We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$200
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$127
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$50
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,047)
Filter reviews
3,047 results
Traveler rating
1,960
789
209
56
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,960
789
209
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblakes restaurantorchid suitespa facilitieslovely hotelexecutive roomthe main hotelswimming poolsteam room and saunabreakfast was excellenttown centreshort breakcar parkwest cliffrestaurant managerenjoyable staythird floorbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,937 - 1,942 of 3,047 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed on a quite night in November, I have not stayed here for some time but was not disappointed, very nice welcome from reception, and nice room with very comfy bed.
Breakfast was very nice with gluten free bread supplied.
The only downsides are that some of the corridors areas are looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Many thanks Gerremys for your "Great" review. The halls, stairs and landings are being worked on as we speak - we are currently on the first floor which is why you probably didn't notice the decorators!! It should all be done by the time you return.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Anne and I have recently returned from our fourth 5/6 nights holiday visits to The Connaught Hotel. Simply a privilege and pleasure being a guest. The very high standard, which has been maintained by all members of staff, has prompted us to already make arrangements to return twice again in 2014. Please read my previous Reviews dated May/November 2012, and those I have written regarding Blakes Restaurant which is located within the Hotel.

Room Tip: The Reception Staff, who are very helpful, will advise you in this connection.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Always at your service Michael. Thank you very much for your lovely review and also for the review that you posted on TripAdvisor for our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the reception area very modern and the staff on arrival very professional, the room was a superior room, but I feel superior was not the right word, Having stayed a couple of times in a travel lodge the room was of similar quality, the room was very hot and we had to have the windows open during the night the solution to this problem was to use the fan stored in the wardrobe, defeats the object of having silence when you are trying to sleep. We were asked if we would like to change rooms, however looked at the proposed room it was in the same area just a few rooms down which would have made no difference to the room we were already in, so we declined the offer, A small fountain in the courtyard below kept me awake the sound of water echoing in a yard is very annoying at night, however after asking the reception if this could be silenced at night they quickly accommodated the request. The mattress was past its best and very uncomfortable, The breakfast was typically English, the mushrooms from a tin, the bread must be the cheapest quality available, no bread rolls, which I heard being asked for on more than one occasion by others.

If you didn't want to use the Restaurant to eat on an evening, you could eat from a bar menu, however the seating area made you feel you were sitting in the middle of a dance floor, no atmosphere at all, the food was over cooked, and bland. We had one meal in Bake's restaurant very nice staff and very professional, but the portions were a bit on the small side for the price but the food was good. Pool and spa were good but in need of some attention in certain areas.

I have no complaints regarding the staff and service they were all very professional, small points like the bread, the eating area in the bar, and food in general should be addressed otherwise what's the point of making these reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Not quite sure why you have written the same review as your partner "Bougainville" - entitled "Disappointed", Anthony - your feelings were well documented the first time around!!

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves whilst visiting Bournemouth for our daughter's graduation last week.

I cannot remember having received such a warm and friendly greeting from hotel staff, ever. And that friendly, courteous approach extended to every member of staff we met during our two night stay.

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms were too hot; we couldn't understand it as the radiators were switched off. We had to open the windows but it didn't affect our sleep as it's a fairly quiet area.

We had room service on the first night which was excellent; a meal in the afternoon in the brasserie which was also good although the 3-times cooked chips were more like potato wedges and not particularly special. We also dined in Blakes in the evening and that was amazing - Nicky and his team work as a team and you don't often see that. Fab food and service.

Breakfast was good to excellent although it would have been nice to see a bigger selection of prepared fruit, I think. Plenty of fruit in the fruit bowl. Poached or boiled eggs available on request - in fact, just ask and you'll probably get it.

Our room (33) was an excellent size although we had to do quite a bit of furniture shuffling as you couldn't see the TV from bed if the dressing table chair was left in situ. Great bed and bedding and plenty of sockets.

Very small bathroom, especially given the size of the room. Shower over bath was fine but bath was narrow. Everything was spotless.

So why not 5*; well, sadly, I felt the spa area let everything down. There was no-one on reception when we arrived and, not knowing the rules, we thought we could get towels from the changing room; we couldn't. The changing rooms are a huge let down. The toilets are separate as in they're down the corridor and that's where the broken spin dryer was. In our room we had lovely soap and body moisturiser provided; in the spa it was rather cheap and nasty.

When I returned, dripping, to reception to get towels, there was still no-one there. I rang the bell several times and waited - nothing. So I knocked on the door as I'd heard voices and was told that someone had taken the buzzer home (er why?) and, if this is so, why wasn't there a notice to say so?

When we left the spa, you're supposed to put your towels in an inaccessible basket behind the spiral staircase - who thought of that?

We didn't have any spa treatments but understood from others that they were terrific.

The pool, spa pool, steam room and sauna are lovely but only one shower by the pool was working.

Having said all of this about the spa in general; we would absolutely recommend this hotel and we had a great time. Get the spa area and staff up to scratch and you'll get 5* from me.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ecobarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your "Wonderful" review Ecobarts and also for the review that you posted about Blakes, our award-winning restaurant!! The changing rooms in the Spa are on our to do list and the refurbishment of this area is scheduled for the beginning of the New Year - apologies about having trouble finding the attendant and your comments have been brought to her attention. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and we look forward to the pleasure of your company in 2014.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We only stayed one night .... but it was really worth it. Very friendly welcome. The receptionist was very smiley and helpful. Told us everything without overloading us! The room was amazing, very clean and the beds very comfortable. Great shower, not one that drips out! The staff dining room staff were also friendly and helpful. We will stay again, but for longer next time. Excellent place to be calm and wind down. Not far from town either :-)

Room Tip: Floor 2 room 26 excellent
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We do our best Charlie!! Thank you for your fabulous, 5 star review and hopefully we will see you again in the New Year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews