We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with a great team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with a great team”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Spent a long weekend here at a Masonic Ladies Weekend
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and eager to please. Without exception everyone in the hotel went out of their way to ensure the weekend was a great success. They were not perfect, but would unhesitatingly put anything right as soon as it was discovered. The food throughout the weekend was excellent, the banquet was superb with food being served hot and well cooked and efficeintly cleared. Rooms very nice almost Boutique style.
I would not hesitate to reccomend this for either a Masonic function, or just a weekend holiday break.
Nick Dawkes
WM Brandwood Lodge 7679

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickjd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    698
    178
    49
    26
See reviews for
390
1,522
126
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Don't believe the pictures, rooms are old fashioned, small TVs, unbalanced furniture and musty smelling. Room service was slow and hideously overpriced for track value salmon and moody lettuce. Would not recommend! On the plus side, nothing especially wrong with the place and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingbutterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We arrived Friday evening and met up with other friends/wedding guests in the lounge bar. A World Cup football match was on the TV in the next lounge but there was no excessive noise. Dinner in the restaurant was first class with excellent service by attentive and friendly staff. Bedtime beckoned in the early hours and we were glad we'd booked an executive room with its huge, comfortable bed. The walk-in wardrobe had plenty of room for cases and bags - and had plenty of coathangers too - why do other hotels seem to skimp on them? You can never have too many. The bathroom was modern with a super shower. Plenty of new, clean towels on the heated towel rail.
Next morning our paper arrived with a discreet knock on our door. A quick look at the crossword sitting out on the balcony which overlooked the patio area.
Breakfast was a pleasure. Individually greeted by the smiling restaurant staff and shown to a table near to our friends. Coffee/tea served immediately (and topped up as often as you like), and a hot buffet breakfast, served to you by a helpful waiter/waitress, with good food and plenty of it. A good selection of fruit and cereals too for the healthy eaters.
After breakfast we took advantage of the hotel's convenient location by taking the short walk to the seafront, then a leisurely walk to, and past the pier. We hopped on to the cliff lift which whisked us from the beach area to the top, for the walk back into Bournemouth town centre. A wander round - enhanced by the French market in place that day - then the short walk back to The Connaught.
The afternoon wedding reception started with drinks on the patio. We then moved into a large room with well laid out tables and seating where our meal was served. The waiting staff were again friendly and attentive. After the speeches the staff quickly moved the tables out of the way leaving a reasonable sized dance floor. We all made good use of that until gone midnight. There was a small bar in the same room, again with good, friendly service.
After a full day it was back to our executive room, which had been cleaned and tidied immaculately for us, and another good night's sleep.
Another excellent breakfast the following morning, followed by coffee in the lounge before saying farewell to our fellow guests and commencing our journey back home to the Midlands.
The whole hotel experience could not have been better - from the initial on-line booking which was dead-easy, through to the welcome by the friendly reception staff. Plenty of room in the hotel carpark, and if it is full, an invitation to double-park and just hand your keys in to the reception. No hassle whatsoever. Excellent lounge bar, restaurant, and room. Friendly service - nothing too much trouble.
I can thoroughly recommend the Connaught!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonPalfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2010

From the time I check into the hotel I realised that my stay would be pleasant. The hotel was clean and staff very friendly, informative and helpful. I was offered services like Wi-Fi help with cases and local maps etc. The Reception member of Staff a young man called Tom offered any local knowledge if required and explain meal times etc with enthusiasm for his job.
He advised of the gym facilities and when I said I be using them he said he work in the gym as well and offered help if required on machines functions etc.

As stated above all the hotel staff where please and helpful.

I be happy to recommend if you like customer service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowtom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in the main Hotel not the lodge and I have to say we had wonderful service there for my daughter Katie and Stevens wedding reception. The staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them, service was with a smile at all times. The manager was very helpful and attentive. The rooms were very clean and presentable and there was a group of us so we had a few rooms. The food at the reception was excellent and the breakfast was a good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurts and full english. The hotel is very well placed for both the sea front and towncentre and I would fully recommend it from our experience there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuriDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We visited Bournemouth to see our Daughter take part in a local sports contest so were looking for a local hotel just to sleep in. The Best Western however was much more. From the quality of the Rooms, to the top class cooking in the restaurant the service we received was nothing short of excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisBrunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed at the hotel with 5 colleagues for a conference. The staff were really helpful, pleasant and added to the enjoyment of our stay. The pool is lovely as are the outside seating areas, some of the rooms look tired but the refurbished rooms are completed to a high standard. I would happily recommend the hotel to friends, family and colleagues visiting Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigwullie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing