We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Warm welcome at reception, excellent room and superb food in Blakes restaurant and for breakfast.Good sized room and bathroom, free WiFi and easy walking distance of town centre.Very good value for money. Car park a little cramped bug otherwise excellent !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stylesr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Delighted to read that you had such an "excellent Stay" and thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,712 - 1,718 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I came here for a weekend of Scrapbooking and as I only ventured out of the hotel once in the whole weekend for a quick look at the sea (just at the end of the road), I don't feel qualified to comment on the location except to say that the immediate area was rather scruffy. That didn't bother me as I didn't intend moving from the hotel so it could have been anywhere.

The hotel is in 2 parts as an annexe right next door had recently been purchased. My single room was in the main hotel. On arrival I was struck by how lovely the reception area was. The cleanest, shiniest floor imaginable & 2 sofas facing each other with a fire blazing away. Very cosy. Also on this floor was the large bar area where we purchased a delicious lunch and the restaurant where we ate a scrummy breakfast each morning. The pool was also on this floor but I'm ashamed to say that I didn't even look at it.

My single room was small but very comfortable. No view to speak of but I was hardly in the room. The bathroom was a decent size & looked brand new. My only criticism would have to be the shower (which was over the bath). It was boiling hot & when I tried to turn the temperature down the pump, which I'm guessing was under the bath, started making some very strange noises. It was ok. I had a bath instead & reported the shower. As it was the weekend I didn't expect anyone to look at the shower but I've requested that room again for next year so am waiting to see if it was sorted out! There was a kettle with tea, coffee & hot chocolate which was replenished each day.

Every meal that I had in the hotel was delicious and beautifully presented. There was plenty to choose at breakfast. No one would ever go hungry.

The staff, without exception, were wonderful. Polite, jovial and nothing was too much trouble. We had a conference room set aside for our Scrapbooking and they made sure that we never ran out of tea, coffee, squash, water or delicious biscuits. I can't emphasise enough how well we were looked after.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and am looking forward to returning next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

A lovely, very comprehensive review SueLyn, thank you very much. We really do have a really super team of boys and girls at the Connaught as confirmed by a huge number of Trip reviews - thank you. I have written to you separately about the problem with the pump - please do let me know which room you occupied so that we can deal with it. See you next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stylish (yet comfortable) rooms, fantastic location and very friendly staff. The variety and quality of the breakfast was very good. The Lounge bar was spacious and very welcoming. Location, Location, Location - right in the heart of Bournemouth with easy access to the sea front or town centre

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

A "Real Gem" of a review Rob, thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a good hotel which is close to the town cenre and beaches. The breakfast was very good free parking free Wi Fi and the free Gym and Swimming pool were very good.. The staff were pleasant and helpful great to have Free Parking. The bedroom was good a few small points a bit on mould on the celing over the top of the bed. The toilet was cramped against a wall and very awkward to sit on.. Very small point the town centre map provided by the hotel reception was very poor small hard to read and of poor quality

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you very much SwashyWBA for your "Good Hotel" review. Your points are well made and we have been in touch - the damp patch has now been dealt with, thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here supporting a friends masonic ladies weekend - even the superior rooms are a little basic, but clean. Odd ruling about not eating bar snacks in the lounge/bar (due to new carpet) so you have to go into the restaurant and sit down even to grab a quick sandwich! Gather they might have relaxed this rule now as it was a few months since our stay as I forgot to do the review at the time. Food during the actual function was good but in the restaurant the night before it could have been better

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrocksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Crocks

Thank you for your kind review - for clarification (please see below) our superior rooms are about size or the benefit of a balcony. Afternoon tea is served in the drawing room and it is used for pre-dinner drinks before dining in our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. The restriction has nothing to do about the new carpet which also runs into the restaurant!! We wish to avoid the smell of cooked food in this middle room which tends to linger and is not very pleasant for other guests. I hope you enjoyed the Ladies' Festival and look forward to seeing you once more.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Taking a break from cruising this spring we decided to visit the wonderful town of Bournemouth. We arrived on the the 5th March for 3 nights and were able to go up to our room before official check in. The 3rd floor room was extremely clean and nicely appointed with a balcony. We liked having a teapot !
There are no sea view rooms due to its location but the gardens are well kept and it's a very quick walk to the sea front ( five mins). There are two bars, one of which was very cosy situated next to the dining room. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive with nothing too much trouble. The maître d was fantastic and always offered us coffee after breakfast and evening meal when we read the complimentary newspapers in the cosy settee area next to the fire. The spa maintained high standards in our opinion despite undergoing refurbishment and remaining open. My Swedish massage was one of the best I have had by a lovely young lady (name escapes me) who had been there for a number of years (which is always a good sign ). The food was top notch. Breakfast provided a great choice of cereals, fresh and dried fruits and the cooked breakfast was of the highest quality. We had an evening meal there and were very impressed with the excellent presentation of the food and it's quality. Only thing to mention that wasn't perfect was the soundproofing as it was an old building. On one night our next door occupants arrived back late and could be heard talking loudly through the walls. They were apologetic when we asked them to tone it down though. That said - We are definitely booking again this year and can see why it has such a high rating.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on the 3rd floor facing the garden. There are suites too. Definitely quieter higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Such a "Wonderful" comprehensive review of our hotel and staff SuziandSam and we all would like to thank you very much, in particular, Hannah in the Spa and Nicki, our maitre d'. Hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Beautifully presented hotel in a superb location.5 min walk to sea front and 10minutes to town center and shopping. Very quiet room. Lovely decorated rooms very warm and cosy. Extremely friendly staff. Pool and steam room a delight after a hard days work.
Breakfast has a vast choice to suit everybody.
Have booked to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubble34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back Bubble - thank you very much indeed for your very "Lovely Hotel" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $99 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing