We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little break by the sea...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“A little break by the sea...”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay and we feel completely refreshed! The hotel staff were friendly, the food was excellent, we loved our room and the spa. We walked into town each day and to the beach in the evenings. We are home now and miss the luxery of it all! Thank you for a great break!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 568Mary_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Delighted to read you had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay with us Mary. Thank you for your lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    704
    180
    50
    28
See reviews for
393
1,537
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

excellent hotel in the westcliff area, close to the beach and town centre. Good service and lovely Brazilian lady as housekeeper. Great stay. Very good and wonderful room (n. 9) and a plentiful breakfast I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you Carla for your super review - Marissa was thrilled to get a mention!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently stayed on a short break at this hotel with family. The hotel is in a great location, friendly staff (especially Irene) and very clean. The leisure facilities are also an added attraction to the hotel. We were allocated a 2nd floor bedroom with a balcony. Thank you to Paul and his team for such a great stay.

Room Tip: Second floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLEEWELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Many thanks to you too Pleewels for your "excellent" review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in early September and had a superior twin room on the top floor. The room was very comfortable and was newly fitted out. We had a small balcony overlooking the patio where people were dining. It was vey quiet considering the central location. A good breakfast. The hotel was very busy but we were able to find a space in the car park.

The only downside was that the room was quite hot, being in the eaves of the roof. We would return though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Many thanks for the review John and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a short late break. On initial entry at reception the appearance was very impressive and the room was ready early. The facilities in the room, bar area, dining room and leisure area were all very good. We had dinner in the restaurant on 3 occasions and on each occasion there was a slight problem: on the first night the chef's special (roast beef) had run out by 7.30; on the second night it took the starter 40 minutes to arrive due to a large party (8); on the third night the chef's special (chicken) had again run out. In fairness to the restaurant staff they were very apologetic and on each occasion were quick to offer an upgrade to the meal or a complementary drink. The quality and presentation of the food on every occasion was outstanding with a special mention of the peach and raspberry trifle which had an unusual presentation. The staff in all departments were most helpful. We would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsmith766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your superb review John despite the problems you experienced with the shortages on our menu for which I apologise. I was really pleased to read that we managed to make up for it and in no way did it spoil your enjoyment.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked for 2 nights this September at the Connaught. Found via Google as a spa hotel in Bournemouth and verified by Tripadvisor as a top hotel in the area we though we would give this a try as our first trip to Bournemouth.
Made the booking by telephone and was effortless - went for a standard for 2 nights with breakfast. Mentioned it was my wife's Birthday and without provocation said they would see what they could do.
Travelled in by train so first pointer, grab a cab, cost £7, but will save you walking the myriad of roads to get there.
We arrived at 11am - way before check in to ask our bags to be stored, but amazingly the room was ready 4 hours ahead of check in! Ireana on the desk was faultless with her run down of the hotel, together with map and directions to get around town. We showed ourselves to our room (room 2) which was up a little set of stairs and was no at all disappointed. For a standard room it was big, well furnished, very clean and tidy with Best Western touches. Bathroom was big with shower too, really couldn't have asked for more. However just to top the experience the hotel had left a Birthday card for my wife plus a voucher for two complimentary drinks at the bar.
The beach really is a five minute walk from the hotel, with beautiful beaches and a shopping town which is second to none.
That afternoon we spared no time and went straight for the pool. Its underground which is kind of cool, and can be accessed via a lift or stairs in the bar. Once again staff effortless and friendly in showing us around. Theres a fully equipped gym, sauna, eucalyptus room, Jacuzzi and 18m swimming pool. Great thing too is that it wasn't busy and you felt like you had the place to yourself!
Had a good nights sleep, nice flat screen in room, and awoke for breakfast. Buffet style continental and cooked so you just can't go wrong, and caters for gluten free if needed.
Only regret is that we had to leave a night early to get back, and alas missed out on a comfy night and another breakfast.
Will certainly return there on next visit, and when you see the rating as one of the best in Bournemouth - well it is...go have fun, shop till you drop, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so very much katman for your very comprehensive and hugely complimentary review which is very much appreciated by one and all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We wanted to spend a few days in Bournemouth so just trawled through lots of hotels on this site (for ratings), and all hotel booking sites. Didn't want to spend a fortune on a short break but wanted a nice decent clean hotel with attractive decor, a pool, garden, breakfast and parking etc, as well as being close to the town centre. I'm happy to say, we found all of these qualities at the Connaught!

Friendly welcome from Reception staff on arrival and able to check in 2 hours early even though our room couldn't be accessed until normal check in time we could at least explore the hotel & spa, get an early parking space and have a wander around the town / sea front.

Our room was comfortable and very clean, with a view over the terrace garden as we requested. It would be nice to see a few tall conifers along the side of the Connaught Lodge as we felt that this sort of spoilt the lovely terrace garden view. This room was one of the largest in size for a standard double and I'll be honest in saying it needed a little bit more space but it suited us just fine for a short break, after all, we would be out most of the day and evening so it was no problem at all. I would also like to mention that the room and bathroom (also very clean!) had adequate lighting and well placed plug sockets! This is something that other hotels can get very wrong. The bedding was changed and room cleaned every morning.

The lobby area has been tastefully decorated (I would like to know where the wallpaper came from in Reception, very nice!), everything is very clean (floors, walls, seating) and in good order.

The bar area is spacious (it also remained open until fairly late) and there is a small terrace area which is nice and relaxing especially for a late drink on a warm evening. Service at the bar was pleasant and friendly. Drinks as you would expect for hotel prices.

Breakfast times are well managed and organised. There is a good selection of hot food + all the juices, cereals and some breakfast pastries. It is a buffet breakfast but someone will serve the hot food for you... and I have to say that this was the best hotel cooked breakfast I have ever had:) Everything was cooked to perfection! I try to avoid eating sausages (not a big meat eater) but the sausages served at the Connaught were the best ever! Compliments to the Breakfast Chef!

We didn't eat at Blakes restaurant as we wanted to venture into town but if we ever return to this hotel I'm sure we would try the evening menu as it is meant to be one of the best places in Bournemouth for dining out.

We used the hotel pool and jacuzzi, I also used the gym (very briefly!) all well maintained and clean.

It was nice to see the hotel manager / owner 'David' a few times in the lobby area, talking to guests etc.. not something you see in every hotel. If we ever decide to return to Bournemouth in the near future we would definitely look at booking this hotel as it is very good value for a 3* rating (should be 4* in many aspects!). I am also thinking of booking a room for my parents as a treat for next year.

Only one thing really annoyed me :( but this is no reflection on the hotel at all: some guests seemed to be very careless and stupidly scratched my car when leaving the car park! After this I decided to find an end space in the car park, with a bit more room!

Places to visit nearby are the Lower Gardens, Poole / Poole Harbour - very nice! Sandbanks & Sandbanks Beach - very very nice! All about 20 mins drive from the hotel. We also went to Branksome Beach which is also nice but not as lovely as Sandbanks.

Room Tip: Due to the age and style of the building each room is of a different size, some small, some large or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It's fair to say, JPS, that Michael Winner could not have written a more balanced and comprehensive review of our entire hotel and its facilities, thank you very much. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing