We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Currently undergoing an external refurb, this hotel is recommended simply because the staff try so hard to make you feek welcome. I have been before and will go again, the beds are fine, the breakfast is ok with good service, the swimming pool is good, the free wifi is excellent service and location is a nice walk down the hill into the town.

But Bournemouth is not great. The stag and hen do's have gone away on easyJet, so the main nightlife is drunk students. Most pubs seem average (dancing jug ok) and same for food.

So if coming to Bournemouth the hotel is fine. But why come to Bournemouth. ....

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
D R
Thank you so much for your kind review about the hotel and our staff - they really appreciate your complimentary comments. Sorry you feel that way about Bournemouth though, it really isn't that bad! but totally respect your opinion. Please do come again and I will give you a list of the 'good' places to go which will I am sure change your mind!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    545
    166
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
553
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights, sunday and monday in september. Hotel was as central as you will get in Bournemouth so a walk to anywhere. Plenty of parking at two pounds a night was a bonus. First night was fine, second night heating came on with no available room control and it was very hot had to open windows. Reception said it shouldn't have come on and they would get back to us. They didn't, but it eventually went off, but came back on at 5.30 a.m. Didn't seem interested when we checked out. Room was otherwise ok and staff pleasant when we checked in and in bar. Had to use wifi in reception area as signal in room poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Yorkshiretourist
Thank you very much for writing such a helpful review. I am so sorry you found the temperature too hot in your room ..... at this time of the year we do struggle to keep everyone happy! Some people say it's too cold others too warm - however please accept my apologies and indeed my thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I were welcomed courteously on arrival and were soon directed to our room, which was a "standard double" on the 3rd floor (we don't mind being high up!) We dined in on the first night - nice quality food and presentation. The buffet style breakfasts were excellent - we felt that mushrooms and black puddings should also be offered. Yoghurts, croissants, fruit, cereals etc were also freely available. Couldn't fault the continued courtesy shown by all staff. We had the swimming pool to ourselves early every morning for half an hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 651LFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
651LFB
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This Is very difficult to write because I normally like to give 'positive' comments, but....... Booked into this hotel for our last night in Bournemouth (due to the hotel we'd stayed in for 5 nights being fully booked so we couldn't extend our stay for the extra night). Was really disappointed and wish we'd gone home instead, on reflection.
Plus points: Lovely reception area and lovely, friendly staff who checked us in quickly on arrival (and had indeed let us leave our luggage there before check-in time so we didn't have to haul it about with us). Bed, lovely and fresh feeling. Now for negative (and I will try to be gentle!) - room with antiquated furniture and décor, and absolutely freezing so had to go to reception to get a heater which took all night to heat the room, very old fashioned I felt for such a large chain of hotels. The bar was closed bang on 11:00pm - come on, what bar closes at 11 on a Friday night, especially a hotel??? This hotel has some plus points but I will not be going back again - sorry :-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Julie H
I am so sorry you were disappointed! Having said that your plus points were very much appreciated! We just can't win with heating ...we get as many 'cold' observations as we do 'too hot' mentions at this time of year but please accept my sincere apologies for your discomfort. I do value your constructive criticism and thank you for taking the trouble to write the review.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We're just back after 3 night spent time in this hotel. We didnt get balcony room, although was spacious and clean, bed is soooo comfy. Breakfast was so tasty, staff always very polite and helpfull, even the cleaner always give us smile and greeting, feel so special. I tried heated swimming pool, so nice and clean, changing room also clean & dry. Will happy to stay here again, perhaps room with balcony next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marine_newbury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Marine_newbury2
Thank you from all the staff for your most kind and generous review. It was most appreciated and gratefully received by all. I am delighted the bed and room were to your liking and we will certainly do all we can to give you a balcony room on your next visit - so please contact me with your requirements!
Again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for the night as we were catching the SeaCat to Guernsey early the next morning and needed to be close to Poole. We booked this hotel as it apparently had excellent facilities such as swimming pool and spa.

We were warmly greeted on arrival by a very lovely and friendly receptionist, and the reception area appears to have been recently modernised. Our room by comparison was large but dated in its presentation. The whole room was spotlessly clean though. We ordered room service and the same receptionist was very helpful in tailoring an order to meet my needs. The drinks options in the bar were extremely limited, and this was disappointing for a hotel of this size. The barman however was very helpful and in what seemed to be a shortage of staff he also delivered the room service order. The bed was very comfortable although the headboard was prone to creaking.

The en-suite was spotless but the shower was woefully underpowered (which we reported to the duty manager who was going to look into) and it took over 10 minutes to get all the shampoo out of my hair!

There is car parking on site available but the spaces are tight which can make parking fun. Be aware reception doesn't open until 7am on the dot which means we had to wait for the computer to be booted up before we could check out and we nearly missed our ferry due to the delay.

All in all for £80 (without breakfast) we didn't feel that we got value for money. The staff were exceptional, the hotel was very average and we will look into alternatives next time.

Room Tip: Ask to be situated away from the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
FredaAt theHelm
Thank you for your review which I found very helpful. I am sorry that you nearly missed your ferry but the staff were all delighted with the praise you heaped upon them. As for the bar selection I agree with you that we could stock a larger variety of drinks but in the past when we have done so we found little demand and many items passed their feel by date. Your constructive criticism is very much appreciated and taken on board - thank you.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from this hotels, after being there for 4 nights. Our room was clean, comfortable and quite spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We even dined at this hotel twice, and the food was very good and quite reasonable priced.

If we were being hyper critical, after paying for our 4 night stay, which we thought was on the high side, we then had to pay an extra £2 per night for car parking - even though it does not mention this anywhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 211, quite a reasonable size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Sue S
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing