We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful hotel stay”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel and can honestly say it is one of the best we have stayed in in the uk for quite some time. Good value, friendly staff, good sized clean room and excellent restaurant. Food was excellent and the maitre'd Alan Gilmour and his staff were very attentive and efficient. Would happily stay here again and certainly recommend to friends and family. Notwithstanding the above there is also a lovely swimming pool for relaxation. Great location and easy walking distance into town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureCouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
MatureCouple99
Sincere thanks all the way to Ayrshire from the whole team at the hotel - especially Alan who loves a mention in dispatches!! It really was a lovely review and it is much appreciated by all at the hotel. Please keep recommending us and do come visit us again.

Sincere thanks and kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    575
    180
    59
    29
See reviews for
366
585
86
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the time of arrival to leaving we had a marvellous time in this hotel - because the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits + more free on request at reception. Food was excellent and so was the service. The swimming pool was very good. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of this Hotel have a nice view of the gardens and mature trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
GerryH
It is always so nice to start the day with such a positive and complimentary review for which I thank you. The staff were very touched by your comments and it is most refreshing when people write a review because they thought it was good rather than only ever commenting when they feel let down.
Please keep recommending us and come back and see us soon - we love customers like you!!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After a 6 hour drive I was really not looking forward to checking in as I knew I was only going to be able to get room service which I hate! - to my surprise right on the dot of 9pm they said I would still order, the food was amazing - the best I've eaten in a hotel for a very long time, my room was really comfortable and the breakfast was great. I would stay here for social as well as business.

It was a shame I did not have time to use the swimming pool, I hear its really nice - next time maybe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Lorraine182
What a super review - thank you so much from all the team at the hotel for writing this about us - it is very much appreciated. The staff love reading the reviews and it really does have such a positive impact on morale at this very busy time. Your recommendation is gratefully received by all!

With sincere thanks and kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent 6 very pleasant days with a group at this hotel. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly, the food was varied and plentiful,, the standard of cleanliness first class and my room and bathroom bright and airy. Andrew and his crew deserve a special mention. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marituck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Marituck
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review especially since you stayed with us for 6 days. It is most reassuring to know that during your stay we exceeded your expectations and you departed happy with all aspects of our service. Please come and visit us again.

With sincere thanks and kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I chose this when staying for a conference as I needed somewhere with enough rooms to accommodate others, convenience for public transport and quiet surroundings. It met all those requirements and staff sensibly arranged for those of us attending the same event to have a table together. We ate in the hotel the first night and that, and the breakfasts, were good value and gave a good choice. My single room was clean and had everything I needed. Others generally seemed happy with their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Gina
Thank you for your lovely review. It was especially good to read that we were able to meet all your requirements on a business trip as a lady visitor and Senior Contributor! The staff were delighted to read your review which was most encouraging and very much appreciated.
I hope you will stay with us again soon

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were happy with our choice as we had not stayed in Bournemouth for some years. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and a good size. We ate in the restaurant and the food was top quality and the staff well trained. Would definitely say this is good value for the prices charged.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Mjmcj
Thanks so much for the positive and complimentary review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. It is always very rewarding to read we were judged good value for money especially from a Top Contributor.
Many sincere thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Bournemouth!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A really great place to stay in Bournemouth. Rooms, breakfast, dinner and the pool all excellent and at a good price. the staff make you feel welcome and we were fortunate to have good weather. the location is also excellent with easy access to the beach via the East Cliff Lift.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the first floor with a balcony are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Geoff W

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing