We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Needed something relatively cheap, close to the seafront and town and comfortable for 1 night in Bournemouth. And this hotel provided exactly that!

Booked a double room for myself and my girlfriend for just £57 a night (room only) which I think is very reasonable. We ended up getting one of the outdoor studio rooms which was nice as it meant less noise and easier access. The room was basic, but the bed was comfortable and it was very clean. The bathroom looked quite new too.

Staff were very welcoming and friendly upon our arrival and equally as nice when we checked out. The reception area and bar looked very modern and cosy but we didn't really make time to enjoy these more.

In terms of location it was ideal. Parking is only £2 for 24 hours and there was plenty available. The Hotel itself was about a 15-20 minute stroll to the town centre and sea front- you could probably walk it quicker but we were in no rush!

In all, we would certainly choose this hotel again and recommend it to others! Perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the external studio rooms if you can, especially if you have a family. You can park y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daggerchristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
daggerchristof
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    545
    166
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
553
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

From the Warm Welcome to the sorry farewell, I can honestly say that my stay at the Hotel Royale was 2nd to none. The Staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the Room was superbly comfortable; I've never slept so well and the housekeeping standard was excellent! The restaurant dining was a little bit of heaven on a plate (compliments to the chef) and the waiting staff were wonderful. The Hotel was close to all amenities. All in all, it was a VERY enjoyable experience. I felt both welcome and at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Sallie C
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your friends and work colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

my wife and i got married in this hotel ten years ago ,and returned for our tenth anniversary. it is now owned by best western, and called a different name now ,so we were a bit apprehensive ,what to expect ....well i can say is ....amazing.... from the minute we arrived we were made welcome-- all reception staff were very good at there job ,very friendly and helpfull ,housekeeping had put a box of chocolates in our room ,as they must of known it was our 10th anniversary
--the room ...very nice & clean was of good decor ,had balcony room,very nice..(balcony rail could do with some repair though.)
--on suite bathroom.. very impressed was roomy and very clean also an amazing shower
--breakfast...the breakfast was one of nicest breakys had for a while ,it was a buffet style,with just about everything ,juices-fruit-cereal-pastry-and full hot selection ,only down side for me ,was no mushrooms,as an option
--dinner ..food in resturant was very good ,with a really good choice
--to sum up all the staff at the royal were ..kind, friendly,very hospitable
---we would and will return to this hotel in near future ..well done to all staff at the hotel royal

Room Tip: first floor ,front, balcony ,cant go wrong ..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Simon C
I was delighted to read such a comprehensive and complimentary review about the hotel. I was also pleased that we exceeded your expectations on this special occasion but I do hope that you won't leave it another 10 years before revisiting! The staff were all really happy to see the review and I do really appreciate your taking the time to write it.
Please come and see us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed (again) at this hotel, and it gets it right, every time. The rooms are fine and clean, the location is a 10 minute walk from the town centre and the staff are friendly and helpful (special mention to Desmond, always a pleasure). Breakfast is good and what you would expect, car parking is good and not too cramped (unlike some other hotels). I can't pretend this is luxurious, it's not, but it does what it does really well, and I like it for that. I will be back, for sure.

I didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: The lift only takes 2 people, so sometimes takes a while to be available at checkout times. But a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
DR
High praise indeed from a Senior Reviewer !! thank you and your promise to revisit us is all the encouragement we need. The staff really appreciate reviewers taking the trouble to write good and complimentary words about the hotel and it does help lift the morale.
Many thanks and please come and see us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

the word "nice" sums up this establishment well. The staff were unfailingly pleasant the food appertising the room and ensuite liveable the parking acceptable. However maybe because our visit was at the end of the season, nothing really pushed the hotel past the NICE mark. Shame really, as it would not take much more to make this highly critical reviewer, rate this property higher like, really nice to great!
A new mattress was supplied on request and it was just a short walk in the rain to the town centre. You could very easily do a lot worse in this town, this place could sparkle at the start of a season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
roadtripbob
Thank you for taking the trouble to review us so highly. I am sorry we could not persuade you higher than 'nice' but bearing in mind your self confessed 'highly critical reviewer' I take the review as a compliment but rest assured we will continue to strive to pull ourselves out of the nice bracket into the 'really nice' bracket. Please visit us again and see how we are getting on!!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent just short of a week at this hotel and it was an entirely pleasant experience. It's very close to the beach, the town centre and the train station. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was extremely comfortable with everything I needed and the restaurant was absolutely superb. In fact, the food was so good that I recommended the restaurant to the friends I was visiting in Bournemouth. I'll definately stay here again, and, in fact, I look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Chris B
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such an appreciative and flattering review. Needless to say we were all extremely happy to read it and do thank you very much. The chef was delighted that his efforts were acknowledged and lauded so highly. It always makes the staff's day when they read such generous compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and again our sincere thanks

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing