We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for short break”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family of 4 took a last minute short break here and chose the hotel due to good reviews. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, although the receptionist was unable to recommend a "gastro pub" in the area (she seemed unsure what we meant and recommended the local Harvester).
We had 2 rooms, one basic and one superior, which is worth the extra for the space. Both rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Beds are comfortable, but pillows are hard which may not be to everybody's taste. Although the weather was not particularly hot the hotel corridors and rooms are all really hot and we had to have a fan (provided) on all night as the windows didn't open very widely in our patio facing room. The room on the opposite side, however, had a great breeze blowing through so was more comfortable.
There is renovation work in progress in the hallways, and this is needed as it is outdated and tired. If the management keep to the style they have put into the lobby the hotel will look fabulous. I think they should consider air-con units in the rooms as it would have been very uncomfortable if the weather had been any warmer.
PS. the gastro pub we found was called the "Curlew", about 20 mins drive away and well worth the trip!

Room Tip: Better view from rooms facing the patio area, but rooms facing the carpark got a decent breeze blowi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentJuliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Julia, thank you for your super review and for your recommendation of the Curlew as a good Gastro Pub - this is now on our list as is the Goat and Tricycle just along the road. Glad you approve of our new look and the corridors, stairs and landings will be of a similar standing - all done by Christmas, if not before.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    724
    186
    52
    29
See reviews for
402
1,577
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I wanted to find somewhere to stay which would give us both a relaxing break and The Connaught Hotel did just that. We stayed in room 37 an executive room and it was ideal, a huge bathroom, dressing area and an extremely confortable bed. We asked in the morning if we could eat outside on the patio area and this was no trouble at all. Staff were all very polite. We really enjoyed our stay and were only sorry we had to cut it short due to a family emergecy. Hopefully we will return one day and be able to fine in Blakes restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2squidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Squidge and delighted you enjoyed your stay in R37. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time at the Connaught and we were a bit sceptical about all the excellent reviews - but they were true. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the reception was light and welcoming, our superior room was large, with a balcony and the shower brilliant. We love to swim, the pool was just right and the hot tub hot! Our son and family joined us for some meals and the family enjoyed the food - the mozzarella fingers and pizza dipping sauce were a big hit with our 3 year old granddaughter. The location was convenient too - not far from all the amenities and a short walk to the zig zag to the beach. Parking was always available at no extra cost. We will return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor overlooking trees and car park with a small balcony. We left the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sue

Delighted you took a chance on all those good reviews and found everything to be as described - thank you for also your tip top 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visit The Connaught twice a year and we were very impressed with the recent refurbishment, it has really given the hotel a much needed, modern and lighter look. As always we had fantastic service from the long standing, attentive staff. The rooms are clean and have benefited greatly from a recent refresh, the food is superb and the location is close enough to everything so you can just park your car and walk to town, the gardens and the sea. Special mention to Simon, Elkin, Nikki and Peter, always giving excellent customer service. You will not be disappointed if you choose to book The Connaught x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Glad you like the new look Cokers. New carpets for the dining room and the lounge bar in October and completion of the halls, stairs and landings by Christmas. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This Best Western Hotel is excellent. The rooms are good, the position is good for a major holiday town and there is plenty of parking. I am disabled and as the allocated spaces had been taken by others they put bollards into a space to reserve it for me.

As ever the staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was good with a fairly large choice of items.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonkypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Delighted to be of service Wonkypin and we look forward to a 4th visit - thank you for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

excellent hotel, everything 1st class
Friendly and helpful staff, nothing any bother to help.
Highly recommend. have stayed before and will certainly be returning, could not wish for anything better . ideal swimming pool, and really good to have sauna, steam room and , spa.
everything needed for a refreshing and relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kemaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good to see you back again Kema and thank you so much for yet anoother 5 star rveiew.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were a group of six, 3 adults and 3 teenagers and were booked to stay for 2 nights. Two adults had single occupancy of double rooms and the other four were in two superior twin rooms. These superior rooms had balconies. Check-in was quick and we were kindly asked if we needed help with our luggage. We were all booked on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. We arrived at the hotel just after 2.00 pm, but all our rooms were ready. At check-in we were asked about the time we wanted dinner; and this time would apply to both evenings.

The hotel was about a 7 minute walk to the beach, which was perfect. A 15 minute walk in the other direction took us to the shopping area/high street.

Positives: free Wi-Fi, Pool, Jacuzzi, Fried bread at breakfast. Negatives: The bed in room 16 was too soft and the occupant found it hard to sleep on it; the bathroom in room 14 was one of the smallest I have ever used, but as I was the only occupant, it was okay for my needs; there was limited fruit salad at breakfast; the dinner menu was limited and varied little during our stay and is not really suitable for children or teenagers.

Generally the staff (at breakfast, at dinner, at the pool, at Reception, and the porters) were polite, well trained and efficient and added to the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venezia1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks Venezia for writing your lovely and very detailed review. Blakes is really a fine dining experience and not, as you say, really suitable for teenagers and young children who just want to be fed and get out as quickly as possible. The Connaught Brasserie is the place to be with pizzas, pastas, salads, hamburgers, etc. and it even has its own small outside terrace. I hope we will get the pleasure of your company again soon.

With best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,908 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing