We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed At the Best Western for 1 night as going to a concert at BIC. Booked the room directly on the phone very easily and saved £5 on internet price. Hotel a short walk from the town centre and beach, with a good car park and easy to find.

We had a family room as our 10yr came with us. The beds were comfy and the room very clean and bright. The barthroom had a good shower and the temperature was just right which makes a change for hotels.

The staff were helpful, we used the swimming pool which was very nice and were given hotel towels and borrowed some goggles.

Great full breakfast everything you could want and eat. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Good room and staff
  • Disliked — Small lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scattybirdBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    555
    167
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
564
81
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Anglo Swiss in Bournemouth, and have to say the facilities are OK, the rooms are very spacious, clean and bright. The mattresses could be changed as the springs are all ove the place.

Their best feature is their leisure complex, a big swimming pool, jacuzzi, changing rooms and sauna. Got to try it!

Breakfast is average.

Would not really return to the Anglo Swiss if/when in Bournemouth.

  • Liked — The Leisure complex.
  • Disliked — Mattresses and breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, CO.Tyrone
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

I have just returned from a 4 night stay with my wife at the Anglo Swiss Hotel. On check in we were given a room on the 2nd floor.We were then directed to the elevator which was extremely slow and could barely accomadate us with our two pieces of luggage. The hotel had a worn feel about it and the floors were wooden and very noisy as you walked across them. On entering the room which is by way of the old keys, no electronic locks on these doors the room was extremely hot and stuffy. There is no air conditioning and the bathroom had a heated towel rail which was unable to be controlled in any shape or form. The bed had a spring mattress which was terribly noisy when one sat on or moved about on. The room and bathroom were terribly small.On the plus side there were sufficient towels, toiletries etc and the usual tea, coffee etc. There is no mini bar in the room. We went to reception to enquire if a more superior room was available but were informed we were already in a refurbished room.The receptionist then contacted the duty manager who agreed that the room was very warm and the bed noisy. He could not offer us an alternative room but agreed to get us a fan and have the mattress changed. He also offered us a reduction on our room rate and gave us a bottle of wine. We accepted his offer and he also tried to have the towel rail heat reduced. Again on the plus side the hotel is located approximately ten minutes from the beach and a taxi fare will cost between 5 and 7 pounds to town centre area where bars and resturants are located.Our room rate included breakfast which was of a reasonable standard. We used the leisure centre which has a small pool, sauna and spa bath. Again this area has a very used look about it.I would not return to this hotel as it is not good value in my opinion and if one likes the finer things in hotel rooms look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and location
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hondacrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Spent 2 nights at the hotel. Clean, comfy, good breakfast. Best thing is location, 5 mins from the cliff top and another 5 mins down the slope to the beach. Town walkable. Slight drawback is that the windows are old and dont close (ok in summer could be cold in winter!). Could hear music on a Thursday night but hotel was dead quiet so probably from one of Bournemouth's many clubs or from the college next door.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennisnut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

Booked this hotel through the Walkers Brit Trips promotion. Stayed for 2 nights, friday to sunday. We honestly couldnt fault any part of our stay. The staff were friendly, polite, professional and ready to help at any time. We stayed in a double room, with a balcony, overlooking the front gardens. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom looked almost new!

We had dinner on the first night, included in the price of our stay....a three course meal plus tea/coffee...the food was top notch! Breakfast was a buffet, cooked or continental, as much as you can eat.

With the hotel being 10minute walk to the beach or to the town it is a perfect base for exploring Bournemouth.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean25Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed here last October in one of the outside chalets. More than happy, though the decor was a little tired. Did so again, and the chalets have all been extremely well refurbished. Two of my kids had one chalet, the other child was in with my wife and I next door, and we were very impressed. The leisure club is an obvious attraction for families, while the restaurant is fine (with kids, all you want is prompt service and a reasonable choice on the menu). The staff are friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonOrientfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

With an appointment to keep but the car park blocked by deliveries for up to 15 minutes, no staff were prepared to do anything to help. I called the duty manager who wouldn't resolve it either and said it was just bad luck; if I didn't like it, I didn't have to come again. I shan't and I would advise others not to either.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PFcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing