We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bournemouth shopping trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bournemouth shopping trip”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here one night very friendly staff especially Kay who helped me book this over the telephone as had trouble on Internet site. Nice big room with 6ft bed and big bathroom with shower, very clean and comfortable and lovely walk in wardrobe this was 1st floor room with balcony which was unfortunately being renovated and could not be used which was the only minor gripe we had. Wi fi access was free in the room which was good and TV reception and channels were ok. You could walk to Bournemouth centre and shops in 10-15 mins but uphill coming back. Breakfast was very good and excellent choices with healthy continental and fruit and full English in the room price which was reasonable.
I ended up leaving with both keys to the room senile moment and telephoned the hotel and again very friendly helpful staff said that we could return them or post them it was not a problem overall I would recommend this hotel and would return to stay again

Room Tip: We had room 106 this was a double room with big very comfortable bed and not cold on a very -1 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Cruise5

High praise indeed from a Senior Reviewer !! thank you and your promise to revisit us is all the encouragement we need. The staff really appreciate reviewers taking the trouble to write good and complimentary words about the hotel and it does help lift the morale.
Many thanks and please come and see us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    558
    173
    56
    28
See reviews for
352
567
83
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed for 1 night 17/11/12 - 5 mum's in need of wine time getaway! Arrived at hotel early so we could go shopping - left our bags with reception who offered to call us on our mobile when our room was ready. Enjoyed some girlie shopping and returned to collect bags and go to our room to get ready for a night out. We were given 2 interlinking chalet rooms (seperate from the main hotel). small flight of stairs up to rooms which were nice and warm and clean. The receptionist (i'm afraid I cant remember her name) was extremely helpful offering us advice on where best to go for cocktails (Aruba - def recommend), where to eat (italian - ciao) - fab food, and disco too! Same receptionist was on duty when we checked out in the morning after a very comfortable nights sleep - we left our bags in storage so we could continue to mooch about town - asked receptionist where was best for cheap breakfast (i think it was called northern wood) - she again didnt let us down with her knowledge as breakfast ticked all the boxes and helped with the hangovers!! Receptionist definitely helped to make our stay a fun and memorable one. The only negative comment I do sadly have to add is regarding the showers in the rooms - being used to power showers at home the hotel showers are poor - having long and very thick hair - it took ages to wash under the weak shower pressure - but this is the only negative comment I can write. Don't know about hotel food as we ate out. Would like to express out thanks to the receptionist that helped 5 mums have a fab weekend away child free :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyLubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
SurreyLubin
It is always so nice to start the day with such a positive and complimentary review for which I thank you. The staff and especially Jenna were very touched by your comments and it is most refreshing when people write a review because they thought it was good rather than only ever commenting when they feel let down.
Please keep recommending us and come back and see us soon - we love customers like you!!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked for all my family to have a night away, with a function at The Pavillion. We were greeted with a warm welcome, lovely comfortable rooms and rooms were located close to each other which was a bonus.

Location wise, it was lovely for a little walk along the pier, and not far into town, (although reception helped us to book taxis for the evening, rather than us walking in our heels!)

Breakfast was great the next day, what was also nice, was that we didn't feel rushed out of the breakfast room after 10am. All the staff were friendly and helpful and a big thanks to Kay on reception for looking after us all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooleywez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Wooletwez

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review about the hotel. I cannot underestimate the benefit and encouragement it gives the staff and naturally helps other travelers in their selection process. Please come and stay with us when you revisit Bournemouth and you may be sure of a warm welcome and an equally enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked a christmas party at the hotel,It was purfect in every way.The staff couldn't do enough for us and they were all happy and professional.The meal we had pre booked for our 43 guests was piping hot when it was served and choices were lovely there was nothing left on the plates. Some guests stayed over night and the rooms were lovely and really clean, breakfast the next morning was excellent too. A great team of staff that work together like a family run hotel, well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela62-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Angela62-12
Thank you so much! It was so nice to receive a generous review of a Christmas party night. The whole team really appreciate your taking the trouble to write the review and we were so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves! Please keep spreading the word and come back and see us soon.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a 1 night stay at the start of December 2012.

Arrival

Ample parking available and first impressions of the hotel were good. The lobby area is nice and appears to be partly newly refurbished.

Check In

The member of staff was pleasant and completed the check in process for us, we were able to check in at 2pm which was 1 hour earlier than stated - a bonus.

Room

First impressions were ok. It was a basic double room on the 2nd floor. The decor was dated and in need of refurbishment but perfectly acceptable for 1 night. The room was clean and tidy.

There was a slight bit of mould above the windows, the patch was around the size of a A4 piece of paper.

The room was warm but the radiator allowed you to adjust the temperature which worked very well.

The bed was comfortable, one point to add was that the duvet was very small for the bed, only just meeting the edge of the bed - not good once you have 2 people in there.

WIFI - the location of the room meant that we were unable to pick up any WIFI. As an advertised and important part of the service, this was disappointing. We tried on 3 separate devices before proceeding to reception. The staff member explained that the hotel was fully booked but could we use the lobby. We were not keen to sit in the lobby to complete work so declined. The team member did try to help, and offered a single room they had "offline" to sit in. We accepted the key and proceeded to this room - as soon as we walked in you knew why the room was not in use - damp. There was a strong smell of damp and a dehumidifier was running in the middle of the room, as someone who is asthmatic it was not good to sit in there so this was the end of that idea.

Facilities

The hotel has a good sized pool which is available from 7am to 9pm every day, you simply obtain a code from reception.

Parking is £2 per day - but I do not think there should be a charge for this.

Location

10 minutes walk from the pier and beach - excellent. Very easy to get around on foot with restaurants and shops within 15 minutes way.

Issues

Noise is a major issue in this hotel. It very quickly became apparent to us that the people above us and next door were noisy - the hotel is old but I could hear word for word the conversation taking place from the people next door, the creaking floor boards above were too much. As we established there were no other rooms we decided not to stay the night. We stay in hotels on a regular basis and realise that you will always encounter noise when staying in a hotel, but we have never experienced anything like this.

We checked out and provided this feedback to reception. The member of staff on duty was very apologetic and genuinely concerned with the issue. However - there were no other rooms available (which we knew) - we were not charged the £2 for parking which was nice, however, still paid full price for the hotel.

Overall,

I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it. The main reason for this is the noise. We visited this hotel for a bit of rest and relaxation and didn't visit to listen to the conversations of those next door and above all evening. It was a shame as the staff are very nice and helpful, but the product is very much lacking - even for the 3 star hotel that it is.

WIFI is important and if it's advertised as being available in all rooms, then it must be available. Whether it is for business or personal reasons, access to working WIFI in your room is essential.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeRichM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
LukerichM5
I am at a total loss for words! For someone who did not spend the night at the hotel you seem 'eminently' knowledgeable? I shall say no more.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from weekend and can recommend it. Good location, very friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast choice one of the best we've had. So nice to have fresh fruit and not tinned!. Did not eat in restaurant but had bar meal on first night and that was very good. will definitely go back next year , hopefully in better weather!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
nicola s
Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted to read that you not only did you find the hotel exceeded your expectations but that you will return!! That is the greatest compliment we can ask for. I was also heartened to see you enjoyed our breakfast selection and bar meals!
we look forward to welcoming you back again and please do keep recommending us

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

So we took ourselves away for the weekend to sneak in some shopping and a visit to the gig. The hotel was convenient - the weather wasn't. The staff were friendly, the weather wasn't. The food in the hotel was good, the weather wasn't. I'm hoping you get the picture ..........We would certainly return. The location was good for a bracing walk into town - despite the weather.

Room Tip: We were in the Annexe. Room was fine . but you did get wet walking to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
DavidW
Thank you so much for the kind review of the hotel! The weather ......well it's still pretty poor but fortunately it hasn't deterred trade! I really appreciate your taking the trouble to say nice things about us especially when the weather was not very kind to you!
Please come and visit us again and we will do our best to ensure the sun shines!!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing