We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The reception and lounge area are gorgeous. The staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room (situated in The Lodge) was clean and comfortable, but although the bathroom had a new suite there were obvious [minor] cosmetic faults with the quality of the finish. Breakfast was excellent. Location of the hotel is good.

Overall I would say this is a very good hotel that just needs to pay attention to the finishing touches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babykong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you Babykong and thank you also for the tip about the "minor faults" in the new bathroom. I have sent our maintenance manager to check but it you have a moment I would appreciate your opinion.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,113 - 2,119 of 2,967 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent another wonderful weekend at the Connaught the 4th since June 2012, had good room ,wonderful food we would rate it 5 star complements to the chef. The service from all staff was superb, they are all attentive to your needs. Such a little gem this hotel cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: High floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Brilliant Diana, thank you very much and a big thank you too from Chef.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staff friendly, Room comfortable and spotlessly clean. The only downside was that when we arrived the restaurant was already booked up for dinner and due to a private function no hot food was available in the bar between 6-7pm forcing us to find another restaurant at quite short notice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jel961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you very much Jel for your "pleasant stay" review. Apologies about the restaurant being full it was a very busy evening - I would just like to take this opportunity to remind guests to avoid being disappointed or having to eat late please book your table when reserving your room.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I would describe this hotel as a little tired in places but trying hard & clearly undergoing some referbishment. It was exceptionally clean & the staff were very pleasant so can't fault it there.

I checked in late & because of that phoned in advance to say I'd be late so as not to get the bum deal of rooms. Well... I did. Disabled access, Lino covered bathroom floor with sliding door hanging off its hinges, next to the lift & with bad sound proofing (could hear next door's TV). As I was alone that night I wasn't too bothered. We were offered a move for the 2nd night to a more appropriate room. Quieter... bath... bigger bed. There was no balcony but as the weather was apauling, not too much of a problem!

The spa was a nice touch but again, a little tired. Plaster was peeling off the walls, some grouting needed some attention, an overpowering smell of chlorine & blue plastic "leisure centre" mats all over the floor.

I wouldn't not stay there again but, from my experiences, would probably try booking somewhere else first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hydraxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

My sincere aplogies that we didn't quite meet with your expectations Hydraxia. Room 54 is a newly refurbished room with a brand new, disable friendly bathroom - the "lino" is a top of the range, non slip, floor covering specially designed for disable friendly bathrooms and is a mandatory requirement. Apart from the emergency pulley it is a large and very user friendly bathroom so not quite sure why you considered it to be the "bum deal of rooms". Glad you found the room you moved to a tad more acceptable.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I got married 47 years ago and spent my honeymoon at the East Anglia Hotel in Bournemouth (which has now been demolished and replaced with retirement homes). On celebrating our 40th anniversary and renewing our vows we were recommended to Best Western Connaught Hotel in Bournemouth which had just got a new owner. We had such a good time, we have, whenever possible, revisited this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We missed last year but went again this year and could not believe the first class changes that had been made to the reception area and one of the lounges. Although the old style was good the improvements make it feel more like a 5 star hotel and not a 3 star. During our stay the staff were always welcoming and had smiles on their faces showing that they were enjoying their jobs. The Managing Director, Mr Miller is not the type of person to sit and hide in the back office but could often be seen walking about and talking to guests and making sure everything was in order. The Room we had was number 58 and was extremely comfortable, clean and well decorated it had it's own balcony and in the bathroom were two bath robes and slippers. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym together with the treatment rooms for massage etc., based on the lower ground floor was great and free to guests of the hotel. I could not finish my review without mentioning the hotels restaurant "Blake's", the food is 1st class from breakfast through to evening meal. On the day of our anniversary we invited some friends to join us for dinner and we all had an excellent time and are not surprised that the restaurant has two rosette awards from the AA and nominated by the Bournemouth Tourist Board. As you can see from the foregoing we were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel and will certainly be returning there in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobyeastsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Deear Mr & Mrs Tobyeastsussex,

To say we were delighted to read your superb review would be an understatement, thank you. You may be interested to know that our maitre d', Mr Nick Rutigliano, was the restaurant manager of the East Anglia for a great number of years and came to the Connaught when they pulled it down. He was not there when you married and sadly he was not in Blakes on the night you dined with us but I am sure he will enjoy sharing his experiences with you when you next return.

Best wishes to you both and delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for one night only wish we'd stayed longer.
Previous night was spent up the road in the Hallmark which was terrible, but on arriving at the Connaught my spirits were lifted and our break to Bournemouth saved!!.
Room was lovely and spotless as was the bathroom which I always think is a must!!
Breakfast was lovely, excellent choice and the cooked breakfast was hot and what was refreshing was that it was served on a hot plate which is rare these days.
Thanks very much for a lovely stay and we will back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thanks very much for your "lovely" review RSC and we too look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The high ratings for this hotel are thoroughly deserved. It may only be officially a 3* but it is 5* in respect of its top quality, cleanliness and ever helpful staff. We have travelled the world and stayed in lots of hotels and I would rate this as one of the best in terms of its condition, value for money and position. It's close enough to be able walk to both the beach and the town centre. The public rooms are decorated to a high standard and everything is fresh. The Spa has a wonderful indoor swimming pool, sauna, beauty treatments etc and there is a good gym. The restaurant serves really excellent food. The breakfast offers the full range of choices including a superb cooked food selection. The bedrooms have all the creature comforts including spotless and modern sanatary wear, comfortable beds and ample tea & coffee. Everything is warm and welcoming throughout the hotel.

The only small down sides are the car park being on the small side for this very popular hotel and it does not have extensive gardens. But these are very minor quibbles as otherwise it is hard to fault.

Really well done the team at the Connaught. We will be returning when we visit Bournemouth again.

Room Tip: maybe away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

A "top quality" comprehensive review Steve - we are all glad to be of service and thank you very much for your lovely compliments. Being in the centre of Bournemouth space is at a premium but we still manage 66 car park spaces and a delightful terrace garden where you can take breakfast or dine out on those balmy summer evenings. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing