We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved praise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well deserved praise”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having just spent a short break at The Connaught, we can only reiterate the comments made by other guests. The staff, from the management down, made every effort to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as they possibly could. Although the hotel was full, with a large function to cater for, independent guests were not overlooked. We commend the staff who were working flat out, particularly at breakfast, for their attentive service. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in Blakes Restaurant and although we were disappointed not to be able to sample the menu further, due to the function, we can equally recommend the bar food. In fact, it was commendable that they declined bookings for the restaurant (until later in the evening) in order not to overstretch their resources and to ensure they maintained an excellent service. The new reception area looks very good, so some of the rooms and the hotel corridors could perhaps do with a "brighten up" as they seemed quite dated in comparison. However, we found the room we were moved to, to be brighter, clean and comfortable. The shower room was tiny but adequate for a couple of nights. Never-the-less, we would not hesitate to choose to stay again or to recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably brighter. Room 30 was pleasant and spacious, away from the main corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfjobjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you Halfjobjim for your super review. We are almost done with the refurbishments now with just a few rooms left, followed by the corridors, stairs and the landings after which, we are hoping for 4 star recognition for all our hard work!!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    720
    184
    52
    28
See reviews for
398
1,568
128
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having just returned from a 5 night stay (our second), at the Connaught, we have had a really relaxing and enjoyable time. Breakfast was very good, and dinner at Blakes was excellent. The staff are the hotels best asset by far. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Just purrrfect Jude, thank you very much. See you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Everything was as we needed. Lovely comfortable, very clean room. Service was impeccable from all staff. Food was very good and beautifully presented. Very comfortable feel in lounge and nothing too much trouble. Great all rounder. Stayed in many other hotels in Bournemouth and paid more and none of them matched this hotel.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Excellent, Hazel, just excellent - thank you so much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Connaught is a very helpful place, with really excellent staff and decent rooms, well located.The food in the Restaurant was splendid, and the staff excellent.
The hotel took care of the whole group very well, helping our business to become a pleasure

Room Tip: Try for rooms with balconies or overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
And it was a pleasure for us too Nidnight, thank you. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for one night Saturday 27th April 2013 - The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was clean, comfortable and refurbed bathroom, shower, separate toilet. The breakfast was very good. The Swimming pool, sauna jacuzzi and steam room were put to good use and were a nice treat, also not busy - the changing area was a bit rough around the edges and my impression was that it wasn't cleaned regularly. The big downside for me was that there was a big wedding party who were staying overnight so the carpark was so choca block full, people were having to double park and leave keys with reception - I ended up parking in pay and display around the corner. However apart from this, would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 27 was double room separate toilet and bathroom and at the end by fire escape so no noise of pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks Kevin and we look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday night - the hotel is very nice and pretty well kept. There was a wedding reception on when we stayed and so the car park was full - this meant having to double park and leave keys at reception. The bedroom was nice - nothing special but perfectly OK. Breakfast service consists of a self service buffet for cereals, yoghurt, fruit etc - but the cooked part of the breakfast is served "carvery style". This was fine, but when I asked for 2 poached eggs they took 20 minutes to arrive. The staff though are very friendly and helpful. Overall we'd be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for the "nice hotel" review Jonathan - parking may be tight but unlike most hotels in Bournemouth we have 66 spaces and they are free!!

Best wishes and look forward to seing you again soon

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

How refreshing to be able to write a review where praise for the service tops everything. We have just returned from a short break to The Connaught Hotel in Bournemouth and what a delightful experience it was. From the moment of arrival to the point of departure, oh how sad that was, we felt we were amongst friends who truly wanted us to have a great time. As other reviews have stated nothing was too much trouble for these guys, at breakfast, lunch, tea or dinner the service consistently hit the right note. Our room on the 3rd floor had a very comfortable bed, a walk in shower as requested, a lovely balcony which gives the room a feeling of scale, and was handily placed beside the lift. Food at meal times was interesting, varied and of high quality, but what made it all so enjoyable was the style in which the hotel staff treated the guests. Someone has taken the time and trouble to infuse everyone with a collective desire to please and boy it makes you feel good to experience it first hand. My guess is that Restaurant Manager Nick Rutigliano has a hand in it. What a nice man. Of course no place on earth is perfect but this little piece of heaven comes pretty close. We didn't try the spa facilities so cannot comment on how they are. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room, it's quiet has the plus of a balcony and the walk in shower is huge. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your delightful review Kevin and also for taking the trouble to write a 5 star review for Blakes Restuarant - very much appreciated by each and everyone of us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing