We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.....”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

.....for such a wonderful time!
The service, room, food and ambiance was all excellent. My wife enjoyed her time at the spa which was a bonus after a long drive down from London. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Adrian who works in reception even offered to and did in fact look after our son for the eve while we had a meal in the Hotel!! She really helped us out of a fix at short notice.
Breakfast in the morning was generous and beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you too Paul for such a great review and for mentioning Adrienne in despatches - delighted you all had such a nice weekend.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    704
    181
    50
    28
See reviews for
393
1,538
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brittany, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

God, you know i've been looking for a home-away-from-home for about 10 years. Have been using the typical 'industrial' hotel chains, until, by accident, i found this pearl. There was absolutely nothing i did not like about it. Hope to go again after Xmas, just to see if I was dreaming or it was for-real !

Arrive early to make the most of it and a parking spot near the front door. And when you check in, ask for the password-key to your free internet connection. Coffee and tea are inside the desk. Wear shades in the bath as the lighting is supurb and you can tan quite easily.

My only disappointment is that hotel marking systems only have 10 stars max - the Connaught truly deserves ***** ***** * :-D

Room Tip: Every room is super. Mine overlooked the rear patio with palm trees if you feel tropical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just brilliant JNorthr - so good we posted it on Facebook!! Thank you very much indeed and we look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a marvellous time at this hotel. I came for a party and had the BEST time. I made full use of all the facilities. I found the staff to be so friendly and efficient. The Beauty Therapist gave an incredible massage. Everywhere was beautifully clean and my room was lovely and comfortable. The food was exceptional, I ate at a Michelin star restaurant the night before and all I can say is that it wasn't a patch on the Connaught's. The attention to detail at the party was amazing. All in all I thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Just "wonderful" Vicky, thank you for your 5 star review! Delihhted you enjoyed the party, the food, the massage and of course your room - hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes for Christmas and 2013

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I think it is the best of the 7 we have stayed at in Bournemouth. The service was outstanding. All staff are keen to help and make you feel welcome. Exec room was very nice and housekeeping to a high standard. The most cheerful cleaner I have ever met. Special mention to Victoria who was a pleasure to meet and provided great service with a smile. Just one suggestion. Block off ballroom area at end of bar when not in use to make it more cosy. Other than that loved it and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Suggest you book exec room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
An outstanding review Ian, thank you very much. The ballroom end is going to be a dining area for the lounge and the bar area by Blakes restaurant is being converted back to the cosy, fireside bar that it once was many moons ago.

Best wishes and thanks again.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended. A lot of the photos of hotels in the area make the rooms seem a little dated, we were pleasantly surprised that this hotel was not dated in any way, furnishings in the room were fresh and clean and nothing stood out as tatty or old fashioned.

Service was excellent.

Pool and gym of a good standard.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and again were very pleasantly surprised. Fresh and tasty dishes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalaandjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Many thanks for your excellent review Lala and really pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We are currently updating the conservatory bar and the reception area after which the hotel's refurbishment programme will be nearly over!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the fifth time I have stayed at the Connaught for a short break in the last three years. Why do I keep comming back? Excellant food and service, comfortable rooms and hotel environment, spa on site if the weather is poor and good location - despite not enjoying a seafront site the hotel is within easy walking distance of both sea & shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Good to see you back again Trebor and thank you for yet another "happy" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after reading reviews. Bedroom was cramped and a bit tired, above the car park. Softest bed ever slept in though, when jumped in, wife ended up ejected into room. Not for you with bad backs! Service impeccable and breakfast was superb. Would visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Never_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Many thanks for your splendid review Never_om. Please drop me a note to let me know which room you stayed in - I would like to check it out along with the mattress. We are currently refurbishing the conservatory bar and the reception area so next time you visit us we will be looking very elegant indeed!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing