We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Christmas Christmas The perrys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Christmas Christmas Christmas The perrys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our fourth Christmas at the Connaught ,although we do visit and stay on occasions
During the year , we look forward as a family to our Xmas stay , could not think
Off a better way to spend Christmas, rooms already booked again for this year
Just a great place to stay thank you all very much .

Room Tip: Just book a stay and see for yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Many thanks for your super review Mark and our best wishes to you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon and of course at Christmas.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    693
    175
    47
    25
See reviews for
385
1,511
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here in an executive room for 3 nights. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the sea & the staff were all very friendly & helpful. The room was lovely & warm & a decent size The breakfast selection was excellent We did not use the pool or gym but they are there if you want them I have felt recently standards at English Hotels have really been very poor compared to there foreign counterparts Not this one unfortunately i was not feeling too well on this visit but i do hope to return when i can take advantage of all they offer Well done & thanks to all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimtinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I hope you are feeling much better now Slimtinker and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon. My thanks for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in an executive room which was very spacious and perfect for us as we had a baby and the room was split into 2 - a bedroom and a sitting area with separate tv so we were able to watch tv and eat whilst not disturbing our sleeping son in the evenings. We ordered room service both nights and the standard of food was fabulous, as was the presentation. Hotel staff were all incredibly friendly which was lovely. Breakfast was excellent and the staff provided us with a highchair for our son and seated us in a quiet corner so we didnt worry about disturbing the other guests without children - we appreciated this greatly and i imagine the other guests did too! Our only complaint was that breakfast was supposed to be served from 7am but wasnt ready until nearer 8am as there had been Christmas parties the night before. We had been up since 6am so this wasnt ideal for us, but we went for a windswept walk to the beach and worked up an appetite instead! The pool was amazing too and a wonderful bonus for when the weather isnt good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Charlotte, thank you for your aboslutely lovely review and I was so pleased to read just how much you enjoyed the suite - apologies about the confusion over breakfast but at weekends it starts at 8am and not 7am - if any guest needed an early exit we will always be happy to arrange a continental breakfast served in the room.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed for a weekend after reading TA reviews, what a gem,REALLY fantastic staff, wonderful hotel and facilities, the breakfast is amazing, pool and gym a real bonus. Orchid suite was really big, so clean and the little extras made our stay very special. Blakes resurant was just perfect, the food, staff, wine and atmosphere made dinner a very memorable experience, Thank you all at The Connaught Hotel

Room Tip: Orchid Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Many thanks Kor for your "top class" 5 star review; the Orchid is a super suite and when combined with a visit to Blakes it makes for a very special experience - so glad you enjoyed it!!

Best wishes and thanks again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We needed a post Christmas January stress busting break. We found this hotel after reading the reviews on TA and were not disappointed. The main thing that struck us in the 2 days we were there was how friendly every member of staff was. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone said hello and had a friendly smile.
We used the pool and leisure facilities while staying at the Connaught and it was a nice way to chill. In fact the only thing we were slightly disappointed in was that our room was very small and did not have a bath. But we did stay in a standard room and chose not to pay the extra for a superior room so I guess that was our fault!!
We didn't eat at the restaurant despite the great reviews as it was just a little too pricey for our budget but the breakfasts were yummy and all you could need was available.
We would absolutely use the Connaught again, albeit in an upgraded room and very much look forward to our next trip to Bournemouth. Thanks guys :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracytroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
It was our pleasure Tracytroo and thank you for your "fantastic" review. Next time you visit us the lounge menu is great value and well worth a try.

Best wishes hope to see you both again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a pleasant suprise you are never sure when you go away new year. This was truely a great 2 day break The staff all great especially the maitre-di food was very good our gala and new years day meal fantastic as was breakfast all so well organised. leisure facilities very good
if you had to nit pick our room was small but we still were very happy good sized bathroom and every where so clean look forward to another visit sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
A very happy New Year to you Paul and thank you for your superb review. Christmas and New Year are great fun and very popular judging by the number of bookings taken for 2013/14 already!! Hope you've booked up for next year......

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Connaught. The upgrades to the spa since I last stayed here are very good indeed and it looks splendid. The foyer is being refurbished at the moment and already looks good. The staff in all departments were as usual extremely helpful and charming. I was staying in the lodge in a really very spacious room nicely furnished with a good TV and comfortable bed. Breakfast good as usual. I really cannot fault the Connaught - it exceeds your expectations for this very reasonable price bracket in every area, and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shughes1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you SHughes for your truly excellent 5 star review. The refurbishment of the reception will be finished next week and it is amazing just how much it has lifted the entire ground floor area - hope to see you back very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing