were filthy and to top it all the linen in the double bed had urine stains on. As for the swimming pool don't even go there my husband was not impressed at all, it was situated outside of another building in the annex as they call it. We asked for another room and were told that the hotel was full. The next morning we couldn't wait to ckeck out and was asked if everything was ok, I replied with no everything wasn't ok and I was about to explain only for the receptionist to say 'oh well, ok then'. I have stayed in alot of hotels and this is probably the worst.
The one positive thing I could say was that the restaurant for breakfast was ok the staff were friendly. We then booked into the Marriott for the rest of our stay which was fabulous, how a proper hotel should operate.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dawsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaymyJay, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2008
As a hotel we are always disappointed should a guest not enjoy their stay as we always endeavour to solve all guest problems. In this case however we are completely mystified as no attempt to contact the management of the hotel regarding these issues was ever made. The furniture in that bedroom is no more than a year old and is made from wood and the furniture as well as the room in general was refurbished, last year, in a contemporary style, as can be seen in several photos taken by tripadvisor guests. The bedroom comprises of a double and single bed and fulfils all criteria laid down by the AA for a three star standard family room. We strive to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in all areas, with all rooms being cleaned on a daily basis. We do acknowledge that mistakes can be made, we are only human, however we were not shown or even given the opportunity to fix any of the faults raised in this review. We are then most disappointed that the reviewer has taken such a hatred for the hotel on the grounds of mistakes, that had they been raised could have been sorted within minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed At the Best Western for 1 night as going to a concert at BIC. Booked the room directly on the phone very easily and saved £5 on internet price. Hotel a short walk from the town centre and beach, with a good car park and easy to find.

We had a family room as our 10yr came with us. The beds were comfy and the room very clean and bright. The barthroom had a good shower and the temperature was just right which makes a change for hotels.

The staff were helpful, we used the swimming pool which was very nice and were given hotel towels and borrowed some goggles.

Great full breakfast everything you could want and eat. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Good room and staff
  • Disliked — Small lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scattybirdBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing