We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIFE`S SURPRISE 40TH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WIFE`S SURPRISE 40TH”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for my wife`s birthday she had no idea where we were going I kept it a secret as she had taken me to this hotel 18 months ago for my 40th and we had such a good time I just had to return and i was so glad I did.
I booked the Orchid suite which was just perfect my wife was well pleased, I had also asked if the hotel could arrange for a lemon drizzle cake to be made by they chef and placed in our room for our arrival , and they did just that and it was perfectly presented and tasted great (compliments to your chef) they also gave us a complimentary drinks voucher and a birthday card which was a nice touch thank you !
We also had an evening meal in Blakes restaurant, which was very good the maitre d` in charge was very helpful and his advice on what to order was spot on .
Breakfast was excellent both mornings it was nice to see the same friendly face of the gentlemen from 18 months ago serving the hot buffet .
We did use the spa area but only gave a 4 on our room comps card and on here because the jacuzzi was not working and I like to laze in there while my wife swims as I swim like a brick !
Finally just a big thank you to all your staff who helped make our stay so great everyone of them couldn`t do more to help we will most definitely be back again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Really pleased you made it back Richtrees and even more so to read that your wife's 40th was such a success. Apologies about the spa pool but the dosing system was malfunctioning and we felt it better to be safe than sorry - all up and running now in time for your next visit!!

Best wishes and thank you for your super review.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    726
    186
    53
    29
See reviews for
403
1,581
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked the Hotel Connaught for a Masonic Ladies Festival Weekend and we cannot praise it highly enough. From the moment we stepped through the door, we were greeted with exceptional hospitality, the allocated rooms were newly refurbished to a very high standard, as were the public areas. There were plenty of staff on hand to look after guests. Our 65 guests had a choice of menu and the food was superb. The staff were so helpful and attentive nothing was too much for them. Great attention was paid to detail and our banquet on the saturday evening had a great wow factor. We would highly recommend the Connaught and would have loved to stay even longer. SImon, Paul, Elkin and their staff worked really hard to make the weekend special .........................and succeeded!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Susan

Simon, Paul, Elkin and the rest of the team thank you very much for your very generous review. We had a tremendous feedback from that weekend which was a huge success and hopefully we will have the pleasure of looking after your Lodge in 2014.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 1 night stop on 14th December 2012 in case the weather was too bad to drive home after a show at the BIC. The hotel was in the midst of Christmas celebrations and there were two functions taking place that evening. The staff were amazing. They were extremely busy but all were happy and smiling and nothing was too much trouble. The spirit of Christmas was certainly there that night. What a happy place. Excellent breakfast in the morning in the dining room, with attention to detail. The fabric of the hotel decor is very comfortable and attractive. Our Standard double room was good enough for the one night but when we stay again (notice when not if) for any reason longer than one night we would upgrade for a little more space. We have stayed in many hotels of various grades and so much does depend on the staff and their attitude they make or break any stay. This hotel was GREAT!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
That was a "great" review Brian and it was our pleasure to look after you. Our entire hotel is about attitude and we most certainly have a great team with a great attitude - thank you very much and we are looking forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for one night only while attending a concert in Bournemouth. Would love to have stayed longer. The whole place had a good 'feel' to it. Not stripped of all its character like some hotels. Our room was lovely, with a balcony and a good amount of storage space provided. We had food in the lounge bar, which was plentiful and reasonably priced. Breakfast faultless and served by extremely pleasant staff who couldn't do enough for you. I would like to say also, that the staff in the lounge bar were very hospitable also. We used the pool, gym and saunas which were very pleasant with only a few people there, most relaxing. The location is also very convenient if you are attending the conference centre. All in all a great stay, and looking forward to returning for a longer stay some time soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
A great stay followed up by a great review - may thanks Lesley and given the number of concerts being organised this year we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent my Birthday with my family here last weekend. Had a very warm welcome.
Parking wasn't the easiest, but we got a space eventually. Spaces aren't too big so are Qashqai was too big for many.
We stayed in the Rose Suite and had a lovely surprise on check-in. I had a birthday card waiting for me with a voucher for glasses of wine in the bar :-)
The suite was a good size and our 2 year old was delighted to have a double sofa bed to herself. Our bed however was AWFUL. The mattress must have been ancient. Extremely uncomfortable and ejected you if you're other half sat down too fast. We didn't want to move as it would've meant a smaller room. We'd also heard the reception staff repeatedly say they were full so we did have much choice. Disappointing.
We ate in the bar Friday and we're disappointed by the choice. Not much for the kids to choice from either. Not good value for us either.
The pool and steam room were great. Jacuzzi was out of action all weekend. Changing rooms were filthy.
Had a hot stone massage with Hannah on Sat. FABULOUS!
Dinner in restaurant was ace and good value. Delicious.
Breakfast was very good in restaurant, but not so good from room service.
Other niggles - Housekeeping finally cleaned room at 2pm on Sat. Not good with little one. Room card was voided before check-out which wouldn't have been fun if we were on our own taking luggage out.
Overall, very good stay and really relaxed. Will be back.

Room Tip: Rose Suite is great for families, but main bed is not a King Size as advertised and needs a new matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franniebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Franniebabes

I was really pleased to read just how much you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. Thank you also for the super, 5 star review you wrote on Trip Advisor for our restaurant, Blakes. I was, however, really sorry to read that you did not find your bed comfortable. The bed is in fact less than 2 years old and is described as a “medium” by the manufacturers. Beds are very much a personal issue with some people preferring a firm bed, some a soft bed, etc. When you next visit us please drop me a line and I will find you a room with a firmer mattress. You are absolutely right about the “King” and I take full responsibility having made the mistake myself. The bed is 5ft wide and is officially described by the Bed Council as a Queen bed so I have changed the description accordingly on the website – my apology for the error. I don’t know if you asked but we do have a children’s menu with all the usual items much loved by children – perhaps you could let me know.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was are first stay at best western, we have told all our friends and family what a fantastic place it is, we are already planning another trip away, thank you to everyone there for a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Delighted to be of service Sarah and thank you for your very lovely 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband & i stayed in The Connaught for 3 nights for our birthdays. We had a warm welcome & felt at home. All meals were perfect & the presentation amazing. We didnt get to use the gym/pool but will on next visit. Our room was compact but spotless & comfortable. As we have family living in Bournemouth we have stayed in quite a few places, but The Connaught is now our favorite & we shall definitely be booking again. The management & staff were really helpfull & nothing was too much trouble, cannot wait to go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
A thoroughly great review ProudGrandparents, thank you very much indeed. We were delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your birthdays and we hope we can help you to celebrate them again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing