We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just got back from 4 night stay at The Connaught. For a 3 star hotel it was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was very well presented, clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and they took note of our request for a walk in shower. We ate in the brasserie every night, despite the service being a bit slow on the Monday, where the food was imaginatively presented, tasted great and was well priced. There are a few small signs of refurbishment work but this was not at all off putting. I had a very good treatment at The Bluewater Spa. The few minutes walk to the West Cliff zig zag down to the beach was an added bonus. Would definately stay here again and recommend it to friends. We booked on the hotel website as the room rate was the same as the discount sites were offering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the review KS - it's interesting to note your comments about the "discount" agents. We operate a rate parity policy here as do all Best Western hotels and we guarantee that when you book direct with us you will not find it cheaper anywhere else. The advantage of booking direct is that you get exactly what you are looking for and nothing is left to chance!!
Thank you again, delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,886)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel ticks all the right boxes.Reception is well designed welcoming and is staffed to the highest standards.The room we had was comfortable ,the beds excellent,two nice easy chairs and a well appointed bathroom.Down side was large soap dispensers in bathroom which smacks of budget chains and low wattage bedside lights.
Restaurant was superb for dinner. Choice was more than adequate and presentation was first class all waiting staff were responsive,knowledgeable and immaculately dressed.The cooking was superb.
Wine list had a well chosen range from which to choose .
Breakfast was good quality ,again the waiting staff were attentive and helpful even serving the buffet.Coffee was first class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stillrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Many thanks Still rich and also for your superb review of our award-winning restaurant Blakes which you posted separately. We have now changed those low wattage bedside lights and the lighting is much improved - thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Connaught was surprisingly good for a three star hotel! We stayed there for three nights earlier this month just for a short getaway. It was situated within walking distance (10 mins) of the centre where there were lots of shops and restaurants and three small pretty parks. It was about the same distance to the seaside (this we found a bit too bucket & spade though). We played an enjoyable game of golf at Green Park, hired bikes from Kool Cycles (conveniently just around the corner from the hotel) and rode along the Promenade (6 flat Miles) to Sandbanks (where all the millioniare houses are!) and caught the little ferry across to Brownsea Island.
With regard to the hotel the Reception desk is a bit tired but the Foyer is very plush, comfortable place to sit/ read the paper/ have a drink. The Receptionists were friendly and efficient, as were the waiting staff and chambermaids. The seated areas outside were pleasant for dinner or breakfast and the food was good (though breakfast was a little samey!).
Our Executive room bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were hard and they did'nt have any other choice. The rooms were fairly clean and the bathroom a good size. There was a decent hairdryer & tea & coffee. I do agree with other comments made about some areas being shabby especially the stairways & carpet, I think this might be on their 'doing shortly' list ?

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice little balconys so ask when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipseySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Nice review Flipsey, thank you very much. Hoping to go 4 star later this year once we have completed the halls, stairs and landings. We are currently fitting new carpets to Blakes restaurant and the adjoining lounge bar and it should look fantastic - do pay us another visit and see the changes for yourself!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 20th-21st sept, nice entrance and a welcome smile from the receptionist. Our room was on the 2nd floor , it was very clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities is always welcome and this was in abundance. We had a set menu as we were in a large group for the weekend. The food and service were fab. Breakfast was plentiful and well presented. Hotel is not far from the town centre a lovely park and of course the beach and pier. All in all we really enjoyed our stay staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. We would recommend this hotel and would like to return. P.S forgot to say the pool is lovely and a welcome treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theryansKinksLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Our thanks to theryans for their "lovely" review and we hope to see them all again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Always book direct - lowest prices guaranteed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here on business last week and the hotel is obviously undergoing some refurbishment with some bare plaster in the corridors but the room was good and comfortable, I used the gym which was also good and was impressed with the 18M pool, not often you get a decent sized pool in a hotel. The one thing that really annoys me is the buffet breakfast. When staying in a hotel of this standard I expect my food to be freshly cooked to order and not left standing in Bains Marie for god knows how long so the bacon is dried up and only fit for soleing shoes. Premier Inn can manage to cook breakfasts to order as can the Burger Van on the side of the road so why not a "Quality Hotel"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Del

Buffet breakfasts are clearly a personal issue for you and your general comments are obviously offered in support of your dislike of this system but to be fair they bear no resemblance to what we serve at the Connaught. With over 140 guests every day, 80% of whom descend on the restaurant during a 1 hour window, nothing sits around for a very long time. The majority of hotels these days provide a buffet breakfast including 4 star hotels and we are one of the few to actually serve it - this keeps the buffet well stocked, regularly refreshed and clean!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay and we feel completely refreshed! The hotel staff were friendly, the food was excellent, we loved our room and the spa. We walked into town each day and to the beach in the evenings. We are home now and miss the luxery of it all! Thank you for a great break!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 568Mary_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Delighted to read you had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay with us Mary. Thank you for your lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

excellent hotel in the westcliff area, close to the beach and town centre. Good service and lovely Brazilian lady as housekeeper. Great stay. Very good and wonderful room (n. 9) and a plentiful breakfast I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you Carla for your super review - Marissa was thrilled to get a mention!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,527 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,087 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $104 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing