We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints whatsoever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No complaints whatsoever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The decor is a bit dated (particularly the restaurant with its old fashioned carpet), but everything else was great. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the shower was great. From its somewhat dated decor, we really hadn't expected that. Free parking is free. Breakfast was fine with enough to choose from for someone like me who isn't a fan of the 'full English'.

For the price (£85 incl breakfast), I'd say it's worth it.

P.S. We didn't try the restaurant in the evening, but apparently it's one of the best in Bournemouth. Maybe next time...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks ahparker for your excellent review - just to re-assure you, the carpets for the restaurant and the bar are about to be updated as part of the refurbishment programme that has already seen the completion of the Conservatory, Lobby and Reception. We are looking good, according to our reviews!!

Best wishes and thank you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    693
    175
    47
    25
See reviews for
385
1,511
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived on Friday, left on Monday. The whole time was joy, nothing too much trouble for the staff. The Wedding was beautifully arranged and the Wedding Breakfast delicious. We weren't the Bride and Groom but everyone was made to feel special. The Ladies evening went without a hitch, the food was marvellous. Our room was ideal for my husbands mobilty problems with enough space and a walkin shower. We would recommend anyone totry this hotel.

Room Tip: If mobily is a problem, there is a lift, and room 61 has a wet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenat876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
That was indeed a lovely weekend Sheena - both the wedding and the festival weekend was a great pleasure for us and clearly from the feedback veryone had a wonderful time. Thank you very much for your most generous review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was close to the Bournemouth International Conference Centre (BICC) where we had booked tickets for a show.
When we arrived all the hotel parking was full and we had to wait 15 minutes for a bay but there is a lot of public parking around the hotel which we could have used.

Check-in was fast and friendly in a smart foyer.

Taking the lift to our room we had been given a reasonable size bedroom with twin beds each with a bedside table and lamp, A wardrobe, two armchairs, a dressing table come writing desk (which had tea and coffee facilities) and a Digital fl;at screen TV made up the remaining furniture. The room had beeen refurbished recently and looked smart and fresh. It also opened onto a small balcony which, given the temperature, we did not use.

The bathroom also looked recently refurbished. It was not very large but was very well lit and the water pressure from the shower was good. Compared with many hotels this was a good bathroom.

When we returned from the show we went to the lounge for a drink. The bar was well staffed with waiter service and the drinks reasonably priced at £15.50 for a double G&T and double JD and lemonade.

The Mattress on the bed was well sprung, for someone who sleeps on an unsprung divan and mattress it was a little strange at first but we both had a good nights sleep with no noise from within or outside the hotel.

The following morning we were having a cup of tea in bed when the fire alarm sounded. but before we could get dressed it stopped and was then intermittent for a few minutes while the staff located a faulty sensor in the swimming pool's ladies changing room.

Given that the alarm must have woken most people at the same time, we expected a very busy breakfast room. We were quickly shown to a table by the dining room manager who apologised for and explained the cause of the alarm. The breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of the usual cereals, fruits and pastries plus there was a hot breakfast. Unusualy the hot breakfast buffet was not self service but served to your requirements. As the numbers of residents grew so it seemed did the staff numbers and the service remaind efficient, friendly and quiet. The dining room filled completely but the staff maintained the quality of service extremely well.

Check-out was as good as check-in

This was as good as it gets for a one nighter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nineandahalffingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for the generous review nineandahalffingers. It would seem that you were lucky with the breakfast as you got in just in time - most of the guests went back to sleep after the fire alarm and decided to come down at the same time which was around 9am!!!
We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay whilst in the Bournemouth area and have used Best Western on many occasions. First impressions are a lovely new reception with helpful staff. Our room had a balcony and was very nicely presented. The car parks are large with plenty of disabled spaces close to the entrance. The cliffs over the beach are a short walk as is the hopping centre.
We had breakfast in he room and it was very nice. The staff are what made this a five star experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F2Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
A very nice review Paul, thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for one night as we had tickets to a show at the BIC.The receptionist was most welcoming even though we were almost an hour earlier than our check in time,she checked to see if our room was ready which it was & let us go straight up to it.The standard double room was clean & well fitted with all that we needed,only gripe being that the room was very warm even though the radiator wasn't hot.The bed was abit softer than we're used to but not uncomfortable to sleep in.We didn't dine in the restaurant as had made plans to dine out but we did have breakfast which was pretty good,lots of choices,hot food could have been a tad hotter as my bacon was almost cold.Main moan would be that we were all woken at 7.30am with the fire alarm going off,so rushed out of bed thinking there was a fire,only for the alarm to stop & then start again several times.Nobody came to assure us that it was a false alarm,which it was,so we got up & went down to find there had been a fault in the ladies changing area of the leisure club.Everyone converged in the dining room all at once for breakfast so this caused chaois due to there not being enough dining tables for all guests.The Manager did come round to each table to apologise which was good that he did.It just made an expected leisurely breakfast not so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RheaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Rhea

Thank you very much for your considered review. With regard to the fire alarm, whilst it was a false alarm, thank Heavens, it is very important to realise a very simple rule - for your own safety you just leave the hotel. I am sure you will appreciate it is just not possible to call 81 rooms to update them!!
Occasionally when guests decide collectively to have breakfast at the same time there can be a 5 to 10 minutes' wait in the lounge - properly organised and certainly not chaotic.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great hotel good location and on a quiet road. Rooms were really nice. Used gym which was small but fine for a short work out. I choose the hotel for it's reviews and it didn't disappoint. I was in the wing of the hotel which was a bit hard to navigate at first but was quiet. Easy parking and the pool looked good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review Sarah. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managiing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and could not find fault (and I do try.)

Staff very friendly and efficient. The atmosphere and decor of the hotel is brilliant and gives the impression of a luxury seaside hotel with history.

Tested out most of the facilities including the pool, sauna and steam room and found them all to be very well maintained and clean.

Would definitely go back again and can recommend. The only (slight) problem is that at some time the car park appeared full so if you arrive you could find difficulty in getting a space. That said, it wasn't an issue for me.


There is a reason this is #1 in Bournemouth on Tripadvisor, it has not happened by chance or luck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Delighted to read you liked the newly refurbished public areas Matt and took full advantage of the facilities in the spa and leisure club - thank you for the very pleasant review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing