We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff are very friendly and if you have any questions they will help you.
Rooms are very clean.
Gary and Alan who were on duty during our stay could not have been more professional and helpful. We ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent and even though the restaurant is very large, guests were situated all in one area which created a good atmosphere. After dinner we had a coffee and drink in the bar where we were served by a charming young French lady who looked after us and everyone else in an excellent way. Will definitely return to this Hotel when we are in Bournemouth

Room Tip: Try and get front facing rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

JoshG

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team especially the French Lady a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the last minute as my youngest daughter broke her leg and we had to cancel the holiday abroad. Sceptical about booking initially as it was 3 star, but when we arrived, the hotel was absolutely brilliant. My older daughter celebrated her birthday whilst we were in Bournemouth and the hotel spoilt her rotten buying her chocolates and a gift. This is a very top end 3 star hotel, everything about it was perfect, we even extended our stay by 3 days. Definitely going back again. Disabled access was very handy as my youngest was in cast, the staff did every thing they could to help her. Our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAustin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

KAaustin26

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you found the staff and the facilities at the hotel exceeded your expectations. I hope your youngest is now out of the cast! I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and in the meantime our sincere thanks for taking the trouble to write in

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in November with 11 work colleagues. The staff were so frindly and helpful, the room we used for our afternoon meetign excellent and lunch spot on. Evening meal was much better than my last visit two years ago, and the pool was empty on both my trips.

All in all a very good stay, very good value and all the staff I had with me said the same. If I had anything that could be improved there would be a little more choice on the beer front, and better quality coffee at the breakfast tale. But taht is being a bit picky. All the staff want all our meetings there, says a lot really

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skinnytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Skinnytike
Thanks so much for the great review and I hope you will do what your staff want and have all your meetings with us!! It is really nice to receive such complimentary reviews from business colleagues who are working while here and still find time to write in and say how much they enjoyed the visit. The staff all very much appreciate your kind words - thank you.

Please come and revisit us and we all look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our standard twin room was small but clean apart from some stains on the carpet. Beds not comfortable and sound insulation appalling. We could hear the people above us walking around and talking (we could even hear what they were saying). We could also hear them using the loo as well as flushing it! Not nice at all. Bathroom good size but nowhere to put toiletries. Lounge area comfortable but without atmosphere. Breakfast OK but not much choice. We loved Bournemouth but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleurie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Fleurie81
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review and I do apologise that you appear to have been surrounded by noisy people. I do wish you had mentioned this at the time when we could have resolved the issue and moved you to a quieter spot. It is always so difficult to try to resolve these matters satisfactorily after you have gone. That said I am pleased you brought the matter to my attention and we shall be making greater efforts to ensure that a repeat does not occur.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Efficient reception but no offer to assist with luggage. Bleak all white decor at bit hospital-like yet corridors so dark had to peer closely at every door until could find allocated single room which was cupboard like but clean.
Decided dinner menu expensive so having dinined out returned to a lounge that stank of stale food ( fish ) and a flat-screen television showing football at high volume. Nowhere quiet or comfortable to sit. My bar order for a spirit and mixer had to be repeated several times to east european with barely any english language - but this to be expected in most UK hotels.
Toast and tea at breakfast excellent but self-service cooked items looked as they had been resident for some hours and not kept very hot, thus had to be eaten quickly unless you like cold bacon and baked beans.
Having to pay £2 to park is an absolute cheek and the Checkpoint Charlie barriers hinted that the area might be a bit rough and parked cars vulnerable to vandalism or theft.
For a cheap one night stay it was tolerable but proves the point that if you buy on price which I did more as an experiment to see how Best Western deliver at that level, best have no expectations of anything other than the receiving just the basics.

Room Tip: Take a torch and side / back rooms quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunbeamSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

SunbeamSussex
Thank you for the review which I detected was a tad prickly. I'm sorry you had to endure the football in the lounge but we do democratically choose the channel to be shown. As far as the parking is concerned the East Cliff side of Bournemouth is in fact the safe and trouble free area and the reason for the barriers is to stop the neighbouring college students using our car park which inconveniences our guests. We charge a token fee and you will I am sure be heartened to learn that from this money we donate significantly to Julia's House - a local hospice for children with shortened life expectancy.
My apologies that you seemed to find fault with these issues but I take great comfort from reading the very many other most complimentary reviews!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Royale for 3 nights from the 11th Nov. (2 x adults and a 3 year old). We had the choice of one of the family rooms in the hotel or one of the Chalet family Rooms. We chose the chalet room and it was perfect. A good size room with a double bed and a single bed. IT was clean and nicely decorated. It was accross the car park from the swimming pool which we used every day, most times we were in the pool on our own which was great.
Breakfast was good as was the evening meal we had there on the last night. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was a problem. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Charlotte S

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

After making a late decision to stop the night in Bournemouth, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Room and bathroom were of a good size, bed very soft but comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, hairdryer available in one of the drawers (but a bit old!), Flatscreen TV, but most importantly, it was very clean. We ate at the hotel restaurant and would recommend it - excellent food and service. Breakfast was also very good with everything you'd need and want, together with friendly and efficient staff. If we'd had more time, would've looked forwards to using the swimming pool (towels were provided at reception). Though we stopped on a monday night, the hotel seemed to be in a quiet location, with no noise from surrounding areas. Overall, not a 5* luxury hotel, but clean, comfortable and homely, and we'd have happily stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Rob K

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your friends and work colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $63 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing