We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was visiting Bournemouth on business after the grueling flight over from Australia, and to be able to stay somewhere that made me feel as comfortable as Hotel Royale did was outstanding. The room was clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant was 5 star, but it was the friendly customer service that won me. Us Aussies can be pretty fussy when it comes to being greeted with a smile and friendly attitude and the staff here were exemplary. Thank you for what was a great, comfortable and friendly stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Michael C
Thank you for the lovely transcontinental review! The staff were really delighted to read your review and really appreciated your taking the time to write in from so far away! We love the Aussies inspite of rugby and cricket 'battles'!! I do hope you will come visit us again when you are next this way and please encourage all your friends and colleagues to pay us a visit when they travel here.

Kind regards and best wishes

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    541
    165
    56
    29
See reviews for
351
548
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Again breakfast was great this morning. This was my second stay and was just as happy as the last time. I was in the main hotel this time and I enjoyed the change. Opening my curtains on to a lovely blue sky only made my morning better. Thank you and well done again guys. See you all in November!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Matt E
Thank you so much for your kind review I was delighted to read that you returned to us and enjoyed the stay. It is most appreciated when our customers take time to thank the staff for their efforts. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in November!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't remember a hotel stay in which i have been so disappointed.

It took 10 minutes to get the attention of the desk to check in last night. The room is small even for a single and in a very poor decorative state, the wallpaper is ripped in multiple places, there was a light hanging off the wall, the windows are filthy. It took repeated requests for maintenance to fix some of the issues ( however the gentleman was a saving grace due to his friendliness, although to fix some of the rips in the wallpaper he just prit-sticked them on).

I couldn't work the shower (so this morning couldn't have one due to it being far to hot to stand under) as any markings have rubbed off due to its age and had to ask for help, thinking it was broken which was given in a very surly manner.

The bathroom is tiny, its impossible to sit on the toilet seat as the wall is so close and the bath so small its impossible to lie down in. However all credit to the cleaners it was very clean except for the marked and scratched mirror.

The carpet is warn and threadbare in parts. The walls are so thin the neighbours stopped me from sleeping till gone 1:30 as i could hear every word they spoke. The breakfast was at best adequate. Oh and its the only hotel I've stayed in they make paying guests pay to park in the car park.

Honestly I'm dreading staying another two nights as the room is so claustrophobic. Terrible Disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for Bournemouth's beach and town centre and is in a leafy, quiet location. As a single traveller, I found it safe and comfortable.Reception staff are extremely helpful. On arrival, the receptionist called me in my room shortly after checking into it to check if I was happy with everything, which was appreciated. Breakfast was good, although hot cereal was not available but variety of food available on the buffet was generous and varied. My single room was small but comfortable and very clean with a good bathroom with shower and bath. The swimming pool is quite small but adequate with good changing facilities. Decor is a little dated but generally this hotel is good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Voyageuse49_12
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review about the hotel. I cannot underestimate the benefit and encouragement it gives the staff and naturally helps other travelers in their selection process. Please come and stay with us when you revisit Bournemouth and you may be sure of a warm welcome and an equally enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
188 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I chose this Hotel, as not only do we enjoy the Best Western style of Hotels, it had a swimming pool and was close to Town and beaches for our walks.

We arrived at the Hotel earlier than expected, checked with Reception, we advised that we were several hours early, but would like to have a lunch in the bar, and happy to wait until our room was ready. We were checked in and advised that we would be provided with our room as soon as possible, but it was not ready at that stage.

During our lunch, as promised and somewhat early, the room key was brought to us - excellent start.

The room we were allocated was spacious, clean tidy and presentable, the bathroom was spotless, and all in all a very good first impression, so housekeeping were doing a splendid job.

View was over car park, but bear in mind this is in a nice side street, and views were not on the agenda or needed.

The car park at £2 a day was reasonable, and if you checked the parking machines outside, a lot cheaper than parking on the road.

During lunch we changed our mind and decided to go DB and B, rather than B and B - this was organised, amended and resolved very quickly.

A short while in the room, and the telephone rings, it was reception checking that all was OK in the room, a good touch.

The decision to go for the evening Dinner option turned out to be a superb choice.

Over the few days we worked our way through the menu, trying a range of all starters, mains and desserts, each was cooked to perfection.

The serving staff were superb with their attention to detail, and to ensure that each and every dining occasion was as good as the first.

Donald and his team deserve special mention, we were treated as we like to be treated as humans, as well as Customers, and the serving team were exceptional. Real special thanks went to the Mark and the Chef as on one specific night, my wife vegetarian choices were limited, so Mark took the information, spoke with the chef, and organised not only for the meal that evening to be modified slightly to meet the Customer needs, but he also arranged to have a special meal of my wife choosing produced for the next evening. My wife provided a suggestion of a vegetable bake, with breadcrumbs and cheese on top, and this was produced the following night, and was perfect - so much so we think the chef should add this as a third vegetarian option - it was so good.

Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet, and had more than sufficient choices of cereals thro fruit salad, and the usual cooked. They also provided, (again a wife choice), porridge cooked to order.

The bar staff were also friendy and polite, and Donna having a special mention, whom knew my drinks before I arrived at the bar, and with a smile served them to our table, and always had time for a quick chat on Psychology...

The swimming pool was warm, and of a good size. Showers were hot , area very clean and tidy, and the changing areas, had lockable doors and hairdryer etc.

For me the shame was a lack of gym equipment, but it was explained they had this in before and was not used much, and was finally removed due to corrosion of the equipment. Shame as this would have added an appeal for myself. Note : the swimming pool is a short walk across the car park, so you do need a brolley in the rain. Towels were provided by reception that you may hold until the end of your stay if you wished.

So a great 4 days, enjoyed to the full, and if you adopt our approach that staff always try and do the best for you, but are not mind readers, it works to the benefit of all. Tell them what you want and they tried very hard to meet your needs.

Well done to the entire team for making it a special long weekend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Weary-Traveller007
What can I say? A massive thank you for your detailed and amazingly complimentary review about all the aspects of your stay. Your review has taken pride of place on the staff notice boards and they are all extremely grateful to you for taking the time and effort to write such a glowing and enthusiastic review.
Please come and see us again and in the meantime our best wishes

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Recently returned from a golf trip staying at this well located Bournemouth hotel. Room was basic but very clean & comfortable. Breakfast was excellent & quality of food was of a much higher standard than I expected from a 3* rated hotel, with a varied menu. What was most impressive however was the service. Warm welcome from reception staff, restaurant staff & bar staff, where Gemma & Donna in particular deserve mention. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpygit250661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
grumpygit250661
Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel....it was somewhat of a relief having seen your Tripadvisor name was 'grumpygit'!! So I take it as a double compliment that we were able to exceed your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to write it is much appreciated by all. Please do come and visit us again.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms cleaned to perfection.Very good size room and bathroom.Service at the bar was was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food.Reception is a little bit dated but the service is very good.

Room Tip: Room 100 with balcony is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Kevin S

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your friends and work colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing