We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, , remarkable service a truly delightful experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have just left the Connaught Hotel today, after staying for 3 nights and found the whole experience truly amazing, from the moment one enters the magnificent building , one is greeted by a warm smile and a marvellous welcome. The hotel is beautifully decorated from the lounge to the bedrooms, and everything is immaculate. The cleanliness is second to none. I took my friend Mr Sam Shinde on a 3 day break, as we usually go to Bournemouth, what a change from last year when we stayed at the Royal Bath Hotel, everything about this hotel is great , except perhaps for its position, however it is only a short walk to the town and beach.
The service from all of the staff is more than one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Every member of the staff was courteous and one felt as if one was staying at the Dorchester in London.
Nothing was too much trouble, the room was beautifully clean and we had a balcony , the only slight niggle I had was that one had to put the keycard outside the bathroom in order to operate the light , however that was a minor aberration as everything else was first class, the breakfast was second to none and the quality of the food and service far above our expectations.
I truly defy anyone to go there and not feel the same.
I am looking forward to going back there next summer when my friend will be bringing his wife and 2 children to experience this delightful hotel. The ambience, the food, the cleanliness and the service were truly exceptional
~Well done to all and sundry , keep up the magnificent standard, I cant wait to go back next year.
Mr G Samuel

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor if possible with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregorynortholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you very much Gregory for your "Truly Wonderful Review" which is very much appreciated by each and everyone of us. We look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has everything we needed; a good sized room with balcony; a car park that literally packed in cars belonging to residents; good food; lovely places to relax both inside and outside; along with two gyms and a large indoor pool. Delightful staff made us feel very welcome, from the receptionist and bar staff to the "old school" type of service provided in the restaurant. We loved every minute of it.

There are two outside areas, one for taking breakfast in a beautiful secluded garden, and the other where you may relax or take a drink, and again in another secluded part of the grounds.

The location of the hotel is ideal, being only a five minute walk to the beach, town, and restaurants; and Bournemouth itself it a good place to use as a base for visiting other locations like Poole and the Isle of Wight.

On the down side though, the bedrooms did not have air conditioning which should be an essential addition when planning the next improvement programme.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra to ensure you have a balcony as you will need the fresh air during warm we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Sounds as though you had a really enjoyable experience Halfy and we thank you for writing your "Excellent" review.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I have once more enjoyed a wonderful 3 day break at The Connaught!! This really is a fantastic hotel with excellent service, friendly staff and superb food. Can't wait to return and would recommend this hitel to anyone visiting Bournemouth. A big thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

And a very big thank you to you too JHT for your 5 star review and for your persistence in getting it published on the right hotel site!!

Best wishes and I look forward to seeing you again soon

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently had a very pleasant stay at the Best Western Connaught. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the staff were very well trained and efficient both at reception and in the restaurant. I would particularly like to mention Nicky the head waiter who ran the restaurant with precision. This is the first hotel we have stayed in where they provided gluten- free alternatives and jam and marmalade for diabetics. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Ahne for your "Excellent" review - Nicky was delighted to be mentioned and he is very much on top of these special dietary requirements.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Lily Room with its luxurious bathroom and amazing jacuzzi bath, bubbles, lights and music, it was great! The room itself was lovely, very clean and the beds were really comfortable. No air conditioning but a fan was supplied which in my opinion was far better.
We dined in Blakes restaurant on both nights of our stay and had two delicious meals and had the pleasure of meeting the charming but very professional Maître D Nicki who impressed us with his vast knowledge of wines and provided us with two very strong but very nice glasses of Grappa at the end of our meal on the last night.
All of the staff at the Connaught were incredibly friendly from the lady that greeted us on reception, the two people serving behind the bars, the servers at breakfast and every person we came into contact with were absolutely fantastic.
As well as the wonderful meal in Blakes we had a lovely cream tea and also had a huge breakfast each morning outside on the terrace with everything you could wish for and always served with a smile.
Thank you to everyone for making our weekend a very special one, we will be returning!!

Room Tip: The Lily a Room with jacuzzi bath was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4SmithsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

What a wonderful review 4Smiths, thank you so much. The Lily room with its all singing all dancing Jacuzzi is very popular but for general information this room can only be booked direct with the hotel. Thank you also for the review your wrote separately about Blakes - Nicky is hugely knowledgeable about his wines and loves sharing his experiences with the guests. Delighted you enjoyed afternoon tea - very much a favourite nowaday.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I travel across England and Wales staying in hotels for my job and this was my first stay.

Very friendly and professional reception staff. The restaurant staff attentive yet not overly in your space. The quality of the food, the cleanliness of the room was first class.

Nothing was too much trouble.

I have booked to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you very much JAS for your very generous review - hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Bournemouth is a beautiful slice of British seaside and my stay at the Connaught made it all the more pleasureable.
Amazing food (the steak was superb) wine from the directors list, a wonderful massage in the spa and a delightful room. Bliss

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

A "Blissful" review Nikki, thank you very much. Hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,655 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing