We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I purchased 2 x spa days from Groupon for an amazing price. Myself and 3 friends arrived and warmly welcomed for coffee in a lovely lounge area. The staff were very attentive. During our treatments (which were all included) it was so relaxing. Again the staff were so good. Lunch was also included from an extensive menu to include champagne. Easily as good as any 5star hotel. We all left around 5pm feeling very relaxed and thoroughly raving about the quality of the service and treatment we had. I will definitely be booking again. Thank you Connaught and all your staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Glad you all enjoyed the experience Wandal - thank you very much for your "Brilliant" review and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,885)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a couple of nights stay and found the hotel very pleasant. One thing I would commend are the staff who were excellent. The hotel reception area and bar have recently been refurbished and achieved a good standard. Also enjoyed use of complimentary pool and spa. A nice way to relax after a day out. Bedrooms nice although bathrooms a bit on the small side. Breakfast good choice and decent full English .very close to town centre and good on site parking. Overall I would say good value for money. When the balance of upgrades has been completed I think it would take it to a better level.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Coming from a well travelled man Jim your review is very complimentary and much appreciated - thank you. It's been quite a project refurbishing this hotel but we are nearly finished, with the halls, stairs and landings currently being work on and the changing rooms in the leisure club to be completed in January.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nothing seemed to much trouble for any of the staff. The room was very comfortable and spacious. the food was excellent in taste and quality. The new decor within the reception area set the tone for the service the hotel delivers

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1timeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much 1Timeele for the lovely review - glad you had a most enjoyable stay with us.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights here as was in town for a friends wedding. Many had waxed lyrical that this is one of Bournemouth's best hotels and I would beg to differ. On the positive side, I thought the staff were fantastic and check in was probably one of the most professional and efficient I have ever experienced. In the public areas of the hotel, it is modern, clean and fresh. Go up to the accommodation floors though and it's like being in a different place altogether. Dated, dismal and depressing. I was also surprised to find a room with a single bed. Not sure if this is a local norm but this was a first for me. Granted it was comfortable at least. But I was looking forward to a stay in an upscale hotel, and instead it felt like a student room. The bathroom, clearly newly appointed was spotlessly clean and well lit but tiny. I had to have the bathroom door open in order to bend to use the sink! Had breakfast in the main restaurant (I think called Blake's) which was a) boiling hot and b) silent and devoid of any atmosphere. It felt like the day room of an old peoples home. I'm English but have lived outside the UK for many years so was looking forward to traditional English breakfast. I was disappointed to see chafing dishes and barely-warm food and sadly found the breakfast quite average. For a few nights stay it was perfectly adequate but bit really not what I was expecting. I would probably stay at more known chain or boutique hotel in Bournemouth the next time I am there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank marshallh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Many thanks for your review Harry and my apologies for your obvious disappointment. We advertise single rooms and they are exactly that and of course it is reflected in the the price - the alternative is a double room for single occupancy which most people opt for these days. Coming from Singapore everything is so modern and there are no such things as single rooms in the main hotels so I totally understand your view. The corridors, stairs and landings are in the middle of being refurbished and should be completed before Christmas. I have written to you separately and hope to see you back here next year!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from 2 days at this fab hotel . Stayed there in Feb and was not disappointed upon our return fresh updated reception and bar areas . Staff are so attentive and nothing is too much for them they are constantly cleaning . Good food in the bar area and breakfast was fab with lots of choice .
Would defiantly recommend if you are looking for aBournemouth hotel with 5* service

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

A 5 star review Tracy, thank you very much - see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel has the usual standards of a Best Western.
Not stayed here before but looks comfortable with average facilities.
My friend hosted her daughter's wedding here and it is a great venue for a civil wedding.
Afterwards we had a mini reception here before going on to a karoke dinner elsewhere.
The appetisers were delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Sounds as though you had a lovely day Tricia - many thanks for your review and hopefully we'll see a little more of you in the future.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A lovely place to stay! Very Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel caters for my gluten free food needs and the food gluten free or not is delicious! Good renovation work has been done on ground floor and hotel acknowledges that more is being done although by no means are the room dilapidated. Nice little place!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks for the "Best in Bournemouth" review Lucy - short, very sweet and to the point!! See you again....

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $104 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing